The Salvation Army
QSafe 是我们环境的重要部分,而且易于操作,这种兼具强大功能和易操作性的产品并不多见。此外,它还具有不错的配置、计划和简化性等特性。
Everett Jordan
Salvation Army IT 副总监

Salvation Army 在 Hipskind 的帮助下更好地保护本地和异地迅速增长的数据

多年来,Hipskind 为 Salvation Army 提供了各种磁盘阵列和磁带来满足其数据备份需求。但随着时间的推移,他们的安全和技术需求也进一步增加。

目前,Salvation Army 采用 Hipskind 的综合型备份计划 QSafe 来将数据复制到异地,并在云中保留了应急备份。QSafe 基于昆腾的 DXi 系列产品构建,并采用昆腾的重复数据删除技术将平均磁盘空间需求降低 90% 甚至更多,有助于进一步降低成本和复杂性。

加强虚拟化环境的安全

随着 Salvation Army 的信息技术团队过渡到高度虚拟化的环境以及数据的大幅增长,他们需要确保对数据的保护。在这一方面,有以下几项因素比较关键:避免因本地文件丢失导致的数据丢失、确保即使发生大规模设备或站点损坏也一样能快速恢复、确保流程的简化性。

Salvation Army IT 副总监 Everett Jordan 解释道:“所有 IT 团队都要面临的一项难题就是数据保护”。在这一方面,Salvation Army 找到自己的经销商也是存储专业公司兼托管服务提供商 Hipskind Technology Solutions Group 寻求帮助,希望找到一款既能经济地保证数据安全又可以简化整体工作流的解决方案。

在本地和异地都提供值得信赖的支持

Hipskind 实施的解决方案利用了昆腾的重复数据删除技术以及一项创新型云服务 QSafe。基本配置是这样的:在 Salvation Army 的数据中心部署一台 昆腾 DXi 设备,在这里对本地备份进行重复数据删除并存储到磁盘。然后,为了提供更深一层的防护,会通过本地 DXi 将经过重复数据删除处理的数据复制到位于 Hipskind 数据中心的另一台 DXi,QSafe 云。这样,日常丢失的文件就可以快速通过本地 DXi 恢复,而大规模的丢失则通过 QSafe 进行恢复。

Hipskind 总经理 Wally Lang 解释道:“在规划云产品时,我们几乎考察了市面上每一款重复数据删除设备。最终选择昆腾是出于多个原因的考虑,最主要的则是看中了其重复数据删除算法的简洁性。它采用的是可变长度模式,这使得重复数据删除功能远强于标准的块级模式。而且,我们可以在客户站点使用更少的空间存储更多的数据,而减少通过有线方式复制的数据。”

Lang 表示:“QSafe 使用的是运营开支模式,因此客户无需进行资本投资。但他们不但能够享受最新技术带来的优势,而且所有维护和服务的费用都会比自己采购和部署低得多。”

兼具安全性和简化性

借助新技术,Salvation Army 得以显著减少处理和管理磁带的时间,并实现了更精简和简化的数据保护工作流,从而把精力放在真正的任务上:关怀他人。此外,适用于空闲数据和传输中数据的基于硬件的军用级 AES 256 位加密可以在保证性能不受影响的前提下提供强大的安全性。

Hipskind TSG Jerry Scola 解释说:“我们希望为 Salvation Army 解决后顾之忧,以便他们在遇到灾难时,仍然可以帮助那些需要他们的人们,并顺利完成使命。”

Jordan 表示:“QSafe 是我们环境的重要部分,而且易于操作,这种兼具强大功能和易操作性的产品并不多见。此外,它还具有不错的配置、计划和简化性等特性。”

使用产品

主要优势

  • 内部部署的重复数据删除可以减少所需的磁盘存储,提供快速的本地文件恢复
  • 复制功能通过安全的异地存储提供自动化的每日文件副本,用于灾难恢复保护
  • 基于云的保护模式可以降低资本开支,支持客户随着数据增长轻松、经济地扩展容量
  • 额外的加密功能为关键数据提供增强的安全保护

关于 the Salvation Army

Salvation Army 是一个成立于 1865 年的基督教教派,总部位于伦敦,130 多年来一直在美国公平地推行慈善活动和社会服务。每年近 3000 万美国人通过一系列社会服务接受 Salvation Army 的帮助:为饥饿的人们发放食物,为灾难受害者们提供慰藉,为老弱病残提供援助,为无家可归者提供衣物和住所,为穷困儿童提供教育机会。Salvation Army 每花费一美元就有 82 美分用于支持全国范围内 5000 个社区的这类服务。

关于 Hipskind

总部设在伊利诺伊州韦斯特切斯特的 Hipskind Technology Solutions Group 是一家领先的区域性 IT 解决方案提供商,致力于通过独特的咨询、技术和专业服务组合,帮助企业充分提高 IT 投资回报。Hipskind 的 QSafe 云服务基于 昆腾 DXi 重复数据删除设备和复制设备构建,支持客户将数据备份和复制到安全的集中式数据中心环境,确保数据在发生灾难或严重事件时可用。Hipskind 的 QSafe 服务提供了基于订购的经济型数据保护和业务连续性计划,无需服务提供商进行大型的前期资本支出。

The Salvation Army
QSafe is a critical part of our environment, and it’s not only critical but it’s easy to work with and you don’t often see those two things go hand in hand. The configuration, schedules, and simplicity are just fantastic.
Everett Jordan
Salvation Army Assistant IT Director

The Salvation Army Gets a Helping Hand from Hipskind and Quantum to Protect its Rapidly Growing Data, Onsite and Offsite

For years, Hipskind provided The Salvation Army with disk arrays and tape for their data backup needs. However, as time has changed, their security and technology needs have grown.

Now The Salvation Army uses Hipskind's QSafe, a comprehensive backup program that allows them to replicate data offsite and have an emergency backup in the cloud. It is built with Quantum's line of DXi®-Series products and utilizes Quantum's data deduplication technology to reduce average disk-space requirements by 90 percent or more, helping to further reduce costs and complexity.

Increasing Virtualized Environment

As The Salvation Army’s Information Technology team transitioned to a highly virtualized server environment and watched their data grow, they needed help making sure that they could protect their data. Several factors were critical to them: protecting data from local file losses, ensuring fast recovery even in the case of large-scale equipment or site damage, and keeping the process simple.

“One of the challenges that face all IT shops is how to protect their data,” explains Everett Jordan, The Salvation Army’s Assistant IT Director. In The Salvation Army’s case, they went to reseller, storage specialist, and managed services provider Hipskind Technology Solutions Group to find a solution that would keep their data safe economically and at the same time simplify their overall workflow.

Trust Onsite and Offsite

The solution that Hipskind implemented leveraged Quantum’s deduplication technology, and an innovative cloud service, QSafe. The basic configuration puts a Quantum DXi appliance at The Salvation Army’s data center where local backups are deduplicated and stored on disk. Then, to provide a second layer of protection, the local DXi replicates deduplicated data offsite to another DXi in Hipskind’s data center, the QSafe cloud. Day-to-day lost files are recovered quickly from the local DXi; larger-scale losses are restored from QSafe.

When Hipskind planned its cloud offering, “we went out and actually looked at every deduplication appliance on the market,” explains Wally Lang, Hipskind’s General Manager. “We chose Quantum for several reasons, but the primary one is the elegance of their deduplication algorithm. It’s variable-length, which makes the deduplication capabilities much greater than standard block-level. That allows us to store more data in a smaller space at the customer site and we're replicating less data over the wire.”

“QSafe uses an OPEX model, so there’s no capital investment on the customer’s part,” Lang says. “But they get the benefit of absolutely the latest technology plus all the maintenance and service at a cost lower than they could procure and deploy for themselves.”

Security and Simplicity Go Hand in Hand

The new technology allows The Salvation Army to dramatically reduce administration time handling and managing tapes, creating a simpler, streamlined data protection workflow allowing them to focus on their real mission: caring for others. Plus, military-grade, hardware-based AES 256-bit encryption at-rest and in-flight provides The Salvation Army security without sacrificing performance.

“We want to be sure that we are taking care of The Salvation Army so that if a disaster should strike them, that they can still help those in need and accomplish their mission,” explains Jerry Scola, Hipskind TSG.

“QSafe is a critical part of our environment,” continues Jordan, “and it’s not only critical but it’s easy to work with and you don’t often see those two things go hand in hand. The configuration, schedules, and simplicity are just fantastic,” says Jordan.

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • On premise deduplication reduces disk storage needed, provides fast, local files restores
  • Replication provides automated daily copies of files in secure, off-site storage for DR protection
  • Cloud-based protection model reduces capital costs and allows customers to scale capacity easily and economically as their data grows
  • Additional encryption provides enhanced security for critical data

About the Salvation Army

The Salvation Army, an evangelical part of the universal Christian church established in London in 1865, has been supporting those in need in His name without discrimination for more than 130 years in the United States. Nearly 30 million Americans receive assistance from The Salvation Army each year through a range of social services: food for the hungry, relief for disaster victims, assistance for the disabled, outreach to the elderly and ill, clothing and shelter for the homeless, and opportunities for underprivileged children. Eighty-two cents of every dollar The Salvation Army spends is used to support those services in 5,000 communities nationwide. For more information, visit

About Hipskind

Westchester, Illinois-based Hipskind Technology Solutions Group is a leading regional IT solutions provider which helps companies maximize return on their IT investment by offering a unique combination of consulting, technology and professional services. Hipskind’s QSafe cloud service, powered by Quantum DXi deduplication and replication appliances, allows its customers to backup and replicate their data to a secure, centralized data center environment, insuring the availability of their data in the event of a disaster or catastrophic event. Hipskind's QSafe service provides an economical, subscription based data protection and business continuity program that eliminates the need for service providers to invest in large, up-front capital expenditures.