使用 QXS 混合存储的面向虚拟环境的主存储

对IT 专业人员而言,优化应用程序的部署和性能始终是其关注的头等大事。作为存储领域享有盛誉的领导者,昆腾提供 QXS 混合存储系统,以满足虚拟化环境不断变化的需求。

显著降低的成本以及灵活的应用程序部署极具吸引力,从而促使虚拟化成为计算历史上部署最广泛的新技术。这种灵活性要求保存应用程序和用户数据的存储也要足够灵活,以满足不断变化的使用方式要求。存储的利用已经快速地从可预测向可预测变化乃至不可预测的随机化转型。人工调整和再分配难以满足要求,用闪存替代磁盘不仅不经济高效,而且会影响虚拟计算原本所倡导的成本节省优势。

具有实时智能分层的昆腾 QXS 混合存储

为了满足这些随机工作负载的需求,昆腾 QXS 混合存储使用 Q-Tier 实时智能分层软件来根据实时数据访问方式,将数据在一个阵列的不同存储层之间移动,包括闪存、高性能 HDD 以及低成本 HDD。

对数据进行分层需要计算能力和存储带宽。与其他每天对数据进行分层以避免在峰值期间性能下降的混合存储阵列不同,QXS 混合存储阵列有专门的处理和双控控制器,可以每 5 秒钟对数据进行一次分层 — 持续将活动工作负载移至可用的最快层,且不会降低性能。这种方法能够以尽可能最高的 I/O 提供最需要的数据,同时减少了瓶颈和“噪音”— 与静态存储相关的近邻效应。

成效就是用户能够实现针对所需数据集的闪存性能,而无需过度配置昂贵的闪存基础设施。对于在每天结束时以批处理方式对数据进行分层的其他阵列,分层发生的太迟 — 到那时,不同的数据集都要被访问。

受益于这种实时分层方法的一个常见用例是面向虚拟环境的主存储,参见下列图 1。

图 1 — 使用 QXS 混合存储的面向虚拟环境的主存储

解决方案说明

如以上图 1 所示,这一解决方案包括一个运行一系列虚拟机的 Hyper-V 故障转移集群,在本例中是 SQL 服务器数据库。尽管本例重点强调了 Hyper-V,但无论对于 hypervisor 还是运行在虚拟服务器上的应用程序,QXS 混合存储阵列的优势同样适用。这适用于许多具有随机、不可预测工作负载的环境。

使用 16Gb 光纤通道 SAN 将运行 Hyper-V 集群的服务器与昆腾 QXS-4 系列混合存储相连。

这一解决方案包括足够多的闪存,以应对峰值性能和针对数据库应用程序的数据访问。其他存储采用了成本不高的硬盘,当数据未被访问时,可将大部分数据保留其中。

解决方案优势

通过提供实时智能分层,昆腾 QXS 混合存储阵列将闪存和不同规格的 HDD 相结合,以提供闪存性能,同时省却了全闪存阵列所具有的不菲成本。通过实时响应不可预测的数据访问方式,从而加速服务于我们客户的最终用户的应用程序,昆腾 QXS 混合存储阵列提供了卓越的价值且不会牺牲功能性或可靠性。

自动、智能的系统,能够以较低的成本提供超快的性能。

电话 8610-5829-9977 | 电子邮箱 CHINA.MARKETING@QUANTUM.COM
我需要类似解决方案 请求更多的信息 联系我们

Primary Storage for Virtual Environments Using QXS Hybrid Storage

Optimizing deployment and performance of applications continues to be top of mind for IT professionals. As an established storage leader, Quantum offers QXS hybrid storage systems to meet the dynamic demands of virtualized environments.

The highly attractive combination of significant cost reduction and application deployment flexibility has driven virtualization to become one of the most widely adopted new technologies in computing history. With this flexibility comes the requirement that the storage on which the applications and user data resides be flexible enough to keep up with changing usage patterns. Storage utilization has quickly transformed from predictable, to predictably changing, to unpredictably random. Manual tuning and reallocation can’t keep up and replacing disks with flash isn’t cost effective and undermines the savings originally promised by virtual computing.

Enter Quantum QXS Hybrid Storage With Real-Time Intelligent Tiering

To meet the demands of these random workloads, Quantum QXS hybrid storage uses Q-Tier real-time intelligent tiering software to move data among different tiers of storage within an array, including flash, high performance HDDs, and lower cost HDDs, based on real-time data access patterns.

Tiering data requires both compute power and storage bandwidth. Unlike other hybrid storage arrays that tier data daily to avoid performance degradation during peak hours, QXS hybrid storage arrays have dedicated processing and dual active-active controllers to tier data every 5 seconds – constantly promoting active workloads to the fastest tier available with no reduction in performance. This provides the most needed data with the highest I/O possible, and also reduces the bottlenecks and noisy-neighbor effects associated with static storage.

The net effect is that users can achieve flash performance for datasets that need it without over-provisioning expensive flash storage infrastructure. For the other arrays that tier the data as a batch process at the end of the day, the tiering occurs way too late – by that time different data sets are being accessed.

One common use case that really benefits from this real-time tiering is primary storage for virtual environments, see Figure 1 below.

Figure 1 – Primary Storage for Virtual Environments Using QXS Hybrid Storage

Solution Description

As shown in Figure 1 above, this solution consists of a Hyper-V failover cluster that is running a number of virtual machines, in this case, SQL server databases. Although this example highlights Hyper-V, the benefits of the QXS hybrid storage arrays apply regardless of hypervisor or the application running on the virtual servers. This works for any environment with random, unpredictable workloads.

The servers running the Hyper-V cluster are connected to Quantum QXS-4 series hybrid storage using a 16Gb fiber channel SAN.

This solution includes enough flash to handle peak performance and data access for the database applications. The rest of the storage uses less expensive hard drives where the majority of the data can reside when it is not being accessed.

Solution Benefits

By providing real-time intelligent tiering, Quantum QXS hybrid storage arrays combine flash with small and large form factor HDDs, in a variety of different chassis options, to deliver the benefits of flash performance without the cost of an all-flash array. By responding in real time to unpredictable data access patterns, and therefore accelerating the application that is servicing our customers’ ultimate end users, Quantum QXS hybrid storage arrays deliver excellent value without sacrificing functionality or reliability.

Automated, intelligent systems providing flash performance at a fraction of the cost.


I Need A Similar Solution

or Call us at 800-677-6268