诺特丹大学 Fighting Irish Media
StorNext/Vantage 工作流显著减少了发布内容所需的时间 — 以往需要花几小时来完成并向观众播出的项目现在只需要几分钟。  

 

- Scott Rinehart,首席技术专家
Fighting Irish Media

Fighting Irish Media 借助 Stornext 将交付周期由数小时缩短至数分钟

诺特丹大学的 Fighting Irish Media (FIM) 专注于从体育运动的视角讲述大学的故事。除了报道每年的 125-130 场活动、发布 1200-1300 条精彩集锦、制作 TV 秀和专题节目,屡获殊荣的 FIM 团队还通过随时随地提供所需的技术支持来为履行大学使命提供帮助。


始终满足体育迷的期望

FIM 深知,观众希望尽可能接近实时地看到精彩报道 — 在赛事结束后的几分钟时间里 — 但往往缺乏能够满足这一目标的基础设施。为了向有经验的专家寻求帮助,团队新增了知名技术专家 Scott Rinehart,Rinehart 曾在 PGA TOUR Productions 和 NASCAR Media Group 从事媒体相关工作。

Rinehart 指出:“以往,团队都是派摄像师到活动现场拍摄素材,然后将带回的素材复制到移动硬盘,通过笔记本电脑进行编辑、转码和发布。从活动结束到发布精彩集锦之间的延迟通常达数小时…对观众而言,这太缓慢了。”

FIM 决定对系统进行升级来支持更新的工作流,以帮助他们在活动结束后的几分钟即可为观众提供内容。

创建协作工作流

FIM 的解决方案基于昆腾 StorNext® 文件共享软件,由 OEM 合作伙伴 Active Storage 提供。新系统打造了一个共享环境,在其中,众多编辑可以同时对同一素材进行操作,当活动还在进行时即可将内容由现场报道传至工作区。协作环境使所有编辑能够共享内容 — 最重要的是,让他们能在图像采集的同时即可进行项目操作。

“成效非常显著。StorNext/Vantage 工作流显著减少了发布内容所需的时间 — 以往需要花几小时来完成并向观众播出的项目现在只需要几分钟。这意味着观看完赛事的观众在去停车场取车时即可通过智能手机看到精彩报道。”Rinehart 如是说。

新的系统还提高了 FIM 团队的效率。团队每年还能制作 1500 部视频 — 比旧系统多 50%。

无缝转向 StorNext

不过,当 Active Storage 转型到一个不同的业务模式并且不再提供团队已经开始使用的产品时,所有好的结果似乎都处于危险之中。

为了帮助实现向昆腾 StorNext 的过渡,团队和专长于媒体和娱乐项目的集成商 Chesapeake Systems 展开了合作。

Rinehart 指出:“过渡…令人难以置信的顺利。我们使用相同的 ActiveSAN 控制器,将软件更新为 StorNext,并采用故障转移技术部署了整个系统。根本没有系统停机,所有应用程序均可像资产管理器 CatDV 一样无缝正常使用。”

支持大学的教育使命

Rinehart 解释道:“我们的目标不仅局限于体育界。FIM 现在还为大型 MOOC(开放式在线课程)学习计划创建内容,并为拍摄直播学术讲座和大学校友会每月的 Web 流媒体提供支持。”

更广泛的支持还拓展至其他大学部门。

“我们将自己看作一个实验室….一个其他部门曾听说过我们如何处理视频并希望找到他们可以利用的工具的地方。”Rinehart 如是说。

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 通过协作工作流加速内容创建与交付 — 将交付时间由数小时缩短至数分钟
  • 可扩展的系统能够满足未来需求以及更高分辨率格式要求
  • SAN 性能确保了及时完成项目
  • 基于相同硬件平台顺利实现由 ActiveSAN 向 StorNext 的过渡保护了大学现有投资
  • 昆腾云服务和延展式在线存储提供了可满足未来增长需求的选项

关于 Fighting Irish Digital Media

诺特丹大学的 Fighting Irish Media (FIM) 专注于从体育运动的视角讲述大学的故事。FIM 团队从局内人的角度来全面报道诺特丹大学的体育活动,提供视频专题、赛事网上直播、精彩集锦、教练访谈以及纪录片式的制作影片。2013 年,FIM 获得了首届“体育视频组/NACMA 技术领先”奖。2014 年,荣获了 Telly 铜奖,并且凭借系列视频《 强大与真实 (Strong and True)》获得了“大学体育媒体杰出节目”奖。

Notre Dame Fighting Irish Media
The StorNext / Vantage workflow reduced the time needed to post content dramatically—projects that could take hours to complete were out and to the fans in minutes.  


- Scott Rinehart, Lead Technologist,
Fighting Irish Media

Fighting Irish Media Shortens Content Delivery Cycle from Hours to Minutes with StorNext

The University of Notre Dame’s Fighting Irish Media (FIM) tells the Notre Dame story through the lens of athletics. Besides streaming 125-130 events a year, posting 1,200-1,300 highlights, and creating TV shows and features, the award-winning FIM team supports the university’s mission by supplying technical support whenever needed.

Keeping Up With the Pace of Fan Expectations

FIM knew their audience wanted to see event highlights as close to real time as possible—within minutes of a game’s end—but the infrastructure to meet that goal was not in place. Looking for help from an experienced expert, the team added Lead Technologist Scott Rinehart, who had handled media for the PGA TOUR Productions and NASCAR Media Group.

“Previously, the team sent cameras out to events, brought the footage back, copied to removable drives, and then had to edit, transcode, and distribute via their laptops,” says Rinehart. “The delay from the end of an event to posting highlights was typically hours… way too slow for our audience.”

FIM decided to upgrade their system to support a more up-to-date workflow to help them deliver content to viewers within minutes of an event.

Creating a Collaborative Workflow

FIM’s solution was based on Quantum’s StorNext® file-sharing software, delivered by OEM partner Active Storage. The new system created a shared environment where multiple editors could work on the same footage at the same time, and bring content from live feeds into the workspace while events were under way. The collaborative environment allowed all editors to share content—and most importantly, let them work on projects while images were being ingested.

“The results were dramatic,” explains Rinehart. “The StorNext/Vantage workflow reduced the time needed to post content dramatically—projects that could take hours to complete were out and to the fans in minutes. That meant that people attending a game could watch highlights on their smartphones while they were walking to their cars.”

The new system also increased the FIM team’s productivity. The team was able to produce 1,500 videos per year—50% more than the old system.

Seamless Conversion to StorNext

However, all of the good results seemed in jeopardy when Active Storage transitioned to a different business model and no longer offered the product the team had started using.

To help make the transition to Quantum-branded StorNext, the team brought on board Chesapeake Systems, an integrator that specializes in media and entertainment projects.

“The transition … turned out incredibly well,” says Rinehart. “We used the same ActiveSAN controllers, updated the software to full StorNext, and rolled the system over using a failover technique. There was no downtime and all of the applications….kept functioning seamlessly, as did the asset manager, CatDV.”

Supporting the Educational Mission of the University

“Our purpose is more than the world of athletics,” explains Rinehart. “FIM is now involved with creating content for MOOC (Massive Open Online Course) learning opportunities as well as opportunities such as supporting live shots with academic experts, along with monthly web streaming for the university’s alumni department.”

Broader support also extends to other university departments.

“We see ourselves as a bit of a lab….a place where other departments who have heard what we are doing on the video side and want to check out our tools to see if they could take advantage,” says Rinehart.

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Collaborative workflow speeds up content creation and delivery—cutting delivery time from hours to minutes
  • Scalable system accommodates future demands and higher-resolution formats
  • SAN performance ensures timely completion of projects
  • Smooth transition from ActiveSAN to StorNext on same hardware platform protects the university’s existing investment
  • Quantum cloud services and extended online storage provide options for future growth

About Fighting Irish Digital Media

The University of Notre Dame’s Fighting Irish Media (FIM) was created to tell the university’s story through the lens of athletics. The FIM team covers Notre Dame athletics from an insider's perspective; producing video features, live game webcasts, highlights, coaches’ shows, and documentary-style filmed entertainment. In 2013, FIM was awarded the inaugural Sports Video Group/NACMA Technology Leadership Award. In 2014, it won three bronze Telly Awards and a College Sports Media Award for Outstanding Program Series for its video series, Strong and True.