瑞士生物信息学研究所
如果能为研究人员提供适当的工具,他们定能挑战极限。StorNext® 分层存储帮助我们快捷地将数据移至归档,使其随时可用,这样,生物信息科研人员就能继续其工作。  

 

- Ioannis Xenarios 教授
Vital-IT Group 主任,瑞士生物信息学研究所 (SIB)

找到了!瑞士生物信息学研究所 (SIB) 借助 StorNext 破解“宏基因组代码”

瑞士生物信息学研究所处在下一场生命科学重大变革的前沿 — 将计算方法应用于基因组学、蛋白质组学以及其他生物信息科学。SIB 的工作日益专注于应用基因组学以提升生命质量。

Vital-IT Group 主任 Ioannis Xenarios 教授解释道:“SIB 最近针对唐氏综合征开发了一个产前诊断测试算法。利用 11 周时从母亲体内采集的血样我们能够对子宫内的胎儿进行遗传物质排序。与传统的羊膜腔穿刺术相比,这是一种低侵害性、低风险的方法。它表明,基因组学正变得与我们的日常生活愈发相关。”

每周超过 30TB 的数据带来了独特的数据管理挑战

SIB 运营六个测序中心,为约 300 个研究团队提供支持,每周生成的数据量高达 30TB。

Vital-IT 高级科学家兼 IT 经理 Roberto Fabbretti 指出:“过去几年,测序技术发展越来越快。这意味着比以往更多的项目并且我们的数据将非常迅速地增长。”

长寿研究需要有效管理

Xenarios 表示:“对于类似癌症和免疫疗法这样的领域,我们会采集每位患者的大量序列数据。如果患者每周或每月返诊一次,上次化验的所有数据都需要能在很多时间内供研究人员快速而准确地使用。为了对我们的生物信息学工作进行扩展以支持数以万计的患者,我们需要寻找经济高效的方法将基因数据保留 20 年、30 年甚至 40 年 — 对患者从生到死进行有效监控。”

PB 级高性能存储

Vital-IT 现在借助昆腾的 StorNext 横向扩展存储来支持其研究基础设施。通过四个单独的 StorNext 系统,研究人员可实现高速排序和分析 — 近 1PB 的主存储以及 4PB 经济高效的磁带归档。StorNext 支持使用基于 InfiniBand 的 IP (IP over Infiniband) 进行高性能处理,将活动数据保存在主存储中以供分析,同时随着数据的“老化”自动将文件移至 AEL 磁带归档。超过 600 名用户在任何一个数据中心或者通过 CIFS 接口以远程方式访问数据。

自助式访问确保基因组数据始终可供研究使用

Fabbretti 指出:“我们的研究人员所采集和分析的数据提供了重要答案,而且在数月甚至数年之后,当新的分析应用能够从相同原始序列中提取信息时,它可能依然有用。StorNext 使我们能够为我们的所有项目提供经济高效的长期归档 — 无论项目计划持续多长时间。”

归档文件仍将出现在研究人员预期在文件系统中会找到它们的地方,因此无需 IT 支持,即可轻松地直接访问它们。

正如 Xenarios 所言:“如果能为研究人员提供适当的工具,他们定能挑战极限。StorNext 分层存储帮助我们快捷地将数据移至归档,使其随时可用,这样,生物信息科研人员就能继续其工作。”

对世界上一些最宝贵的数据集进行自动保护

Fabbretti 指出:“StorNext 不仅帮助我们确保快速采集数据 — 还使归档成为一个自动的、经济高效的流程,以帮助我们履行作为‘数据管家’的职责。我们始终要在磁带上对文件做两个副本,一个在归档中保持可用,另一个被保存,从而提供更多一层的保护,防止任何硬件故障或站点损害。

我们还处理世界上一些最宝贵的数据集。StorNext 为我们提供了数 PB 的归档能力、长期数据保护以及轻松回滚文件版本的能力 — 这是该策略至关重要的组成部分。”

可扩展性使 SIB 始终为未来做好准备

“StorNext 已经为我们的发展提供了六年多的支持。我们知道,当我们需要时能够轻松添加更多磁盘和容量。实际上,我们已经不仅局限于基因组,而是对常规的医学研究数据进行存储和保护。随着时间的推移,StorNext 能够轻松地在我们的存储工作流中包含类似云或对象存储的更多层级,这对我们至关重要。”

主要优势

  • 提供高性能数据采集以加快基因组学工作流
  • 轻松扩展性能和容量以满足每周 30TB 数据增长需要
  • 借助主存储和归档存储层确保研究数据始终可以复用,实现性能和成本的平衡。
  • 利用多种归档副本自动保护宝贵的基因组数据
  • 支持昆腾的下一代对象存储和云存储层,可轻松扩展

关于瑞士生物信息学研究所和 Vital-It GroupAbout the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics and the Vital-It Group

瑞士生物信息学研究所是一家成立于 1998 年的非盈利学术研究机构,包括 60 多家生物信息学研究和服务小组以及来自瑞士主要高等学府及研究机构的 700 多名科学家。SIB 协调整个瑞士的生物信息学研究与教育,为国内和国际生命科学领域提供生物信息学服务。SIB 的 Vital-IT Group 提供计算资源、存储基础设施、开发支持以及生物信息学专业知识,以帮助 SIB 的科学社区开展研究,为相关医疗设施的医疗实践提供支持。

SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics
If you provide researchers with the right set of tools, they push the envelope. StorNext tiered storage helps us take data in fast, quickly move it to archive, and keep it ready so bioinformaticians can continue their work.  

 

- Professor Ioannis Xenarios
Director Vital-IT Group, SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics

Eureka! Cracking the ‘Omics Code with StorNext at SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics

The SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics is at the forefront of the next great revolution in life sciences—applying computational methodologies to genomics, proteomics and other bioinformatic sciences. SIB’s work is increasingly focused on applied genomics to improve quality of life.

“SIB recently worked on an algorithm for a prenatal diagnostic test for conditions like Down syndrome,” explains Professor Ioannis Xenarios, Director at the Vital-IT Group. “With a simple blood draw from the mother at 11 weeks, we can sequence the genetic material of the fetus in utero. It’s less invasive—and much less risky than traditional amniocentesis. And it shows how genomics is becoming more relevant in our everyday lives.”

More Than 30TB Per Week Creates Unique Data Management Challenges

SIB operates six sequencing centers and supports about 300 research teams that generate up to 30TB a week.

“Over the last few years, sequencing has become much faster,” explains Roberto Fabbretti, Senior Scientist and IT Manager at Vital-IT. “That means we are doing more projects than ever and our data is growing very rapidly.”

Long-Lived Research Demands Data Stewardship

“For research into areas like cancer and immunotherapy, we capture large amounts of sequenced data for each patient,” says Xenarios. “If that person comes back on a week-to-week or month-to-month basis, all the data from previous tests needs to be made quickly and accurately available to researchers in a short amount of time. To scale our bioinformatics efforts to support tens of thousands of patients, we need to look for cost-effective ways to preserve genomic data for 20, 30, or 40 years of time—effectively creating a view of a patient from before birth to death.”

High-Performance Storage at Petascale

Vital-IT today supports its research infrastructure with StorNext scale-out storage from Quantum. Researchers get high-speed sequencing and analysis through four separate StorNext systems—nearly 1PB of primary storage and 4PB of economic tape archives. StorNext supports high-performance processing using IP over Infiniband, keeps active data on primary storage for analysis, and automatically moves files to an AEL tape archive as they age. Over 600 users access data at one of the data centers or remotely through a CIFS interface.

Self-Service Access Keeps Genomics Data Ready for Research

“The data that our researchers capture and analyze provides important answers today, but it also has the potential to be useful months or years later when new analytic applications can extract information from the same raw sequences,” Fabbretti says. “StorNext allows us to provide cost-effective long-term archiving for all our projects, regardless of how long a project is planned to last.”

Archived files still appear where the researchers expect them to be in the file system, so they can be easily accessed directly, without IT support.

“If you provide researchers with the right set of tools, they push the envelope,” says Xenarios. “StorNext tiered storage helps us take data in fast, quickly move it to archive, and keep it ready so bioinformaticians can continue their work.”

Automated Protection for Some of the Most Valuable Data Sets on Earth

“StorNext not only helps us make sure we capture data fast—it also makes archiving an automated, cost-effective process to help us fulfill our role as a data steward,” says Fabbretti. “We always make two copies of the files on tape, keeping one available in the archive and the other vaulted to provide an additional layer of protection against any kind of hardware failure or damage to a site.”

“We are dealing with some of the most valuable data sets on earth,” Fabbretti explains. “StorNext gives us a multi-petabyte archive capability, long-term data protection, and the ability to easily roll back file versions—it’s a critically important part of that strategy.”

Scalability Keeps SIB Ready for What Comes Next

“StorNext has supported our growth for over six years. We know we can easily add more disk and capacity when we need it. In fact, we’ve gone beyond genomics to store and protect general medical research data sets. It is important to us that StorNext can easily include additional tiers like cloud or object storage in our storage workflow when it is time to expand.”

Key Benefits

  • Provides high-performance ingest to accelerate genomics workflows
  • Scales performance and capacity easily to keep up with 30TB/week of data growth
  • Balances performance and cost with primary and archive storage tiers that keep research data ready for re-use
  • Automatically protects valuable genomics data with multiple archive copies
  • Supports next-gen object storage and cloud storage tiers from Quantum, making it easy to scale

About the SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics and the Vital-It Group

Including some 60 bioinformatics research and service groups and some 700 scientists from the major Swiss schools of higher education and research institutes, the SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics is an academic, non-profit foundation established in 1998. SIB coordinates research and education in bioinformatics throughout Switzerland and provides bioinformatics services to the national and international life sciences community. SIB’s Vital-IT Group provides computational resources, storage infrastructure, development support, and bioinformatics expertise to help SIB’s scientific community conduct research, and it supports clinical practices for associated medical facilities.