TBWA Australia
我们的主要问题是数据保护、生产率以及减少旧系统所要求的巨大开销。没有任何一款我们考察过的其他产品能够满足所有这些需求 — 每一款产品都需要大量的人工干预。

Jaymz Hingert
区域 IT 经理,TBWA Australia

领先的广告和创意机构借助 StorNext 简化工作流并确保工作流安全

老化的存储系统难以跟上媒体内容不断增长的步伐

直到最近 TBWA Australia 分支机构的视频编辑仍在使用带有直接附加磁盘存储的服务器,基于磁盘来开展工作,当磁盘被写满,则在现场进行存储。很少有时间进行备份 — 或者异地灾难恢复 (DR) 保护。TBWA Australia 的区域 IT 经理 Jaymz Hingert 解释道:“我们从未丢失过数据,这让我稍感欣慰。但有时当我们要重新使用数据时,却会遭遇长时间延迟。”

为了重复使用资产,编辑不得不查找正确的磁盘和文件,然后将它们恢复到本地磁盘。Hingert 坦言:“不仅速度缓慢,而且给编辑和 IT 团队带来了巨大负担。编辑必须以人工方式管理文件及其所处位置 — IT 团队不得不投入资源来管理磁盘,确保数据始终可用。每个人都耗费太多时间 — 每周数小时的时间开销。”系统还使编辑难以协同工作,因为他们要在服务器之间移动磁盘来共享文件。

寻求更好的工作流解决方案

最终,团队决定选择经验丰富的集成商 CompNow 来帮助其寻找更好的工作流解决方案。他们还与公司的一些更大的分支机构进行沟通交流,以了解更好的方法。Hingert 回忆道:“两家机构向我们推荐了昆腾 StorNext,但我们不确定它是否适用于只有一至四名编辑的较小的分支机构 — 我们本以为它是专为大型运营设计的东西。”

但是决策是清晰的。Hingert 指出:“我们的主要问题是数据保护、生产率以及减少旧的系统所要求的巨大开销。没有任何一款我们考察过的其他产品能够满足所有这些需求 — 每一款产品都需要大量的人工干预。我们发现 StorNext Pro Foundation 专为小型分支机构而设计,既能满足我们的预算要求,又能提供我们所需的所有功能。”

StorNext Pro 解决方案可提供端到端协作

TBWA Australia 新的昆腾 StorNext Pro Foundation 系统提供了一个 SAN 网络架构、48TB 高性能磁盘、一个 Xcellis Workflow Director、StorNext 5 软件、LTO 归档,以及 Q-Cloud 云存储。它是一款包括端到端工作流的集成解决方案 — 包括协作、数据保护以及归档。

新系统为编辑提供了共享的协作型文件访问。Hingert 坦言:“我认为 StorNext Pro 几乎完全消除了编辑以往必须以人工方式进行的数据移动。它是更好的工作流,使编辑能够更高效地工作 — 做到事半功倍,因为编辑只需关注内容而无需管理所有存储。”

完全自动的保护与归档

一旦文件被存储到磁盘,StorNext 即会在磁带中创建一个副本,最初作为一个备份,然后作为一个归档 — 既确保了可用性又最大限度减少了磁盘需求。

Hingert 表示:“对所有数据进行自动备份对我们而言是一大解脱。在系统中有对 TBWA 和我们的客户而言具有重要价值的资产。”此外,还可以快捷、简便地复用现有资产。Hingert 解释道:“StorNext 使编辑能够通过同一文件系统了解一切 — 磁盘中的素材以及归档的内容。他们能够快速查找旧项目,并即刻获取数据。从而显著提升生产率。”

使用昆腾 Q-Cloud 进行 DR 保护

Hingert 指出:“我们在磁带中保存一个副本,并且制定策略让 StorNext 在 Q-Cloud 中创建第二个副本。我们使用磁带进行正常的恢复和归档访问,而 Q-Cloud 提供了无限期、自动 DR 保护。即使大厦明天被烧毁,我们已将一切的副本 — 现有项目和旧的素材 — 安全地保持在 Q-Cloud。

StorNext 有两大优势。所有数据都被安全地保存在磁带和云端,这令我们安枕无忧。自动化让我们在生产率提升方面获益匪浅 — 我们以往必须采用的所有人工操作现在都已实现自动化,每年可为我们节省数百小时的时间开销。”

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 通过 SAN 直接共享文件可加快编辑任务,使编辑能够直接协作
  • 端到端完全自动的工作流每年为编辑人员和 IT 团队减少数百小时的时间开销
  • 自动地将正在制作和完成的内容备份到磁带可改进资产保护
  • 直接访问完成的内容使编辑能够更快、更简便地将现有素材融入新的内容
  • 集成的 Q-Cloud Archive 可自动存储所有内容的多个副本,从而减少开销,提供可扩展的、无限期的 DR 保护

关于 TBWA Australia

TBWA Australia 是 TBWA Global 的澳大利亚和新西兰分支机构,TBWA 是全球最大的广告和创意机构之一,拥有 12000 多名员工和 200 家分支机构,客户包括众多全球知名品牌,例如,Apple、Adidas 和 Nissan。TBWA Australia 是澳大利亚领先的创意机构之一,通过为客户提供极富创新性的品牌战略,彰显其母公司的经营哲学。2013 年和 2015 年,TBWA Australia 两度获得 AdNews“年度广告网络奖”(Advertising Network of the Year Award)。

TBWA Australia
Our main problems were data protection, productivity, and reducing the huge overhead that the old system required. None of the other products we looked at could do all that—every one of them would have meant lots of manual intervention.

Jaymz Hingert
Regional IT Manager, TBWA Australia

Leading Advertising and Creative Agency Streamlines and Secures Workflow With StorNext

Growing Demand for Media Content Outpaces Aging Storage Systems

Until recently, video editors in TBWA Australia’s offices were still using servers with direct-attach disk storage, working on disks until they were full and then storing them on-site. There was rarely time for a backup—or offsite disaster recovery (DR) protection. “We never lost any data, I’m happy to say,” explains Jaymz Hingert, regional IT manager at TBWA Australia, “but we had long delays in getting it back sometimes.”

To reuse assets, editors had to find the right disk and files, and then restore them back onto the local disk. Explains Hingert, “Not only was it slow, but it put a huge burden on both the editors and the IT team. The editors had to manually manage the files and their location—the IT team had to keep bringing resources in, managing the disk, and making sure that data was there. There was way too much time spent by everybody—hours of overhead every week.” The system also made it difficult for editors to collaborate since they shared files by moving disks between servers.

The Search for a Better Workflow Solution

Finally, the team decided to bring in CompNow, an experienced integrator, to help them look for a better workflow alternative. They also talked to the company’s larger offices about a better approach. “The recommendation of both groups was Quantum StorNext,” recalls Hingert, “but we weren’t sure if it would work for a smaller office, one with one to four editors—we thought of it as something designed for a larger operation.”

But the decision was clear. “Our main problems were data protection, productivity, and reducing the huge overhead that the old system required,” says Hingert. “None of the other products we looked at could do all that—every one of them would have meant lots of manual intervention. And we discovered that StorNext Pro Foundation, which was designed for smaller offices, would fit our budget once we looked at all the capabilities it offered.”

StorNext Pro Solution Provides End-to-End Collaboration

TBWA Australia’s new Quantum StorNext Pro Foundation system provides a SAN fabric, 48TB of high performance disk, an Xcellis Workflow Director, StorNext 5 software, an LTO archive, and Q-Cloud cloud storage. It’s an integrated solution with end-to-end workflow—including collaboration, data protection, and archiving.

The new system gives editors shared, collaborative access to files. “I think StorNext Pro has just about completely eliminated editors having to move data around manually,” says Hingert. “It’s a much better workflow, and it makes them much more efficient—they get more work done in less time, mostly because they just work on content instead of having to manage all the storage.”

Fully Automated Protection and Archive

As soon as a file is saved on disk, StorNext creates a copy on tape, serving first as a backup, and later as an archive—keeping work available while minimizing the need for disk.

“Having all the data backed up automatically is a great relief for us,” says Hingert. “There are times when we have assets on that system that represent hundreds of thousands of dollars for TBWA and our customers.” Reusing existing assets is also fast and easy. “StorNext lets the editors see everything through the same file system—both material on disk and the content that’s in the archive,” explains Hingert. “So they can see old projects quickly and get to data immediately. It’s made a huge difference in productivity.”

DR Protection Using Quantum Q-Cloud

“Whenever we make a copy on tape, we also set a policy to have StorNext create a second copy in Q-Cloud,” explains Hingert. “We use the tape for normal recovery and archive access, but Q-Cloud provides indefinite, automated DR protection. If the building burns down tomorrow, we’ve got a copy of everything—current projects and old material—safely on Q-Cloud.

“There were two huge advantages from StorNext. We all sleep much better knowing that all the data is safe both on tape and in the cloud. And we had an immense gain in productivity from the automation—all the steps we used to have to do manually are now taken care of automatically, saving us hundreds of hours a year in overhead.”

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Direct sharing of files over SAN speeds up editing tasks and allows editors to collaborate directly
  • End-to-end fully automated workflow reduces overhead time for editors and the IT team by hundreds of hours each year
  • Automatic backup of files on tape for both work-in-progress and finished content improves protection of assets
  • Direct access to finished work makes it faster and easier for editors to incorporate existing material into new content
  • Integrated Q-Cloud Archive automatically stores copies of all work to reduce overhead and provide scalable, indefinite DR protection

About TBWA Australia

TBWA Australia is the Australian and New Zealand office of TBWA Global, one of the largest advertising and creative agencies in the world, with over 12,000 employees in 200 offices and a client list that includes many major global brands, including Apple, Adidas, and Nissan. TBWA Australia is one of Australia’s leading creative agencies, exemplifying the philosophy of its parent company by providing innovative, disruptive branding strategies for its customers. AdNews gave TBWA Australia the magazine’s Advertising Network of the Year Award in both 2013 and 2015.