Platinum Platypus
它帮助我的公司提升了速度,节省了时间和金钱 — 我真的难以想象如果没有 StorNext,去年我们怎么可能实现增长。

Pete Sussi
Platinum Platypus 所有者和创始人

StorNext Pro Studio 帮助视频和动态影像公司应对数据增长

公司所有者和创始人 Pete Sussi 表示:“Platinum Platypus 的独特之处在于在一个屋檐下有许多不同的项目。动态图片、三维动画、二维动画、拍摄、编辑、着色 — 真的五花八门。”

大部分的早期项目都是以标准分辨率拍摄的,因此,文件相对较小,创意团队使用便携式硬盘或 DropBox。不过,成功意味着他们需要更快、可具可扩展性的方法。

耗尽空间和时间

“同时,我们所要做的是吸引潜在客户 — 我们发现自己经常遇到客户提出一些问题,例如,‘你们能为我们立即制作这些电影场景吗?’、‘我收到了《财富》500 强企业从三大洲发来的视频,你们能处理吗?’我们必须说‘能’,但是,项目积压如此严重、延迟时间如此之长,我们需要做一些不同的事情以便能够与业务增长保持同步。”

昆腾帮助我们寻找解决之道

Platinum Platypus 向昆腾寻求帮助。

Sussi 表示:“昆腾让我喜欢的一点是他们会花时间与我进行沟通交流。他们对我们的业务进行了考察,了解了我们的需求所在,我们使用什么材料记录素材,素材规模如何以及由多少人使用这些内容。他们真的花时间帮我们走上正轨。”

STORNEXT PRO STUDIO 提供了全面的解决方案

“在与昆腾沟通后,我意识到,我们需要一个不仅现在可用而且具备可扩展性的系统,因此,我们选择围绕 StorNext Pro Studio 构建系统”Sussi 如是说。

StorNext Pro Studio 是一个完整的基于设备的工作流解决方案,专为有性能和增长需求的小型媒体公司而设计。Platinum Platypus Pro Studio 解决方案包括一个双冗余 StorNext M441D 元数据控制器和 96TB 高速 QX-1200 RAID 存储。公司添加了 Brocade 光纤通道架构和昆腾 Scalar LTO 磁带库。

速度增强和直接文件共享改善了工作流

Sussi 表示:“部署了 StorNext 解决方案后,它真的带给了我们惊喜。我们有最大、最占空间的文件 — 5K, RE 原始素材。我们把它放到 StorNext,只需复制即可。我发誓它比我以往使用的 Thunderbolt 硬盘更快。我们有十个人同时访问它,打开视频并播放,播放起来真的极其流畅。”

快速共享访问极大地改进了工作流,众多编辑人员现在可以直接通过 SAN 对相同文件进行操作。

“让十个人参与一个他们能够操作相同资产的项目真是太奇妙了。每件事 — 从收录到实际操作文件都得到了极大改进。我能让更多的人参与,很显然,随着公司的发展,这正是我们所需要的。”

昆腾解决方案还让团队使用 Scalar LTO 磁带库来保护项目并归档旧的内容,使用第三方软件应用程序来管理数据。

快速安装确保生产率提高

昆腾对安装进行管理以确保项目按计划如常进行。相关功能都已预装,只用了两天时间即完成了系统架设、配置和调试。Adobe Creative Suite 的所有应用程序即刻可以工作,所有文件都可用。

Sussi 回忆道:“当他们完成了系统部署后,我们启动了我们的计算机,一切都正常、高效地运转起来。我们的服务没有受到任何影响,真的是快捷、无痛。”

StorNext Pro Studio 已成为 Platinum Platypus 业务发展的关键所在:“它帮助我的公司提升了速度,节省了时间和金钱 — 我真的难以想象如果没有 StorNext,去年我们怎么可能实现增长。”

主要优势

  • 高性能基于 SAN 的系统消除了延迟,使编辑能够快速访问通用文件
  • 系统可扩展性使存储和性能能够随着未来业务需求而增长
  • 让用户共享相同文件简化了工作流,有助于更快完成项目
  • 将磁带库用于备份和归档提供了保护,可更加快捷、简便地为新项目检索旧的作品
  • 来自昆腾的咨询方法可帮助用户找到能够满足其现在和未来业务需求的正确解决方案
  • 快速、无缝、无中断安装意味着创意团队在过渡到新的解决方案的过程中能够始终保持高效

关于 Platinum Platypus

拥有超过 25 年广告代理经验的Platinum Platypus是全业务动态视频和动画专家,为广泛的客户提供创新性、以解决方案为导向的成果。这家位于纽约长岛的公司的项目包括大型电影和电视广播的视觉特效、NFL 和美国职棒大联盟 (Major League Baseball) 的动态图片、消费类产品的广告动画以及企业视频。Platinum Platypus 的国际客户包括非盈利公共服务集团以及一些全球最大企业。

Platinum Platypus
It’s helped my company with speed and time and money—I really can’t see how the growth that we’ve had in the last year would have happened without StorNext.

Pete Sussi
Owner and Founder, Platinum Platypus

Growth at Video and Motion Graphics Company Enabled by Switch to StorNext Pro Studio

“What’s unique about Platinum Platypus is that we have a lot of different disciplines under one roof. Motion graphics, 3D animation, 2D animation, shooting, editing, coloring—it really runs the gamut,” explains Pete Sussi, the company’s owner and founder.

Most of the early projects were short and at standard resolution, so files were comparatively small, and the creative team used portable drives or DropBox. But success meant they needed a faster, more scalable approach.


“At the same time, the work we were doing was attracting more potential clients—so we found ourselves with clients saying ‘can you do these movie scenes for us right now’ and ‘I’ve got a Fortune 500 client sending video from three continents, can you handle it?’ We wanted to say yes, but the backlog got so big and the delays were so long that we needed to do something different to be able to keep growing the business.”


Platinum Platypus called on Quantum to help.

“What I liked about Quantum is they took the time to have a real conversation with me,” says Sussi. “They went over my business, what my needs were, what kind of materials I was using as far as the footage, what size footage, how fat it was, how many people were tapped into it. They really took the time to put us on the right track.”


“After talking with Quantum, I realized that we needed a system that could work now but also give us scalability,” says Sussi, “so we picked a system built around StorNext Pro Studio.”

StorNext Pro Studio is a complete, appliance-based workflow solution designed for smaller media companies that need performance and growth. The Platinum Platypus Pro Studio solution included a dual-redundant StorNext M441D metadata controller and 96TB of high-speed QX-1200 RAID storage. The company added a Brocade Fibre Channel fabric and a Quantum Scalar LTO library.


“When we got the StorNext solution, it was amazing,” says Sussi. “We got the biggest, fattest file that we had—5K, RE raw footage. We dropped it on the StorNext, just to copy it over. I could swear it was faster than the Thunderbolt drives we used to use. We had ten people accessing it at the same time, opening up this video and playing it, and it was playing smooth as silk.”

Fast, shared access made a huge improvement in workflow since multiple editors could now work directly on the same files over the SAN.

“Having ten people working on a project where they can have the same assets has been fantastic. Everything from ingesting to actually working with files has been drastically improved. I can get more people involved, which is, obviously, something we need as the company grows.”

The Quantum solution also lets the team use the Scalar LTO library to protect projects and archive older work using a 3rd-party software application to manage the data.


Quantum managed the installation to keep ongoing projects on schedule. The Fibre lines were pre-installed, and racking, configuring, and tuning the system took only two days. Immediately, all the applications in the Adobe Creative Suite worked, and all the files were available.

“Once they tapped in the Fibre lines, we tapped it into the computers, and it was up and running,” Sussi recalls. “We had no loss of service, and it was really quick, painless.”

StorNext Pro Studio has become a key to Platinum Platypus’s growth: “It’s helped my company with speed and time and money—I really can’t see how the growth that we’ve had in the last year would have happened without StorNext.”

Key Benefits

  • High-performance SAN-based system eliminates delays and allows editors fast access to a common set of files
  • Scalability of system allows storage and performance to grow with the demands of future business
  • Allowing users to share the same files streamlines workflow and allows projects to be completed faster
  • Using tape library for backup and archive provides protection and makes it fast and easy to retrieve older work for new projects
  • Consultative approach from Quantum helps user find the right solution to meet business needs now and into the future
  • Fast, seamless installation with no downtime means that the creative team stays productive during the transition to the new solution

About Platinum Platypus

With over 25 years of ad agency experience, Platinum Platypus is a full-service motion video and animation specialist that provides innovative, solutions-oriented results for a wide range of clients. The Long Island, New York-based company’s projects include visual effects for major motion pictures and television broadcasts, motion graphics for the NFL and Major League Baseball, and animation for ads for everything from consumer products to corporate videos. Platinum Platypus’s international customer list includes both not-for-profit public service groups and some of the largest corporations on the planet.