天津国家动漫园
与旧的系统相比,StorNext 解决方案将我们的整体工作流效率提升了约 60%-80%。
- 窦凯
动漫园制作总监

StorNext 成为动漫园“超级明星”

StorNext 将动漫园工作流效率提升达 80%

随着动漫行业进入 4K 分辨率时代,动漫园里的动漫制作商意识到其现有的存储基础设施已经无法满足新标准的要求。制作 4K 分辨率节目需要极高的容量和带宽,这是因为一般流程需要高达 3.9GB/秒的性能,而每一帧 4K 内容可能含有 48MB 的数据。动漫园的存储基础设施远远达不到上述要求,所以,所有的制作、播出和后期处理流程都受到影响。

在使用旧系统时,动漫园创意团队使用桌面 DAS RAID 制作节目。所有绘图工作站在制作时必须访问本地存储,之后使用便携式硬盘汇集数据。此系统的容量和带宽限制了最终内容的实时播放时间,每次只能播放几秒钟。这使得制作团队难以协调一致地开展合作,同时也影响了效率,甚至节目的整体质量。

StorNext 解决方案可简化工作流,提高效率

动漫园为了解决这一问题,选择了部署一整套来自昆腾的高性能 StorNext®解决方案。动漫园制作总监窦凯(音译)说:“我们选择昆腾的理由是,它提供了我们制作 4K 节目所需要的容量和性能,它在国际媒体和娱乐应用领域广泛使用,同时它经济高效,便于扩展。

在为一家好莱坞电影公司制作首个 4K 电影重录节目时,我们实施并使用了这套横向扩展系统。在实施过程中,昆腾为我们提供了重要的支持,结果也完全符合我们的预期。StorNext 大大简化了我们的整个工作流。现在,在一个共享的高容量、高性能环境下,我们所有的工作站可以同步工作,同时,在进行质量控制时,StorNext 让我们可以以原生的 24 帧/秒播放整部电影。全新的 StorNext 解决方案大大优化了我们的制作流程,与原有系统相比,它将我们的整体工作流效率提升了大约 60% 到 80%。

在部署新的 IT 基础设施期间,有许多供应商与动漫园合作,但给我们留下印象最深的还是昆腾,这体现在他们所有员工的专业性和认真态度上。他们的积极参与是我们的基础设施扩展按时完成的一个重要原因。以后,我们希望能够将昆腾解决方案的使用扩展到整个动漫园,并且在一系列应用中利用昆腾团队的支持。”

主要优势

  • 创意团队可共享一个
    高容量、高性能
    存储池
  • 共享的内容将整体工作流效率提高 60% 至 80%
  • 高带宽播放能够快速进行质量审查,加快并简化
    后期制作
  • 系统省却了在直接互联的存储资源之间人工移动文件

关于天津国家
动漫园

国家动漫园位于天津滨海新区中新天津生态城,是中国与新加坡之间的一个合作项目。国家动漫园是一个技术服务平台,软硬件投资超过 0.14 亿美元,其建设目的主要是为了帮助中国的中小型动漫企业解决如何有效部署和利用高端设备和制作流程。在中国政府、学术界和计算机图形行业关于加大中国在国内外动漫市场参与度的建议下,该动漫园于 2009 年 3 月 4 日挂牌成立。

Tianjin Animation Park
The new StorNext solution … improved our overall workflow efficiency by roughly 60%-80% compared to the old system.
- Dou Kai
Production Director, Animation Park

StorNext a Superstar at Animation Park

StorNext Improves Animation Park Workflow Efficiency by up to 80%

As the animation industry advances into the 4K resolution era, animation producers at the Animation Park realized that their existing storage infrastructure was not able to keep up with the new standard’s demands. Working on 4K resolution projects creates very high-capacity and bandwidth requirements, since typical processes require up to 3.9GB/second performance, and a single frame of 4K content can consist of 48MB of data. The Animation Park’s storage infrastructure provided far less, so all of its production, playout, and mastering processes were negatively affected.

In the old system, the Animation Park creative team worked on projects using desktop DAS RAID.
All the graphics workstations had to access local storage for production, and they would pool the data afterward using portable hard disks. The capacity and bandwidth of the system limited the real-time playing of the finished content to only a few seconds at a time. That made it difficult for the production team to work coherently, and had a negative impact on efficiency and even on the overall quality
of the work.

StorNext Solutions Streamline Workflow and Increase Efficiency

The Animation Park’s solution was to deploy a full set of high-performance StorNext® solutions from Quantum. “We chose Quantum because it had the capacity and performance we needed for 4K projects, because it was already widely used internationally for media and entertainment applications, and because it was both cost-effective and easy to scale.”

"We implemented and used the scale-out system when we worked on our first 4K film remastering project for a Hollywood studio,” explains Dou Kai, Production Director at the Animation Park. “During the implementation process, Quantum provided us with valuable support … and the results have been just what we wanted. StorNext has greatly streamlined our overall workflow since. Now all our workstations can work simultaneously in a shared high-capacity, high-performance environment, and StorNext allows us to play out entire films at a native 24 frames-per-second rate when we are working on quality control. The new StorNext solution greatly enhances our … processes, and it improved our overall workflow efficiency by roughly 60%-80% compared to the old system.”

“The Animation Park has worked with many vendors during the deployment of our new IT infrastructure, and Quantum impressed us the most because of the professionalism and positive attitude shown by its entire staff. Their active participation was one of the main reasons that our infrastructure expansion project was completed on time. In future, we would like to be able to expand our use of Quantum solutions in the Animation Park and have the advantage of the Quantum team’s support in a wider range of applications.”

Key Benefits

  • Creative team shares one,
    high-capacity, high-performance
    storage pool
  • Shared content increases overall workflow efficiency by 60 to 80%
  • High-bandwidth playout allows quality review at native rates, speeding up and streamlining
  • System eliminates moving files manually between direct connected storage resources

About Tianjin
Animation Park

The National Animation Industry Park located in the Sino-Singapore Tianjin Eco-City, in the Tianjin Binhai New Area, is a cooperative project between China and Singapore. With over US$14 million invested in hardware and software, it is a technical service platform established to mainly help small- and medium-sized animation enterprises in China address the problems of how to deploy and use high-end equipment and workflow processes effectively. It was inaugurated on March 4, 2009 based on recommendations by government officials, academics, and the computer graphics industry to accelerate China’s participation in both domestic and international animation markets.