开放大学
对于新的联网存储平台,我们有一些较高要求,昆腾 QXS 混合存储系列能够满足所有需求。在同等价格区间没有其他解决方案能够提供堪比基于 2.5 驱动器的系统的出色性能和存储密度。

Paul Alexander
系统和开发经理,
开放大学知识媒体研究所

知识媒体研究所依靠 QXS 混合存储满足存储需求

开放大学知识媒体研究所 (KMI) 开展针对未来互联网技术、多媒体和信息系统、新媒体系统以及语义 Web 和知识服务的研究。其研究在快速拓展,存储需求也相应地不断增长。

KMi 的 IT 服务系统与开发经理 Paul Alexander 解释道:“我们现有 SAN 被证明难以扩展。除了容量限制,我们还面临着拓展 JBOD 的各种配置所带来的许可费。我们需要找到可支持轻松扩展并且能够提供高性能、高存储密度的新平台,数据中心空间始终是优先要务。”

“能够随意组合驱动器类型以创建分层架构同样至关重要。我们知道我们的存储系统要求很高,我们并不真正预期在预算允许范围内满足所有需求。不过,我们联系了我们的长期存储和虚拟化合作伙伴 NCE,它向我们推荐将昆腾混合存储系列作为理想的备选解决方案。”Alexander 如是说。

建立高性能虚拟化基础设施

Paul 对昆腾 QXS-324 — 基于 2.5 英寸驱动器技术的 8GB FC 联网 RAID 阵列进行了评估。

Alexander 回忆道:“我们并未意识到在常规 IT 渠道市场中有使用 2.5 英寸规格驱动器的24 个驱动器的 2U 机架,直到我们遇到了昆腾 QXS 混合存储系列。由于能够自如组合驱动器类型并且使用 3TB SATA 驱动器可扩展至最多 288TB,使其成为可满足我们未来 SAN 需求的理想平台。”

KMi 的数据工作负载的特点在不同项目之间差别显著,QXS 存储能够混合驱动器类型,包括 SAS、SATA 和 SSD,经实践验证,对于团队具有不可估量的价值。

Alexander 指出:“我们经常有 HPC 需求,通过光纤通道 SAN 运行的高性能 2.5 英寸 SAS 驱动器能够提供我们所需的性能。不过,大部分的研究项目都有三年的有效期和五年数据归档要求,因此,我们能够利用低成本大规模 SATA 存储来满足这一目的。”

虚拟化在 KMi 广泛采用,因此,QXS 系列完全 VMware 认证省却了我们的后顾之忧,其小型化 (SFF) 2.5 英寸驱动器在性能和数据存储密度方面可提供显著的优势。

提供灵活性

KMi 还选择扩展使用 3.5 英寸驱动器的各个配置,这将支持最新容量的 SATA 驱动器。

Alexander 坦言:“QXS 混合存储系统的巨大灵活性是一笔重要资产。我们能够将不同类型和尺寸的驱动器相混合,模块化的系统设计意味着我们能够在未来升级我们的 RAID 控制器,但维持对我们所有现有数据的访问,从而最大限度发挥我们投资的价值。我们所考虑的许多竞争对手的产品都要求采用全新的基础设施以实现性能和功能方面的提升。”

满足广泛的工作负荷要求

KMi 项目通常需要 HPC 资源,与 SAN 和非虚拟化计算资源的直接物理连接至关重要。

Alexander 表示:“我们针对 HPC 项目广泛使用 QXS-324 阵列,存储基础设施不再是瓶颈。我们的 SAN 现在是 4GB FC — 当我们向 8GB 迁移时,QXS 混合存储系统将能够充分利用所增加的带宽。在其他方面,我们客户需要访问具有超快流量或开发工具的 Web 服务器。通过虚拟化,我们最大限度提升了硬件利用率。

对我们而言,昆腾 QXS 混合存储在许多方面都是赢家,我们希望随着我们的不断发展,它能始终满足我们的数据需求。”

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 针对存储虚拟化的完全 VMware 认证
  • 通过提高性能和应用程序响应时间,提升生产率
  • 通过小型化的 2.5 英寸 SAS 驱动器实现最大的性能和数据存储密度
  • 简单的基于 Web 的存储管理,无需基于服务器的代理
  • 灵活的存储基础设施,可选择 SAS、SSD 和 SATA 驱动器

关于开放大学

创建于 1969 年,全球已经有 160 多万人通过开放大学实现了学习目标。 OU 是英国最大的大学,拥有超过 260000 名学生,近 7000 名教职员工,1200 多位全职学术人员以及 3500 多名辅助和行政人员。开放大学的学生不仅局限于英国。其大部分的课程面向整个欧洲,一些课程甚至可以直接从 OU 向全世界提供。 许多课程通过 OU 的合作伙伴以及许可机构提供。目前,学生包括:

  • 爱尔兰共和国的 3500 名学生
  • 欧洲其他地区的 9000 名学生
  • 欧盟之外的 7500 名学生
  • OU 验证计划的 46000 名学生




知识媒体研究所 (KMi) 立于 1995 年,旨在满足开放大学 (OU) 在会影响 OU 独特性质的各个方面的前沿性研究和开发需求:认知和学习科学、人工智能和语义技术以及多媒体。OU 选择称这种聚合为知识媒体 (Knowledge Media)。

The Open University
We had some ambitious requirements for a new networked storage platform, and the Quantum QXS hybrid storage series met them all. No other solution within the price band could offer the performance and storage density of their 2.5” drive-based systems.

Paul Alexander
Systems & development manager,
Knowledge Media Institute, The Open University

Knowledge Media Institute Relies on QXS Hybrid Storage for Storage Demands

The Knowledge Media Institute (KMi) at The Open University performs research on future Internet technologies, multimedia and information systems, new media systems, and semantic web and knowledge services. It is expanding rapidly, and so are its storage requirements.

“Our existing SAN was proving difficult to expand,” explains Paul Alexander, systems and development manager for IT services at KMi. "In addition to capacity limits, we were also faced with license fees to expand each configuration with additional JBODs. We needed to find a new platform that would allow easy expansion plus deliver high performance with storage density, as data center space is always at a premium.”

“The ability to freely mix drive types to create a tiered architecture was also important,” explains Alexander. “We knew that our storage system requirements were ambitious, and we really didn’t expect to meet all of our parameters within our budget. However, we contacted our long-standing storage and virtualization partner, NCE, who proposed the Quantum hybrid storage series as the ideal candidate.”

Establishing High-performance Virtualized Infrastructure

Paul evaluated the Quantum QXS-324, an 8GB FC networked RAID array based on 2.5-inch drive technology.

“We didn’t realize that a 24-drive 2U chassis using 2.5-inch small form factor drives was available in the general IT channel market until we met the Quantum QXS hybrid storage series,” recalls Alexander. “The ability to freely mix drive types and expand up to 288TB using 3TB SATA drives really made this an ideal platform to future-proof our SAN.”

The data workload characteristics at KMi vary considerably between projects, so the QXS storage’s ability to mix drive types, including SAS, SATA, and SSD, has proved invaluable to the team.

“Very often, we have HPC requirements where the high-performance 2.5-inch SAS drives running over our Fibre Channel SAN deliver the performance we need. However, most research projects have a three-year active life and a five-year data archive requirement, so we can utilize lower cost bulk SATA storage for this purpose,” explains Alexander.

Virtualization is used extensively at KMi, so the full VMware certification of the QXS series offers peace of mind, and its small form factor (SFF) 2.5-inch drives provide a significant advantage in performance density.

Providing Flexibility

KMi also has the option of expanding each configuration using 3.5-inch drives, which will support the largest capacity SATA drives.

“The massive flexibility of the QXS hybrid storage systems is a great asset. We can mix drive types and sizes and the modular design of the systems means that we can upgrade our RAID controllers in the future, but maintain access to all of our existing data with maximum reuse of our investments. Many competitive offerings we considered called for a completely new infrastructure when moving up the chain in terms of performance or features,” says Alexander.

Accommodating a Vast Range of Workloads

Very often, KMi projects require HPC resources where a direct physical connection to the SAN and nonvirtualized compute resources are essential.

“We use the QXS-324 arrays extensively for our HPC projects, and the storage infrastructure has never been the bottleneck. Our SAN is 4GB FC right now—but when we do move to 8GB, the QXS hybrid storage systems will be ready to take advantage of the increased bandwidth. At the other end of the spectrum, we have clients who just need access to a web server with light traffic or development tools. Here we maximize our hardware utilization through virtualization,” explains Alexander.

“Quantum QXS hybrid storage has been a winner for us on many fronts and will hopefully accommodate our data needs as we continue to expand.”

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Full VMware certification for storage virtualization
  • Improved productivity with increased performance and application response times
  • Maximum performance density with small form factor 2.5-inch SAS drives
  • Simple web-based storage management without the need for server-based agents
  • Flexible storage infrastructure with option to mix SAS, SSD, and SATA drives

About the Open University

Since the launch in 1969, more than 1.6 million people worldwide have achieved their learning goals by studying with The Open University. The OU is the biggest university in the United Kingdom with more than 260,000 students, close to 7,000 tutors, more than 1,200 full-time academic staff, and more than 3,500 support and administrative staff. Open University students are not just in the United Kingdom. Most courses are available throughout Europe, and some are available worldwide directly from the OU. Many more courses are available through the OU’s partnerships and accredited institutions. There are currently about:

  • 3,500 students in the Republic of Ireland
  • 9,000 students elsewhere in Europe
  • 7,500 outside the European Union
  • 46,000 students in OU-validated programs

The Knowledge Media Institute (KMi) was established in 1995 in recognition of the need for The Open University (OU) to be at the forefront of research and development in a convergence of areas that impacted on the OU’s very nature: cognitive and learning sciences, artificial intelligence and semantic technologies, and multimedia. The OU chose to call this convergence Knowledge Media.