PMT Security Systems
安全行业正在进行真正的转型 — 从小型低分辨率设备向集成了强大的专业存储技术的附加值更高的解决方案过渡。StorNext 使这种转型对于我们的客户以及我们本身而言,更加简便。

Daniel McMahon
项目经理,PMT

安全集成商为大型购物中心找到高性能、高密度视频升级解决方案

PMT Security Systems 面临着为一家大型购物中心解决难题的挑战:如何找到与其预算和数据中心相适应的一流的视频监控与分析系统。旧的系统利用 300 个低分辨率摄像头监控主要的公共区域并且只能将数据保存两周时间,但客户需要完全不同的更高级别的功能。

PMT Security Systems 的总经理 Darren Taylor 解释道:“他们需要覆盖更多的区域并且有更高分辨率的图像以更加具体和可靠地识别活动和人员。他们需要部署更新的技术,具备将安全图像转变成为其中心和租户制定更好业务决策的能力。”

拓展能力带来的挑战

初始阶段新系统需要约 600 个摄像头、更高的分辨率、90 天数据保留以及识别、跟踪和分析软件。一切都必须与客户的预算和数据中心相适应。

PMT 项目经理 Daniel McMahon 指出:“更高的分辨率、更多的摄像头以及更长的数据保留对于为分析软件提供数据以获得更多一层的业务智能起着至关重要的作用,包括一般的人口统计学信息 — 年龄和性别 — 以及哪些展示会吸引他们,他们会驻留多久。”

“它是一款具有强大潜能的工具,可帮助零售商更好地服务其客户,但它需要许多数据才能发挥作用。这意味着要从相对简单的视频设备升级至成熟的企业级网络和存储系统。”

PMT 运营经理 Jack Caponnetto 补充道:“我们几乎考察了存储和监控市场中每一个厂商的解决方案。最终找到了将来自若干不同厂商的技术相结合、能够灵活解决所有问题并且无缝协作的解决方案。”

Axis、Milestone 和昆腾的解决方案能够满足需求。

PMT 推荐采用Axis Communications 的摄像头、Milestone Systems (英语) 的视频管理软件 (VMS) 以及 RetailNext 的业务分析软件。不过,还需要增加存储 — 起始存储容量为 600TB — 高流媒体性能成为一大问题。利用通用 IT 工具解决这一问题成本不菲并且会延长项目的进度,导致新功能部署的延迟。

McMahon 表示:“我们发现,在存储方面最佳的解决方案是昆腾的 StorNext 软件和 QXS-5600 磁盘。StorNext M440 设备可轻松安装和维护。其 StorNext 5 软件包括一个专为视频应用设计的高性能文件系统,它可以通过许多并行流写入数据,以实现性能最大化。”QXS 磁盘可提供非常高的流媒体性能和行业领先的密度。

Caponnetto 指出:“借助 StorNext 解决方案,我们能够设计一个将 PB 级容量整合到仅 8 个机架设备的系统。它既为我们节省了成本又简化了安装,使我们能够更快地满足客户的需求。”

在新的系统中,借助 Milestone VMS 的控制,来自 600 个 Axis IP 摄像头的数据通过 StorNext 被传至 QXS 存储。数据被写入 RetailNext 服务器以进行分析,同时写入便携存储以供保留或导出。

Taylor 坦言:“我们实施了系统,它能够正常高效运转并且从未出现过问题。”

协作带了了性能、可靠性和价值

与各个单一解决方案同样重要的是,它们能够在一个开放的架构中轻松协作,随着更多数据的创建,可以轻松添加更多的存储,包括磁带归档。

McMahon 解释道:“安全行业正在进行真正的转型 — 从小型低分辨率设备向集成了强大的专业存储技术的附加值更高的解决方案过渡。StorNext 使这种转型对于我们的客户以及我们本身而言,更加简便。”

供应商之间的协作是成功的关键。McMahon 表示:“在整个流程中,我们的所有合作伙伴密切协作。一旦系统运转后,几乎无需任何管理 — 对零售环境而言,这一点令人难以置信的重要,因为此类环境通常只有有限的 IT 资源。

我们对这一解决方案非常满意,并且已建议更多客户采用。我们计划使其成为我们推荐的标准解决方案。”

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 开放系统解决方案在系统的整个生命周期最大限度地将灵活性与价值相结合
  • 主要合作伙伴之间的协作型设计和安装方法提供了涵盖广泛环境的简便部署。
  • 将高流媒体性能与高密度视频相结合可支持使用现有数据中心进行更高分辨率的系统升级
  • 经实践验证的解决方案之间的互操作性可确保轻松安装和长期无忧操作

关于 PMT SECURITY SYSTEMS

PMT 是一家澳大利亚人全资拥有的公司,提供全面的定制和开发安全解决方案。该公司跨广泛的商用应用(包括零售、商业、政府、医院、教育、工业和小型企业设施)提供、安装及维护一流的安全和数据解决方案。它提供针对各类集成电子安全系统全面的设计、安装和调试。

PMT Security Systems
The security industry is undergoing a real transition—moving from small, lower-res appliances to much higher value-added solutions that integrate powerful specialized storage technology. StorNext helped make that transition easy for our customers—and for us.

Daniel McMahon
Project Manager, PMT

Security Integrator Finds High-Performance, High-Density Video Upgrade Solution for Eastland Shopping Center

PMT Security Systems was faced with a difficult problem for a large shopping center: how to find a state-of-the-art video monitoring and analytics system that would fit their budget and their data center. The old system monitored major public areas with 300 low-resolution cameras and kept the data for two weeks, but the customer wanted an entirely different level of functionality.

“They wanted to cover more areas and have much higher-resolution images to make identification of activities and individuals much more specific and reliable,” explains Darren Taylor, managing director at PMT Security Systems. “And they wanted to roll out newer technology with the capability of turning security images into a tool for making better business decisions for Eastland and its tenants.”

Expanded Capabilities Create Crisis

The new system needed about 600 cameras to start, higher resolution, 90-day retention, and recognition, tracking and analysis software. Everything had to fit into the customer’s budget and data center.

“The extra resolution, additional cameras, and longer retention were essential to giving the analytics software the data to provide an additional layer of business intelligence,” explains Daniel McMahon, project manager at PMT, including general demographic information for customers--age and gender—as well as what displays attract them and how long they stop.

“It’s a potentially powerful tool for helping retailers do a better job of serving their customers, but it takes a lot of data to make it work. It meant upgrading from relatively simple video appliances to a full-blown enterprise-scale network and storage system.”

“We looked at solutions from literally everybody in the storage and surveillance market,” adds Jack Caponnetto, operations manager at PMT. “And we eventually found a solution set combining technology from several different vendors that solved all the problems neatly and worked together seamlessly.”

Axis, Milestone, Quantum Solution Provides the Answer

PMT came to Anixter, the leading global provider of security products, seeking a solution that met the performance and site requirements of Eastland Shopping Center: a high-resolution, scalable solution that would meet the growth required as Eastland completed phase 1 of redevelopment and continually added cameras through phase 2 and 3 in the coming years. This solution was the combination of Axis Communications cameras, Milestone VMS, and Quantum storage.

“The very best solution that we found for the storage side of our solutions was Quantum’s StorNext software and QXS-5600 disk,” says McMahon. “The StorNext M440 appliance is easy to install and maintain. And its StorNext 5 software includes a high-performance file system specifically designed for video applications, so it writes data over many parallel streams for maximum performance. The QXS disk provides very high-streaming performance and industry-leading density.”

“With the StorNext solution, we were able to design a system that packed a full petabyte of capacity into only eight rack units. It gave us a combination of cost savings and simplified installation that let us pull the schedule in and give our customer more of what they wanted much faster,” says Caponnetto.

In the new system, data is streamed from 600 Axis IP cameras to the QXS storage through StorNext under the control of Milestone VMS. Data is written to the RetailNext server for analysis and to portable storage for retention or export.

“We have implemented the system. It is up and running, and it has been flawless,” says Taylor.

Collaboration Delivers Performance, Reliability, and Value

Just as important as the individual pieces is the fact that they work together easily in an open architecture, and additional storage can be added easily, including a tape archive, as more data is created.

McMahon explains, “the security industry is undergoing a real transition—moving from small, lower-res appliances to much higher value-added solutions that integrate powerful specialized storage technology. StorNext helped make that transition easy for our customers—and for us.”

Collaboration between suppliers was a key to success, McMahon explains “We had cooperation from all the partners during the whole process. Once the system was up and running, it took almost no admin time at all—that is incredibly important for retail settings, which typically have limited IT resources.

“We have been so happy with this solution that we have already proposed it to several more customers. We plan to make it the standard solution that we recommend.”

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Open-systems solution provides maximum combination of flexibility and value for the life of the system
  • Collaborative design and installation approach between key partners provides easy deployment in a wide range of settings
  • Combination of high-streaming performance and high-density video supports new higher resolution system upgrades using existing data centers
  • Proven interoperability between solutions ensures easy installation and long-term, trouble-free operation

About PMT SECURITY SYSTEMS

PMT is a wholly Australian-owned company that provides a complete spectrum of customized and developed security solutions. The company supplies, installs, and maintains state-of-the-art security and data solutions across a wide range of commercial applications, including retail, commercial, government, hospital, educational, industrial, and small business sites. It offers a complete range of design, installation, and commissioning for all of the elements for integrated electronic security systems.