SMACL
在整个项目实施过程中(从工程研究到最终部署),昆腾/Scasicomp 团队所展现的专业技术实力,灵活性和快速响应能力令我们印象深刻。我们认为这绝对是再好不过的明智之选 — 昆腾的解决方案百分之百达到了我们的预期。
Eric Frischeteau
IT 系统与网络经理,SMACL

领先的保险服务提供商借助磁盘、磁带和 VM 保护软件解决数据保护难题

随着业务的不断发展,法国领先的保险服务提供商 SMACL 的数据需求和虚拟化技术的使用日益增长,而其原有的备份软件和硬件难以满足需求。这家保险服务提供商需要新的解决方案来保护重要的保单记录和后台应用,包括财务、电子邮件和 HR 文档等。

公司的 IT 团队向知名集成商 Scasicomp 咨询,以寻求能够满足其不断变化的环境需求的解决方案。新的解决方案需要能够改进备份与恢复(尤其是针对 VM),提供更简便的灾难恢复 (DR) 保护,确保更低的拥有成本。

选择灵活的、可满足未来需求的解决方案

团队评估了来自众多厂商的备份软件、重复数据删除、复制和 VM 保护解决方案,并使用自己的数据对产品进行了测试。最终,他们选择了昆腾,原因在于昆腾的解决方案独特地将重复数据删除设备、自动复制、磁带库、VM 保护软件相结合。此外,还具有最佳的性价比,以及向新的解决方案的简便迁移途径。

增强的磁盘存储和更快的备份文件访问

新的系统使用两个 DXi 设备作为主备份硬件 — 一个位于主数据中心,另一个位于异地 — 以及一个昆腾 Scalar 磁带库。对于大多数数据,SMACL 的主备份软件(现在的 Symantec NetBackup)可将数据写入第一个 DXi 以进行短期保护,反过来,也可以将数据自动复制到第二个设备以供灾难恢复写保护。

DXi 的可变长度重复数据删除功能增加了可存储在磁盘上的数据的量,减少了向第二个位置复制数据所需的带宽。由于是从本地 DXi 磁盘访问数据,因此,大部分复制更加快捷,自动的灾难恢复保护流程无需任何管理介入。需要长期保留的服务器将数据发送至昆腾 Scalar 磁带库。

新系统充分利用昆腾与 Symantec OpenStorage (OST) API 的协同性以实现管理自动化。NetBackup 使用 OST 管理复制和磁带创建功能,在设备和磁带库之间直接发送数据,以最大限度减少网络流量,同时确保自动更新 NetBackup 目录。

vmPRO 解决 VM 备份与恢复难题

新的解决方案使用昆腾 vmPRO 软件为数量快速增长的 VMware 虚拟服务器提供全面的数据保护。昆腾 vmPRO 可在系统的 DXi 设备上自动创建所有 VM 的副本,充分利用复制以实现灾难恢复保护。vmPRO 不仅使 VM 备份更快,而且在恢复过程中能够提供更多优势。由于 vmPRO 能够以与 VMware 管理工具完全兼容的本机 VMware 格式写入备份副本,IT 团队可直接拖放文件到生产磁盘,甚至直接从备份目标上进行引导,从而实现整个 VM 及其文件的快速、直接恢复。

Scasicomp 销售工程师 Benoît Fix 解释道:“由于 vmPRO 能够以本机 VMDK 格式备份 VM,灾难恢复得以显著简化。在本地或远程设备上恢复完整 VM 可即时完成并且对于项目团队而言足够简便。”

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 高性能备份缩短备份时间窗,有效应对数据增长。
  • 可变长度重复数据删除有助于在磁盘上存储更多备份数据,减少复制过程的带宽需求。
  • 自动复制可在异地提供灾难恢复副本,增强保护,降低管理支出。
  • 试用与购买选项使用户能够用自己的数据对解决方案进行测试。
  • 与 Symantec OST 集成,通过自动目录更新提供对复制和磁带创建的自动控制。
  • vmPRO 提供针对 VM 的快速保护 — 确保所有 VM 均得到保护。
  • vmPRO 支持本机 VM 格式,提供即时、简便和安全的 VM 恢复。

关于 SMACL

The Société Mutuelle d’Assurance des Collectivités Locales (SMACL) 于 1974 年由当地选出的官员创建,以满足地方政府的保险需求。2012 年,该公司的销售收入超过 3.2 亿欧元。作为拥有近 40 年历史的合作保险机构,SMACL 致力于实现的唯一愿景 — 为其成员提供最佳的服务。如今被称为 SMACL Assurances 的这家互助保险公司不仅为社区还为协会和个人提供服务。

Expertise, flexibility, and fast response characterized the Quantum/Scasicomp team throughout the implementation of this project, from engineering study to final rollout. We couldn’t have made a better choice—Quantum’s solution met 100% of our expectations.
Eric Frischeteau
IT Systems & Networks Manager, SMACL

Leading Insurance Provider Solves Data Protection Problems with Disk, Tape, and VM Protection Software

As leading French insurance provider SMACL grew, its data needs and use of virtualization increased, outstripping the capability of its legacy backup software and hardware. The insurance provider needed a new solution to protect critical insurance policy records and back-office applications, including accounting, email, and HR documents.

The IT team consulted with leading integrator Scasicomp to find a solution that would meet the needs of its changing environment. The new solution needed to improve backup and restore, especially for VMs, provide simpler disaster recovery (DR) protection, and keep ownership costs low.


The team reviewed backup software, deduplication, replication, and VM protection from a wide range of vendors, and tested products using their own data. Ultimately, the team chose Quantum because it offered a unique combination of deduplication appliances, automated replication, tape libraries, and VMware protection software. It also provided the best price-performance ratio, and created an easy transition path to the new solution.


The new system uses two DXi appliances as primary backup hardware—one in the main data center and a second in an off-site location—and a Quantum Scalar tape library. For most data, SMACL’s primary backup software, now Symantec NetBackup, writes data to the first DXi for short-term protection which, in turn, replicates the data automatically to the second unit for DR write protection.

The DXi’s variable-length deduplication increases the amount of data that can be stored on disk and reduces the bandwidth needed to replicate data to the second site. Most restores are faster because they are accessed from the local DXi disk, and the automated DR protection process does not require any administrative intervention. Servers that need longer-term retention send data to a Quantum Scalar tape library.

The new system leverages the synergy between the Quantum and Symantec OpenStorage (OST) API to automate management. NetBackup uses OST to manage replication and tape creation functions, sending data directly between appliances and libraries to minimize network traffic while automatically keeping NetBackup catalogs updated.


The new solution uses Quantum vmPRO software to provide complete data protection for the rapidly increasing volume of VMware virtual servers. Quantum vmPRO automatically creates copies of all VMs on the system’s DXi appliances, leveraging replication for DR protection. Although vmPRO makes VM backups faster, it provides even more benefits during restore. Because vmPRO writes backup copies in native VMware format that is fully compatible with VMware management tools, the IT team can simply drag and drop the files to a production disk or even boot them up directly on the backup target for fast, direct recovery of entire VMs and their files.

“Since vmPRO backs up VMs in their native VMDK format, disaster recovery is greatly simplified," explains Benoît Fix, Scasicomp sales engineer. "Recovery of complete VMs on local or remote devices is instantaneous and easy enough that it can be delegated to the project teams.”

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • High-performance backup shortens backup windows and handles data growth.
  • Variable-length deduplication stores more backup data on disk for faster restores, and reduces network bandwidth needs during replication.
  • Automated replication provides DR copies in an off-site location, improving protection and reducing administrative overhead.
  • Try-and-buy option allows users to test solution with their own data.
  • Integration with Symantec OST provides automated control over replication and tape creation with automated updating of catalogs.
  • vmPRO provides fast protection for VMs—ensuring all VMs are protected.
  • vmPRO’s support of native VM format provides instantaneous, easy, and safe VM recovery.


The Société Mutuelle d’Assurance des Collectivités Locales (SMACL) was founded in 1974 by local elected officials to meet the insurance needs of local governments. The company generated sales of over 320 million euros in 2012. As champion of cooperative values for nearly 40 years, it has a single ambition—to be of service to its members. Now called SMACL Assurances, the mutual insurance company provides services not only to communities, but also to associations and individuals.