洞察的威力

今天的科学家正在为打造明天美好的未来而努力。跨所有学科采集更多数据并且从数据获得更深入的洞察的能力会带来突破性的发现。不过,这些技术进步同时也带来了挑战,因为大学和研究机构要疲于应对科学数据的快速增长。

当今的科学家需要在其整个研究工作流实现智能的数据管理 — 从采集到 HPC 处理,再到归档。借助昆腾的多层存储,团队能够更好地发挥其数据的作用来转变世界。这是洞察的威力。

来自科学数据的洞察威力

存储如何为科学研究提供支持

有效管理 PB 级数据增长

管理 PB 级数据增长

数据增长是无法改变的事实,尤其对于科学研究而言:更多的传感器、更多的软件、更多的文件以及更大的文件。如今的研究团队需要能够扩展 — 并且经济实惠的多层存储解决方案。

协作研究

支持协作研究

研究不是在真空环境中进行。无论您的团队有数十、数百还是数千需要共享访问数据的用户,StorNext 都能通过 SAN 和 LAN 以及云实现高速文件共享。

加快数据采集与分析

加快数据采集与分析

科学工作流离不开速度 — 采集数据的速度和支持复杂分析与 HPC 的速度。需要正确的高性能存储以支持当今的研究工作流 — 从科学数据获得洞察。

数据可供长期访问

数据可被保存数十年

由于研究项目通常跨度达数十年以上,科学家需要能够长期访问数据。多层存储使研究机构可以借助在闪存、磁盘、对象存储、磁带甚至云端实现经济高效分层来归档数据。

研究巴西雨林以获得有关大气环境的深入洞察

通过对温室气体和气溶胶颗粒等进行分析,马克斯普朗克化学研究所 (Max Planck Institute for Chemistry) 的研究人员希望更充分地了解我们的气候环境并提供有助于指导政府制定政策的洞察。尖端研究的核心在于从雨林树顶采集的数据。

来自昆腾的高速存储解决方案帮助马克斯普朗克化学研究所的研究人员从大气数据中获得深入的洞察,并将研究结果归档以供未来使用。StorNext 为科学家提供了针对归档数据透明、协作的访问 —at 使他们能够专注于科研而非 IT。

阅读成功案例

HPC 创新需要不同的存储方法

科学研究需要正确的存储,无论您是使用类似 StorNext 这样专为流数据而设计的高性能文件系统还是类似 Lustre 的平行文件系统。

旨在应对最复杂的数据管理挑战的 StorNext 多层存储可帮助研究人员优化速度和共享。借助 Xcellis,昆腾提供可简化运营的强大的、可扩展 StorNext 系统。强化且耐用的 QXS 混合存储 提供了实时分层和高达 200,000 的 IOPS — 堪比全闪存阵列,而成本则非常低。

不畏严寒:
大学科学家测量极地冰盖以评估气候变化

冰川在缓慢移动,而对气候变化的科学研究则需要快速向前。在堪萨斯大学 (University of Kansas) 的一个研究团队引领下,冰盖遥感中心 (CReSIS) 飞赴格陵兰和南极洲以测量气候变化对冰盖的影响。

为了分析数据,CReSIS 需要高速存储来支持其 HPC 处理 — 可扩展归档以经济高效地保存研究成果。借助昆腾的多层存储,CReSIS 将性能提升了两倍同时显著降低了成本,即使研究数据大幅增长也应对自如。

阅读成功案例

昆腾支持跨学科 HPC 工作流

当今的科学研究受益于高性能计算技术以及可测量和观测物理现象的设备的进步。让我们直面这样的现实 — 让科学研究受益的大数据以及大时代。

无论哪一领域 — 化学、基因组学、生物信息学、大气科学、粒子物理学以及地理空间分析 — 科学数据都可以前所未有地被更高效处理、分析和挖掘,以获得更深入的洞察。不过,要做的这一点需要专门的存储基础设施。了解正确的存储解决方案能够如何让一切变得不同。

阅读博客

科研人员信任昆腾

SIB

瑞士生物信息研究所 (SIB) 借助面向基因组学的多层存储破解生命代码

瑞士生物信息研究所在瑞士主要的大学和研究机构支持 HPC 和应用基因组学研究。

参阅成功案例

联系昆腾多层存储专家

The Power of Insight

Today’s scientists are building tomorrow’s future. Across all disciplines, the ability to collect more data and to derive insight from data is leading to breakthrough discoveries. But these technology advances have introduced storage challenges as universities and research institutions struggle to keep pace with the growth of scientific data.

Scientists today need intelligent data management throughout the entire research workflow, from ingest to HPC processing to archive. With multi-tier storage from Quantum, teams can better harness their data and transform the world. That’s the power of insight.

Power of insight from scientific data

How Storage Enables Scientific Research

Manage petascale data growth

Managing Petascale Data Growth

Data growth is a fact of life, especially with scientific research: more sensors, more software, more files, and bigger files. Today’s research teams need multi-tier storage solutions that scale—and that do so affordably.

Collaborative research

Enabling Collaborative Research

Research doesn’t happen in a vacuum. Whether your team has tens, hundreds, or thousands of users who need shared access to data, StorNext enables high-speed file sharing via both SAN and LAN, as well as cloud.

Speed up ingest and analysis

Speeding Up Ingest and Analysis

Scientific workflows require speed—both speed for ingest and speed that supports complex analysis and HPC. The right kind of high-performance storage is needed to power today’s research workflows—and to derive insights from scientific data.

Access data for long periods of time

Keeping Data for Decades

With research projects often extending decades or more, scientists need access to data for long periods of time. Multi-tier storage lets research institutions archive data with cost-effective tiering on flash, disk, object storage, tape, and even cloud.

Studying the Brazilian Rainforest to Derive Atmospheric Insights

By analyzing greenhouse gases, aerosol particles, and more, researchers at the Max Planck Institute for Chemistry hope to learn more about our climate and provide insights that guide government policy. At the heart of the cutting-edge research is data collected from rainforest treetops.

High-speed storage from Quantum helps the researchers at Max Planck derive insights from atmospheric data and archive the results for future study. StorNext provides scientists transparent, collaborative access to archived data—at scale—allowing them to focus on the science instead of IT.

Read their story

Innovating in HPC Calls for a Different Approach to Storage

Scientific research requires the right kind of storage, whether you’re using a high-performance file system designed for streaming data like StorNext, or a parallel file system like Lustre.

Engineered to solve the most complex data management challenges, StorNext multi-tier storage helps researchers optimize for speed and sharing. With Xcellis, Quantum delivers a powerful and scalable StorNext system that streamlines operations. And hardened, ruggedized QXS Hybrid storage offers real-time tiering and up to 200,000 IOPS—on par with all-flash arrays, at a fraction of the cost.

Braving the Cold:
University Scientists Measure Polar Ice Sheets to Assess Climate Change

Glaciers move slowly, but scientific research on climate change needs to move fast. Led by a team at the University of Kansas, the Center for Remote Sensing of Ice Sheets (CReSIS) flies planes to Greenland and Antarctica to measure the effect of climate change on ice sheets.

To analyze the data, CReSIS needs high-speed storage to power their HPC processing—and a scalable archive to cost-effectively preserve the research. With Quantum multi-tier storage, CReSIS has tripled performance and lowered costs, even as the research data has grown.

Read their story

Quantum Enables HPC Workflows Across Disciplines

Scientific research today is benefiting from advances in high performance computing and the devices that measure and observe physical phenomena. Let’s face it—big data benefits scientific research, big time.

Regardless of field—chemistry, genomics, bioinformatics, climate science, particle physics, geospatial analysis—scientific data can be processed, analyzed, and mined for insight more effectively than ever before. But to do this requires specialized storage infrastructure. Learn how the right kind of storage solution can make all the difference.

Read the blog

Scientific Researchers Trust Quantum

SIB

Unlocking Life’s Code with Multi-Tier Storage for Genomics at SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics

SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics enables HPC and applied genomics at leading Swiss universities and research institutes.

See their story

Contact One of Our Multi-Tier Storage Experts