LTO 技术

开放式线性磁带 (LTO) 技术是作为“开放格式”技术开发的,因此,用户可以使用多种来源的产品和介质。

十多年来,LTO 技术经实践验证能够有效保留和保护最严苛企业环境中的重要业务数据,同时保持经济且开放的格式,自从其问世以来,已售出超过 2.8 亿个 LTO 磁带盒 和 5 多万个磁带机,使 LTO 成为事实上的磁带标准。

兼容性

三大 LTO 技术提供商(HP、IBM 和昆腾)从一开始便深知,开放格式是成功的关键,能够确保厂商设备和介质间的兼容性。为了满足这一需求,任何产品被授权使用 LTO Ultrium 商标之前,必须通过全面的第三方验证测试,以确保遵循 Ultrium 磁带格式规范。同等重要的是,需要确保 LTO 各代之间的兼容性,以保证现有客户能够顺利迁移到未来的新产品。每一代 LTO 均保持向后读写能力,能够向后读两代,向后写一代,从而保护客户对 LTO 设备和介质的投资,确保未来顺利升级。

 

读写兼容性表

型号 LTO-3 LTO-4 LTO-5 LTO-6 LTO-7
 
1、2、3
2、3、4
3、4、5
4、5、6
5, 6, 7
2、3
3、4
4、5
5、6
6, 7

 

路线图

数字内容迅速增长,没有丝毫减缓的迹象,这意味着客户现在部署新技术的同时必须始终密切关注未来。了解满足未来不可避免会出现的功能和性能要求的途径至关重要;无论是通过已知的有机增长、突发性的收购还是新的公司举措。实践证明,通过提供六代功能和性能增长优势,以及既定的 面向未来的另外四代,LTO 能够满足这些需求。

型号: LTO-3 LTO-4 LTO-5 LTO-6 LTO-7 LTO-8 LTO-9 LTO-10
容量(压缩)
800GB
1.6TB
3.0TB
6.25TB
15TB
32TB
62.5TB
120TB
数据率 (MB/s)
160
240
280
400
750
1180
1770
2750
WORM 支持
支持
支持
支持
支持
支持
支持
支持
支持
加密
支持
不支持
支持
支持
支持
支持
支持
支持
支持
注意:1-5 代的压缩容量基于 2:1 压缩率假设。6-10 代的压缩容量基于 2.5:1 压缩率假设(通过更大的压缩历史缓存实现)。信息来源:LTO 计划。LTO Ultrium 路线图如有变化,恕不另行通知,仅代表设定的目标。Linear Tape-Open、LTO、LTO 徽标、Ultrium 和 Ultrium 徽标是 HP、IBM 和昆腾在美国和其他国家/地区的注册商标。

WORM 和加密

磁带的独特特性包括大容量、低价格和便携性,这使 LTO 计划可以开发一些先进的数据保护功能,例如,WORM 和加密。WORM(一次写入,多次读取)技术可确保被写入磁带的数据不会被更改或覆盖。WORM 技术对于许多合规要求至关重要,对于要确保内容不会被擦除或更改的内容所有者而言,内容是如此宝贵。所有现已发售的 LTO 设备均支持 WORM 技术,且无需额外费用。仅需购买特定 WORM 介质盒

一个令人遗憾的现实是如今数据威胁层出不穷。这就是自第四代 — LTO-4 磁带机开始,提供磁带机级加密技术的原因所在。自 LTO-4 开始,加密是所有磁带机的标准配置,同时提供多种加密密钥解决方案,包括昆腾的 Scalar Key Manager (SKM),以简化和自动化加密密钥管理。由于对磁带机性能或容量没有任何负面影响,因此,对企业而言没有理由不充分利用其 LTO 磁带机所内置的加密功能。采用政府级 AES-256 位加密,用户尽可放心其数据会得到有效保护,即使在向异地传输以供存储的过程中依然如此。

线性磁带文件系统 (LTFS)

线性磁带文件系统 (LTFS) 可将磁带中的文件呈现给用户,就如同使用磁盘或其他移动介质(例如,USB 盘)一样。LTO 分区功能(自 LTO-5 起提供)可在磁带前端创建一个单独分区,以提供对主磁带分区中存储的内容的索引。借助 LTFS,用户能够通过任何操作系统且无需任何备份应用程序即可搜索、检索和存储文件。LTFS 对于疲于应对大量非结构化数据(例如,图像、视频、扫描文档以及工程或建筑项目文件)的企业而言是理想的技术。这类内容不能被很好地压缩或进行重复数据删除,一般情况下,内容所有者会以不可预测的时间间隔访问和检索内容;所有这些因素为已经压力重重的 IT 机构增加了更大负担。通过创建 NAS-磁带归档,借助 LTFS,IT 机构能够使用经济且得到保护的解决方案来为内容所有者提供对其归档内容的直接访问;释放宝贵的主磁盘存储,因而减少数据保护要求,同时支持企业更加敏捷的工作流。

环境和运营成本

并非所有数据都是等同的。这样处理数据会耗费 IT 预算并且会制约企业应对当今竞争所需的数据工作流。磁带在数据保留和保护方面依然起着重要作用,原因在于其所具有的独特特性非常适于长期数据保留和内容归档应用。磁带所具有的便携性、低功耗和高容量优势使其成为企业实施 分层存储架构的关键技术。充分利用磁带的环境和运营成本优势,释放 IT 资源进行更多 I/O 密集型应用。昆腾 Scalar 磁带库的先进功能 — 例如,EDLM(确保归档磁带的可恢复性)以及 Active Vault(降低成本同时改进对存储内容的访问时间),进一步增强磁带在全面数据管理解决方案中的作用。

对于数据保护而言,
一切都不能掉以轻心。

电话 8610-5829-9977| 电子邮箱 CHINA.MARKETING@QUANTUM.COM
我需要类似解决方案请求更多的信息联系我们

LTO Technology

Linear Tape-Open (LTO) technology was developed as an “open format” technology so that users would have multiple sources of product and media.

For more than a decade, LTO technology has proven so effective at preserving and protecting critical business data in the most demanding enterprise environments, while maintaining an affordable and open format, that it has become the de facto tape standard with more than 280 million LTO cartridges and more than 5 million drives shipped since its introduction.

Compatibility

The three LTO technology provider companies (HP, IBM, and Quantum) understood from the beginning that for an open format to succeed they needed to ensure compatibility across any vendor device and media. To meet this need, before any product is granted use of the LTO Ultrium trademark it must pass comprehensive third-party verification tests to ensure compliance with the Ultrium tape format specification. Equally important is the need to ensure compatibility across LTO generations, ensuring existing customers a migration path to the future. Each LTO generation maintains backward read and write capabilities, providing the ability to read back two-generations and write back one-generation protecting customers investment in LTO devices and media, and ensuring a growth path to the future.

 

Read-Write Compatibility Chart

Model LTO-3 LTO-4 LTO-5 LTO-6 LTO-7
 
Read
1, 2, 3
2, 3, 4
3, 4, 5
4, 5, 6
5, 6, 7
Write
2, 3
3, 4
4, 5
5, 6
6, 7

 

Roadmap

With no signs of slowing, the rapid growth of digital content creation means customers must always keep an eye on the future when deploying new technologies today. It’s critical to know there is a path to meet the future capacity and performance requirements that inevitably come; whether through known organic growth, surprise acquisitions or new corporate initiatives. LTO has proven capable of meeting these demands by delivering six generations of capacity and performance growth, with another four generations defined for the future.

Model: LTO-3 LTO-4 LTO-5 LTO-6 LTO-7 LTO-8 LTO-9 LTO-10
Capacity w/Compression
800GB
1.6TB
3.0TB
6.25TB
15TB
32TB
62.5TB
120TB
Data Rate (MB/s)
160
240
280
400
750
1180
1770
2750
WORM Support
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Encryption
Support
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
NOTE: Compressed capacities for generations 1-5 assume 2:1 compression. Compressed capacities for generations 6-10 assume 2.5:1 compression (achieved with larger compression history buffer). SOURCE: The LTO Program. The LTO Ultrium roadmap is subject to change without notice and represents goals and objectives only. Linear Tape-Open, LTO, the LTO logo, Ultrium, and the Ultrium logo are registered trademarks of HP, IBM and Quantum in the U.S. and other countries.

WORM and Encryption

Tape’s unique characteristics, including large capacity, low price and portability, prompted the LTO program to develop some advanced data protection features, such as WORM and encryption. WORM (write once read many) technology ensures data written to a tape can never be altered or over-written. WORM technology is critical for many compliance requirements, as well as, any instance where the content is so valuable that content owners want to ensure it cannot be erased or altered. WORM technology is supported by all currently shipping LTO devices at no extra charge, it only requires purchase of specific WORM media cartridges.

An unfortunate reality of today's world is that data breaches are increasing. That's why LTO has provided drive-level encryption technology since its 4th generation, LTO-4 tape drive. Encryption is provided standard in all drives since LTO-4, with a variety of encryption key solutions available, including Quantum's Scalar Key Manager (SKM), to simplify and automate the management of encryption keys. With no negative impact on drive performance or capacity, there is no good reason for any company not to be utilizing the encryption capabilities built into their LTO tape drives. With government level AES-256 bit encryption, users can be confident their data is protected even while transported off-site for vaulting.

Linear Tape File System (LTFS)

The Linear Tape File System (LTFS) presents files on tape to a user just like disk or other removable media, such as USB drives. The LTO partitioning feature (available since LTO-5) creates a separate partition on the front of the tape providing an index of content stored on the primary tape partition. With LTFS, users are able to search, retrieve, and store files simply through any operating system, without the need for a backup application. LTFS is an ideal technology for companies that are struggling with large amounts of unstructured data, such as images, videos, scanned documents, and engineering or architectural project files. This content does not compress or dedupe well, and typically content owners will require content access and retrieval at unpredictable intervals; all of which adds additional burden to an already stressed IT organization. By creating a NAS-tape archive, with LTFS, IT organizations can provide content owners direct access to their archived content in an affordable and protected solution; freeing up valuable primary disk storage, thus reducing the data protection requirements, while enabling a more agile workflow for the business.

Environmental and Operational Costs

Not all data is equal. Treating it as such will kill an IT budget and constrain the data workflow needed for businesses to compete today. Tape continues to play an important role in preserving and protecting data because its unique features are ideally suited for long-term data retention and content archive applications. Tapes portability, low power and high capacity capabilities make it a key technology for companies implementing tiered-storage architectures. Leverage tapes low environmental and operational costs, frees up IT resources for more I/O intensive applications. Advanced features in Quantum Scalar libraries, such as EDLM (to ensure the recoverability of archived tapes) and Active Vault (reducing costs while improving access time to vaulted content) further enhance tapes role in a comprehensive data management solution.

When it comes to protecting your data,
nothing is more important.

PHONE 800-677-6268| EMAIL INFO@QUANTUM.COM

I Need A Similar Solution

or Call us at 800-677-6268