产品

昆腾 LTFS — 线性磁带文件系统昆腾 LTFS

 

线性磁带文件系统 (LTFS)

昆腾 LTO-5 和 LTO-6 磁带机令人惊喜的特性之一是线性磁带文件系统 (LTFS),该系统能够让您像使用硬盘一样轻松使用磁带。使用标准操作系统目录(无需备份软件目录),您可以将文件从您的服务器拖放到磁带,可以查看已保存文件的列表,并且可通过点击进行恢复。为了实现这一功能,您只需使用右侧的链接将 LTFS 软件下载并安装到您的主机中。

LTFS 是一个开放标准,可与企业 LTO-5 和 LTO-6 品牌互换,同时它也是跨平台的,因此,您能如同使用 USB 闪存一样使用磁带。只需将 LTFS 格式的磁带加载到您的 LTO-5 或 LTO-6 磁带机,将其安装到文件系统,它即变为可见,就如同一个磁盘一样。目前,昆腾 LTFS 软件支持 Windows、Linux 和 Mac OS X。

昆腾 Scalar LTFS 设备

现在,借助昆腾 Scalar LTFS 设备,您能够在您的昆腾 Scalar 磁带库中实现 LTFS 技术的所有优势!Scalar LTFS 设备作为 NAS 的前端,可通过 SAS 或光纤通道连接您的 Scalar 磁带库,并且基于 LTFS 开放标准进行内容格式化。由于它可以与现有应用程序和文件系统工具一起使用,基于 LTFS 的内容可被轻松管理、传输和访问,以实现长期数据保护和归档存储。Scalar LTFS 设备还可被用于将 LTFS 开放标准介质导入和导出 StorNext 文件系统。这种灵活性提供了针对内容工作流、云和内容分发服务以及类似视频或非结构化数据归档的应用的一种经济高效的替代方法。

昆腾 LTFS 的优势包括:

  • 易用性 — 只需通过拖放即可将文件存入磁带或者从磁带取出
  • 快速访问 — 一旦加载磁带,目录和文件将直接显示在您的屏幕上,无需先运行备份软件。您无需重新构建目录。
  • 文件可移植性 — 由于写入磁带的信息是自包含的,数据恢复与硬件或软件平台无关。可轻松地在不同操作系统和软件之间交换磁带。

针对独立磁带机下载的系统要求 

  • Windows、Linux 或 Mac OS X(参见所支持操作系统的链接)
  • 带有 V3082 或更高版本固件的昆腾 LTO-5 或 LTO-6 磁带机以及 LTO-5 或 LTO-6 磁带
  • Linux FUSE 内核模式子系统或 MacFUSE 模块
  • 如果您使用 xTalk 进行磁带机分析,6.4.1.1 或更高版本支持 LTFS。


•注意:昆腾技术支持仅提供对使用昆腾磁带机的昆腾 LTFS 的支持

Products

Quantum LTFS - linear tape file systemQuantum LTFS

 

Linear Tape File System (LTFS)

One of the exciting features available with the Quantum LTO-5 and LTO-6 tape drives is called the Linear Tape File System (LTFS), which allows you to use the tape almost as if it were a hard disk. You can drag and drop files from your server to the tape, see the list of saved files using a standard operating system directory (no backup software catalog needed), and use point and click to restore. To implement this feature, you simply need to download and install the LTFS software on your host machine, using the link at right.

LTFS is an open standard, interchangeable with other LTO-5 and LTO-6 brands, and is also cross-platform, so you can use the tape as you would a USB flash drive. Simply load an LTFS-formatted tape into your LTO-5 or LTO-6 drive, mount it into the file system, and it becomes visible as if it were a disk. Currently, the Quantum LTFS software supports Windows, Linux and Mac OS X.

Quantum Scalar LTFS appliance

Now, with the Quantum Scalar LTFS appliance, you can enjoy all the benefits of LTFS technology on your Quantum Scalar Libraries! The Scalar LTFS appliance features a NAS front-end, connects to your Scalar libraries via SAS or Fibre-channel and is based on the LTFS open-standard for content formatting. Because it works with existing application and file system tools, LTFS-based content is easily managed, transported and accessible for long-term data protection and archival storage. The Scalar LTFS appliance can also be used to import and export LTFS open-standard media into a StorNext File System. This flexibility provides a cost-effective alternative for content workflow, for cloud and content distribution services, and for applications such as video or unstructured data archiving.

Among the benefits of Quantum LTFS are:

  • Ease of use – Simply drag and drop files to and from tape
  • Fast access - Once you load a tape, the directories and files are displayed on your screen directly, without the need to run backup software first. You never need to rebuild a catalog.
  • File portability - Since the information written to tape is self-contained, data recovery is independent of hardware or software platforms. Tapes can be exchanged easily between different operating systems and software.

System Requirements for standalone drive download only 

  • Windows, Linux or Mac OS X (see Supported Operating Systems link)
  • Quantum LTO-5 or LTO-6 tape drive with firmware V3082 or greater and an LTO-5 or LTO-6 tape
  • Linux FUSE kernel mode subsystem or MacFUSE module
  • If you are using xTalk for drive diagnostics, version 6.4.1.1 or greater supports LTFS.


•NOTE: Quantum Technical Support can only provide support for Quantum's LTFS using the Quantum drive