新疆油田公司
xinjiang-quantum-customer-success
StorNext 存储解决方案为我们提供了所需的性能和响应性。通过将易用性和可管理性相结合,StorNext 能够出色地支持我们的大型计算项目。  
张峰
新疆油田公司信息中心主任

StorNext 横向扩展存储正是大型油田公司所需要的平台

新疆油田公司的勘探开发研究院在将科学技术应用于石化行业最具挑战性的工作方面居领先地位:发现隐藏的石油储量。依靠复杂的地震反射数据分析来构造详细的地层图是一项艰巨的数据密集型工作。

需要高性能存储来实现高性能计算

流程使用专用软件应用程序,需要高性能存储并生成大量数据。研究院的约 640 个节点和 7000 个核心系统生成的数据达每项目 30TB 至 40TB — 每年,团队需要添加超过 100TB 的新容量。新疆油田的母公司中国石油高度重视西部资源的开发,公司意识到现有的磁盘和网络附加存储 (NAS) 基础设施难以满足不断增长的需求。

IT 团队需要新的存储以支持更高速的处理 — 更高的带宽和更快的 I/O 连接。团队对性能提出了较高要求,包括 InfiniBand 以支持带宽密集型应用。解决方案还需要支持其现有 CGG 应用,并可扩展以满足未来需要。

采用来自昆腾的高性能存储平台

为了满足需求,新疆油田的团队选择了昆腾的 StorNext 横向扩展存储解决方案。解决方案包括 StorNext QD6000 RAID 存储、双冗余 StorNext 元数据设备以实现高速数据访问,以及 StorNext 网关设备。配置支持 InfiniBand 以实现最高性能,为日常运营提供 IP 连接,并且完全兼容油气勘探所使用的所有应用程序,包括 CGG 应用程序。

实践证明部署成熟的存储解决方案快捷、简便

由于将昆腾的预配置解决方案与昆腾在油气勘探领域的丰富经验相结合,解决方案部署既快捷又简便。整个项目 — 准备所有设备、安装硬件、构建操作环境、部署网络、测试、调整与优化 — 只用了两个月的时间即告完成。

新疆油田公司信息中心主任张峰指出:“与以往的 IP 网络相比,新的 InfiniBand 网络架构可支持更出色的性能和更高的速度。我们运营的整体速度显著提升 — 这得益于调整和优化流程 — 整个系统运行更加流畅。这一项目快速完成,有效促进了我们的业务增长。”

昆腾提供的支持和培训满足了 HPC 工作流需求

昆腾提供系统和技术支持,并且在项目实施过程中,对研究院的 IT 团队进行了培训。昆腾在油田 IT 领域的经验使团队能够快速部署系统并进行细化调整以提升特定和重要应用的性能。

张峰表示:“昆腾为我们提供了在石油行业经实践验证的成熟存储解决方案,精心设计的架构提供了出色的灵活性和可扩展性,能够满足高性能计算环境的需要。在实际应用方面,解决方案可提供所预期的高性能和响应及时性。最终,凭借卓越的可用性和可管理性,这一解决方案为我们带来了极大的支持。”

StorNext 的可扩展性能够支持未来的增长

StorNext 的可扩展性提供了未来系统发展的有效路径。可向现有环境轻松添加新的存储阵列,新的容量能够无缝成为现有存储池的组成部分。

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 出色的性能,高达 3.6GB/秒的连续写入速度可提供更快的处理,以缩短项目时间
  • 对 InfiniBand 和 IP 连接的支持为该公司提供了性能和价值的最佳组合
  • 双控制器和路径故障转移架构提供了出色的可靠性,确保了数据安全
  • 昆腾凭借在油气行业的丰富经验,提供了优化的性能和简化的部署
  • 出色的性能和容量可扩展性能够支持未来增长

关于新疆油田公司

新疆油田公司位于新疆维吾尔自治区克拉玛依市 — 隶属于中国石油天然气股份有限公司 — 是中国西部最大的石油生产企业。该公司主要从事油气的勘探开发、提炼和运输以及科学研究。公司是中国石油行业的龙头企业之一,累计产油已达 2 亿吨。公司的勘探开发研究院负责利用高性能计算技术找寻新的储量。

Xinjiang Oilfield Company
The StorNext storage solution gives us the high performance and responsiveness we need. Combined with its ease-of-use and manageability, StorNext does a great job supporting our large-scale computational projects.  
Zhang Feng
Director of the Information Center, Xinjiang Oilfield Company

StorNext Scale-Out Storage the right platform for leading Oilfield Company

The Institute of Research, Exploration and Development, a department of the Xinjiang Oilfield Company, is a leader in applying science and technology to the most challenging work in the petrochemical industry: finding hidden oil reserves. It is difficult, data-intensive work that relies on complex analysis of seismic reflection data to construct detailed maps of the strata.

Needing High-performance Storage for High-performance Computing

The process uses specialized software applications, requires high-performance storage, and generates a huge amount of data. The Institute’s roughly 640 nodes and 7,000 cores generate 30TB to 40TB per project—each year, the team needs to add over 100TB of new capacity. As Xinjiang Oilfield’s parent company, PetroChina, placed greater emphasis on western resources, the Company realized that its existing disk and network-attached storage (NAS) infrastructure would not be able to handle the increased demand.

The IT team needed new storage to support higher-speed processing—both higher bandwidth and faster I/O connections. The team placed a premium on performance, including InfiniBand support for bandwidth-sensitive applications. The solution also needed to support their existing CGG applications, as well as scale for the future.

Adopting a High-Performance Storage Platform from Quantum

To meet the demands, the Xinjiang Oilfield team selected a StorNext scale-out storage solution from Quantum. The solution includes StorNext QD6000 RAID storage, dual-redundant StorNext Metadata Appliances for high speed access to data, and StorNext Gateway Appliances. The configuration supports InfiniBand for highest performance, provides IP connectivity for day-to-day operations, and is fully compatible with all the standard applications used for oil and gas exploration, including CGG applications.

Deploying a Proven Storage Solution Proved to be Quick and Easy

Deployment was fast and simple, due to the combination of Quantum’s preconfigured solution and Quantum’s experience with oil and gas exploration. The entire project—preparing all the equipment, installing hardware, building the operating environment, deploying the network, testing, adjusting and optimization—was completed in just two months.

“The new InfiniBand network architecture enabled better performance and higher speed than the previous IP network. The overall speed of our operations was dramatically improved— and thanks to the adjustment and optimization process—the entire system operates smoothly,” explains Zhang Feng, director of the Information Center at Xinjiang Oilfield Company. “The project was completed quite rapidly and drove our business growth effectively.”

Support & Training from Quantum Meets HPC Workflow Demands

Quantum provided system and technical support, and trained the Institute’s IT team during implementation. Quantum’s oilfield IT experience allowed the team to deploy the system quickly and fine-tune it to improve performance with specific, critical applications.

“Quantum has provided us with a mature storage solution that has been proven in the oil industry, with a well-designed architecture that provides superior flexibility and scalability to meet the demands of our high-performance computing environment,” says Feng. “In terms of actual application, the solution provides high performance and responsiveness as expected. Finally, with excellent usability and manageability, the solution provides great support for us.”

Scalability of StorNext Supports Future Growth

StorNext’s scalability provides an effective path for growing its system in the future. New storage arrays can be added easily to the existing environment, with the new capacity seamlessly becoming part of the existing storage pool.

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Exceptional performance, with sequential write speeds of up to 3.6GB/s, provides faster processing to shorten project timelines
  • Support for InfiniBand and IP connectivity gives the Institute an optimal combination of performance and value
  • Dual-controller and path-failover architecture provides reliability and ensures safety of data
  • Quantum’s experience in oil industry provides optimized performance and simplified deployment
  • Scalability of both performance and capacity supports future growth

About the Xinjiang Oilfield Company

Located in Karamay City, Xinjiang Province, the Xinjiang Oilfield Company—a part of PetroChina Company Limited —is the largest petroleum-producing enterprise in western China. The company is primarily engaged in oil and gas exploration and development, extraction and transportation, and scientific research. The company is one of the leading companies in China’s petroleum industry, with accumulated oil production of 200 million tons. The company’s Institute of Research, Exploration and Development is in charge of conducting the search for new deposits using high-performance computing techniques.