美国斯克利普斯研究所
StorNext 为整体科研归档提供了一个单一的透明命名空间。研究人员能够轻松访问数据,无论数据驻留在何处 — 磁盘还是磁带。

Brant Kelley
IT 服务主任,美国斯克利普斯研究所

美国斯克利普斯研究所推动生命科学进步 — 借助昆腾存储

斯克利普斯研究所科研人员依靠对推动生物科学知识进步的项目的强大存储。为了支持新的研究,IT 部门需要可扩展的高速存储,以保护、归档和支持对不断增长的科研数据的访问。

需要快速、可扩展的 HSM 以及新的备份解决方案

该研究所的 IT 部门需要替换以往用于存储和归档科研数据的分层存储管理 (HSM) 环境。斯克利普斯 IT 服务主任 Brant Kelley 表示:“我们以往的 HSM 解决方案强大而稳定,但速度非常慢。我们需要能够提供用户所需性能的新的现代化存储平台。”

新的解决方案还要能够应对大量数据。Kelley 指出:“我们需要能支持超过 1PB 数据并且可在单一透明的命名空间呈现数据的存储平台,以支持共享和轻松访问。”

该研究所的 IT 部门还需要更新其 Veritas NetBackup 解决方案,该解决方案可备份研究所日常运营以及台式机和一些实验室服务器所使用的数据。“我们需要支持大量备份数据的强大、可靠的解决方案。”Kelley 如是说。

将 StorNext 多层存储用于 PB 级归档

对于其 HSM 环境,该研究所的 IT 部门选择了由 StorNext 数据管理软件支持的昆腾 StorNext 多层解决方案。Kelley 坦言:“StorNext 为整体科研归档提供了一个单一的透明命名空间。研究人员能够轻松访问数据,无论数据驻留在何处 — 磁盘还是磁带。”

使用策略驱动型分层来支持不同的工作流并改进灾难恢复

该研究所的 IT 部门使用 StorNext 策略驱动型分层来为不同的部门定义按部门的数据迁移策略。策略驱动型分层还有助于在主数据中心和地方灾难恢复 (DR) 点之间移动数据,确保即使在发生灾难的情况下数据也始终可用和可访问。“如果发生洪水或火灾,研究人员将面临数据丢失的窘境。”Kelley 如是说。

支持跨主要操作系统的异构访问

面对数以千计的用户,IT 部门必须应对广泛的操作系统所带来的挑战。Kelley 表示:“借助 StorNext,除了 UNIX 和 Linux,我们还能够支持 Windows 和 Mac 系统。研究人员可以最充分地利用我们的资源,无需改变其工作方式。”

提供对数据的快速访问

“研究人员始终需要更快的速度。”Kelley 如是说。该研究所的 IT 部门使用带 10GbE 端口的 StorNext 网关设备并且充分利用 StorNext 分布式 LAN 客户端 (DLC) 来为用户提供对多层环境中的数据的快速访问。

利用昆腾 DXi 重复数据删除设备增强备份

该研究所的 IT 部门选择昆腾 DXi 重复数据删除设备以及昆腾 Scalar i6000 磁带库来帮助更新其 Veritas NetBackup 解决方案。Kelley 表示:“借助昆腾的解决方案,我们能够存储三个月的备份数据 — 一个月存储在 DXi 系统中,另外两个月存储在 Scalar 磁带库。”

获得出色的敏捷性以应对日益增长的数据和不断变化的要求

昆腾存储为斯克利普斯研究所的团队提供了一个灵活的平台,可满足新技术的要求。通过与昆腾合作,该研究所的 IT 部门能够经济高效地更新基础设施、克服障碍,无需应对大量不同的平台和厂商。Kelley 坦言:“我们能够应对数据保护挑战,构建更好的科研数据归档,一切尽在相同的昆腾生态系统。”

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 通过具有单一命名空间的文件系统灵活访问研究数据
  • 提供可在未来轻松扩展的大型且经济高效的归档
  • 利用重复数据删除和适用于备份的磁带,实现短期和长期数据保护
  • 提供跨各类操作系统的异构数据访问
  • 通过基于策略的预分组数据分层,满足不同研究工作流的需要

关于斯克利普斯研究所

斯克利普斯研究所是全球最大的私立非盈利研究机构。该研究所拥有分属加利福尼亚州圣迭戈市和佛洛里达州舟皮特市的两个所区,一直位居基础生物医学研究前沿 — 生物医学是旨在理解最基本生命过程的医学研究的一个分支。

The Scripps Research Institute
StorNext provides a single, transparent namespace for the entire scientific archive. Researchers can access data easily, no matter where that data physically resides—on disk or tape.

Brant Kelley
Director of IT services, Scripps Research

Advancing Biosciences at the Scripps Research Institute—with Quantum Storage

Researchers at The Scripps Research Institute rely on robust storage for projects that advance bioscience knowledge. To support new research, the IT group needed scalable, high-speed storage for protecting, archiving, and enabling access to growing collections of scientific data.

Requiring a Fast, Scalable HSM Plus a New Backup Solution

The institute’s IT group wanted to replace the hierarchical storage management (HSM) environment previously used to store and archive scientific data. “Our previous HSM solution was robust and stable, but it was very slow,” says Brant Kelley, director of IT services, Scripps Research. “We needed a new, modern storage platform that could deliver the performance users demand.”

The new solution also had to accommodate a large volume of data. “We wanted a storage platform that could support more than 1PB of unique data and present that data in a single, transparent namespace to enable sharing and easy access,” says Kelley.

The institute’s IT group also needed to refresh its Veritas NetBackup solution, which backs up data used in the institute’s general operations as well as desktop computers and some lab-based servers. “We needed robust, reliable solutions that could support that large amount of backup data,” says Kelley.

Adopting StorNext Multi-Tier Storage for a Petascale Archive

For its HSM environment, the institute’s IT group selected a Quantum StorNext multi-tier solution, powered by StorNext data management software. “StorNext provides a single, transparent namespace for the entire scientific archive,” says Kelley. “Researchers can access data easily, no matter where that data physically resides—on disk or tape.”

Using Policy-Driven Tiering to Enable Distinct Workflows and Improve Disaster Recovery

The institute’s IT group uses StorNext policy-driven tiering to define per-group data migration policies for different groups. Policy-driven tiering also helps move data between the primary data center and the local disaster recovery (DR) site, ensuring data remains available and accessible even during a disaster. “If there’s a flood or a building fire, researchers will not lose their data,” says Kelley.

Supporting Heterogeneous Access Across Major Operating Systems

With thousands of users, the IT group must accommodate a broad range of operating systems. “With StorNext, we can support Windows and Mac systems in addition to UNIX and Linux,” says Kelley. “Researchers can make the most of our resources without changing how they work.”

Providing Fast Access to Data

“Researchers always want things to run faster,” says Kelley. The institute’s IT group uses StorNext gateway appliances with 10GbE and capitalizes on the StorNext distributed LAN client (DLC) to give users rapid access to data in the multi-tier environment.

Bolstering Backup with Quantum DXi Deduplication Appliances

The institute’s IT group selected Quantum DXi deduplication appliances along with Quantum Scalar i6000 tape libraries to help refresh the organization’s Veritas NetBackup solution. “With Quantum, we can store three full months of backups—one month on the DXi systems and the other two months on the Scalar tape libraries,” says Kelley.

Gaining the Agility for Growing Data and Changing Requirements

Quantum storage gives the Scripps Research team a flexible platform that can accommodate emerging technologies. And by working with Quantum, the institute’s IT group can refresh its infrastructure and overcome obstacles cost-effectively, without dealing with numerous disparate platforms and vendors. “We’ve been able to address our data protection challenges and build a better scientific data archive, all within the same Quantum ecosystem,” says Kelley.

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Provides flexible access to research data through a file system with a single namespace
  • Offers a large yet cost-effective archive that can scale easily in the future
  • Protects data for the short and long term with deduplication and tape for backup
  • Provides heterogeneous access to data, supporting a full range of operating systems
  • Meets the needs of different research workflows via policy-based, per-group data tiering

About Scripps Research Institute

The Scripps Research Institute is one of the largest, private, nonprofit research organizations in the world. With campuses in La Jolla, California, and Jupiter, Florida, the institute is at the forefront of basic biomedical science—a segment of medical research that seeks to comprehend the most fundamental processes of life.