复兴计算研究所 (RENCI)
StorNext 提供单一、多层平台,可简化管理并帮助确保研究人员可即刻获得所需的资源。

Erik Scott
RENCI 高级研究软件开发人员

RENCI 为基因组测序和海洋科研建模选择昆腾存储解决方案

复兴计算研究所 (RENCI) 支持生命科学、地球 和数据科学领域的尖端研究。RENCI 需要新的存储解决方案来支持其高性能计算 (HPC) 集群并且将大量宝贵的科研数据归档以供未来使用。

归档大量基因组和海洋科研建模数据

RENCI 位于查珀尔希尔 (Chapel Hill) 的北卡罗来纳大学 (UNC),它为突破性研究提供支持。来自 UNC、北卡罗莱纳州立大学、杜克大学以及其他一些大学的科学家致力于研究疾病的遗传原因,创建详细的风暴潮模型,促进政府部门和各个行业使用大数据。

为研究项目提供充足的存储至关重要。RENCI 的高级信息科学家 Chris Bizon 表示:“基因组测序能够生成超过 100GB/人的数据。除了保存最终产品,我们还要存储所生成的临时数据 — 如果出现错误,研究人员能够查找数据,而不必重新开始。”

RENCI 的 IT 部门还必须确保科学数据可长期供研究使用。Bizon 表示:“基因组数据的采集成本不菲且非常耗时。我们要确保有效保留数据,这样,研究人员就能在未来进行新的分析。”

借助 StorNext,为 HPC 创建多层环境

几年前,RENCI 的 IT 部门实施了一个由 StorNext 数据管理软件支持的多层存储环境,以简化工作流和清除科研项目面临的障碍。目前,StorNext 多层环境包括 StorNext 元数据设备StorNext 网关设备以及昆腾 Scalar i6000 磁带库和来自其他厂商的磁带存储。

RENCI 的 IT 经理 Marcin Sliwowski 指出:“StorNext 提供了单一多层平台,可帮助确保研究人员即刻获得所需的资源。

磁带库提供了一种经济高效的方法来归档大量科学数据。不仅无需硬件成本,还降低了电能、冷却和设施费用。”

提供对研究数据的轻松访问以支持科研协作

StorNext 数据管理软件为整个多层环境提供了单一、透明的命名空间,使研究人员能够轻松访问所需数据。“借助 StorNext,我们能够提供对所有研究数据的访问,使科学家无需将数据移至异地即可对信息进行分析。”Bizon 如是说。

可扩展以应对研究数据的持续增长

RENCI 的 StorNext 磁带归档目前提供近 3PB 的容量,使研究人员有足够的空间来长期保留基因数据和地球科学数据。RENCI 高级研究软件开发人员 Erik Scott 表示:“StorNext 归档能够扩展至非常大的规模,研究人员不必担心要保留多少数据。”

借助基于 StorNext 的专用暂存磁盘提高 HPC 速度

几年前,RENCI IT 部门扩大了 StorNext 的使用,以支持面向其新的 HPC 集群的暂存磁盘环境。研究人员注意到专门的暂存磁盘空间的性能提升。Scott 坦言:“以往的暂存解决方案当多用户试图同时使用数据时,速度缓慢 — 它是笔记本电脑级的性能。借助 StorNext,这已不再是个问题。多用户可以协作使用数据且不会导致性能问题。”

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 跨多层存储系统管理数百 TB 的数据
  • 提供大规模可扩展磁带归档,实现重要数据的长期保留
  • 通过单一存储文件系统提供简单、可靠的数据访问
  • 利用暂存磁盘空间,支持快速多用户 HPC 数据访问

关于 RENCI

复兴计算研究所 (RENCI) 开发和部署先进的技术以支持研究发现和实践创新。RENCI 与研究机构、政府部门和行业合作来解决影响北卡罗来纳州、美国乃至全世界的问题。

Renaissance Computing Institute (RENCI)
StorNext provides a single, multi-tier platform that simplifies administration and helps ensure researchers have the resources they need right away.

Erik Scott
Senior research software developer, RENCI


The Renaissance Computing Institute (RENCI) supports cutting-edge research in life, earth, and data sciences. RENCI needed a new storage solution to enable its high performance computing (HPC) cluster and archive large amounts of precious scientific data for years to come.

Archiving Large Volumes of Genomic and Coastal Modeling Data

Based at the University of North Carolina (UNC) at Chapel Hill, RENCI supports groundbreaking research. Scientists from UNC, North Carolina State University, Duke University, and other universities investigate the genetic causes of disease, create detailed storm surge models, facilitate the use of big data for government and industry, and more.

Providing sufficient storage for research projects is critical. “Genome sequencing can produce 100GB or more of data per person,” says Chris Bizon, senior informatics scientist at RENCI. “In addition to keeping the final products, we store temporary data as it’s generated—if something goes wrong, researchers can look at data without having to start at the beginning.”

The IT group at RENCI must also keep scientific data available for research over the long term. “Genomic data is expensive and time-consuming to collect,” says Bizon. “We want to make sure we preserve data so researchers can conduct new analyses in the future.”

Creating a Multi-Tier Environment for HPC with StorNext

Several years ago, the IT group at RENCI implemented a multi-tier storage environment powered by StorNext data management software to streamline workflows and remove impediments for scientific projects. Currently, the StorNext multi-tier environment includes StorNext metadata appliances, StorNext gateway appliances, and Quantum Scalar i6000 tape libraries as well as disk storage from other vendors.

“StorNext provides a single, multi-tier platform that simplifies administration and helps ensure researchers have the resources they need right away,” says Marcin Sliwowski, IT manager at RENCI.

The tape libraries provide a cost-effective way to archive large amounts of scientific data. “In addition to avoiding hardware costs, we can reduce power, cooling, and real estate expenses,” says Sliwowski.

Providing Easy Access to Research Data to Enable Scientific Collaboration

StorNext data management software provides a single, transparent namespace for the entire multi-tier environment, making it easy for researchers to access the data they need. “With StorNext, we can provide access to all research data, so scientists can analyze information without moving data off-site,” says Bizon.

Scaling to Accommodate Continuous Growth in Research Data

The StorNext tape archive at RENCI currently offers nearly 3PB of capacity, giving researchers plenty of room to preserve genomics data and earth science data for years to come. “The StorNext archive can scale to a very large size, so researchers don’t have to worry about how much data they’re saving,” says Erik Scott, senior research software developer at RENCI.

Improving HPC Speed with Dedicated Scratch Disk Built on StorNext

A few years ago, the RENCI IT group expanded its use of StorNext to support a new scratch disk environment for its HPC cluster. Researchers have noticed performance improvements from the dedicated scratch space. “The previous scratch storage solution slowed when multiple users tried to stream data at once—it was laptop-class performance,” says Scott. “With StorNext, that’s not a problem anymore. Multiple users can collaborate on data without performance issues.”

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Manages hundreds of terabytes of data across a multi-tier storage system
  • Provides a large, scalable tape archive for long-term preservation of valuable data
  • Offers simple, reliable access to all data through a single storage file system
  • Enables fast multi-user HPC data access with dedicated scratch disk space


The Renaissance Computing Institute (RENCI) develops and deploys advanced technologies to enable research discoveries and practical innovations. RENCI partners with researchers, government, and industry to engage and solve the problems that affect North Carolina, the United States, and the world.