美国国立卫生研究院 (National Institutes of Health, NIH)
医疗影像领域的进步帮助全球的患者获得更好的医疗服务。昆腾帮助影像科学团队始终专注于推动研究向前发展 — 而不必关注如何管理存储基础设施。”  

 

- Jeff Plum,
副总裁,MedData

发现针对不断增长的医学影像库的“应对之道”

放射学与影像学部门 (RIS) 是 NIH 临床中心的组成部分,如今,监管 750TB 的影像数据,而数据仍以每月大约 10% 的速度在增长。

帮助 NIH 管理其医学影像归档的承包商 MedData 的副总裁 Jeff Plum 解释道:“影像能够帮助研究人员分析一切 — 从癌症到普通感冒,单一研究生成的影像多达 82000 张。 大部分数据必须无限期地被存储和保护 — 确保永远有效。

“系统要能够跟上数据增长的步伐,需要非常高的性能以使众多研究人员能够同时访问数据,还可以长期保留和保护这些数据。”

整个存储系统和工作流由昆腾 StorNext 横向扩展存储支持。

利用分层存储控制 PB 级归档的成本

StorNext 提供对影像的高速共享访问 — 并且经济高效地将高速磁盘和经济型 LTO 磁带相结合。用户可以通过单一界面访问所有层的数据。

Plum 指出:“工作流将数据传输至高速磁盘,根据研究进行的时长在磁盘中驻留数据。 “每天,在磁带上创建副本,当镜像不再处于活动状态,所有文件被从磁盘删除并移至归档。”

借助高速、可扩展存储加速工作流程

Plum 解释道:“StorNext 支持非常大量的数据。最小的文件系统也可存储 47 TB 的数据和超过 1.1 亿个文件 — 还支持快速添加资源… 只需添加更多阵列即可按需扩容。一夜之间即可让其成为存储池的一部分…

“StorNext 的性能极高。”Plum 补充道“借助 SAN 连接工作站,科学家能够监控直接光纤通道的速度…甚至在多人使用相同数据集的情况下。StorNext 可与所有应用程序无缝协作,甚至是研究团队自行开发的应用程序。”

它还兼容标准 PACS* 工具以及增强的 DICOM** 格式。StorNext 还使 MedData 能够设置 LAN 客户端。这意味着科学家能够通过高速光纤信道在实验室分析数据,然后返回其办公室并将相同的文件下载到自己的笔记本电脑以供演示使用。”

无限期归档研究资产

在 NIH,保护数据以供未来使用是头等要务。

Plum 解释道:“借助 StorNext,MedData 能够在磁带上创建两个新数据的副本,包括一个以 LTFS 线性磁带文件系统开放标准创建的副本。而且,无需依靠任何特定的硬件或应用程序即可读取第二个副本。”

此外,昆腾的 EDLM 功能还可定期检查介质以确保其完整性。

借助出色的服务和支持简化管理

NIH 的 RIS 团队最初担心从其原有 Xsan 和 Active Storage 解决方案向 StorNext 的过渡,不过,昆腾让这一过渡极其简便。

Plum 指出:“昆腾实际上加速并且简化了向 StorNext 的迁移。可以轻松实现过渡,不会对研究、医生和患者产生任何影响。”

RIS 和 MedData 还对昆腾的支持印象深刻。

Plum 表示:“昆腾的服务团队曾两次查看磁带机所发送的数据,并前瞻性地告诉 MedData 可能存在的潜在问题,帮助我们迅速加以解决。”

部署专为医疗影像数据未来而打造的存储

StorNext 平台为 RIS 提供了其所需的可扩展性,以随着成像技术的发展满足未来之需。

Plum 坦言:“昆腾还为我们提供了当 MedData 为其做好准备时通往下一代对象存储技术的路线。对象存储非常适合科学数据的长期保留。”

 

*图片归档与通信系统 ** 医学领域的数字成像与通信

 

主要优势

  • 通过支持 PB 级的数据和数以亿计的文件,跟上影像数据增长的步伐
  • 提供高速共享访问,使数以百计的影像科学家能够通过 SAN 和 LAN 共享数据并进行复杂分析 — 提升效率。
  • 与类似 PACS 和增强的 DICOM 之类的应用程序无缝集成 — 无论是基于 Windows、Mac、Linux 还是 Unix 操作系统运行
  • 提供经济高效的 PB 级归档,支持对重要研究数据的长期保留,确保最佳的数据完整性
  • 兼容昆腾的下一代对象存储和云存储层,可轻松扩展
  • 包含来自昆腾专家的前瞻性支持,确保研究和影像数据始终可用并得到有效保护

关于美国国立卫生研究院和放射学与影像学部门

美国国立卫生研究院隶属于美国卫生和公众服务部 (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, HHS),是国家级医学研究机构 — 在改善健康和挽救生命方面有一系列重大发现。临床中心的放射学与影像学部门提供临床医疗和支持,涵盖人体影像、介入性放射学、神经放射学、核医疗学和临床影像处理服务。

National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Advances in medical imaging are helping patients around the world get better care. Quantum helps imaging sciences teams stay focused on driving research forward—rather than on managing the storage infrastructure.”  


- Jeff Plum
Vice President, MedData


The department of Radiology and Imaging Sciences (RIS), part of the Clinical Center at NIH, oversees 750TB of imaging data today, with growth measuring roughly 10% every month.

“The images help researchers analyze everything from cancer to the common cold, with a single study generating as many as 82,000 images,” explains Jeff Plum, vice president at MedData, the contractor that helps the NIH manage its medical image archive. “And with most of the data, it must be stored and protected indefinitely—effectively forever.”

“The system needs scalability to keep up with growth. It needs very high performance to allow multiple researchers to access the data at the same time. And it needs to be able to preserve and protect data for the long term.”

The entire storage system and workflow is supported by StorNext Scale-out Storage from Quantum.

Controlling Costs Of A Petascale Archive With Tiered Storage

StorNext provides high-speed shared access to the images—as well as a cost-effective combination of high-speed disk and economic LTO tape. Users access data across all tiers from a single interface.

“The workflow brings data onto the high speed disk where it resides for as long as active research is being conducted,” Plum says. “Copies are created on tape every day, and when the images are no longer active, files are removed from disk and exist only in the archive.”

Accelerating Workflows With Storage Built For Speed And Scale

“StorNext supports very large amounts of data,” Plum explains. “The smallest file system has 47TB and over 110 million files—and it allows for resources to be added quickly and transparently. Capacity can be increased whenever needed just by adding more arrays.”

“The performance of StorNext is extremely high,” adds Plum. “The scientists with SAN-attached workstations see direct Fibre Channel speeds…even when many of them are working on the same data sets. StorNext works seamlessly with all of the applications, even the roll-your-own applications that the research teams develop.”

“It is also compatible with the standard PACS* tools, and the enhanced DICOM** format. StorNext has also let MedData establish LAN clients. That means that scientists can analyze data in the lab over high-speed Fibre Channel, then go back to their offices and download the same files to their laptops to use in presentations.”

Archiving Research Assets Indefinitely

At the NIH, protecting data for future use is a high priority.

“With StorNext, MedData is able to create two copies of new data on tape, including one copy in the LTFS Linear Tape File System open standard,” explains Plum. “Going forward, that second copy can be read without having to rely on any specific hardware or application.”

In addition, Quantum’s EDLM feature periodically checks media to ensure its integrity.

Simplifying Administration With Superior Service And Support

The RIS team at NIH was initially concerned about transitioning from their previous Xsan and Active Storage solutions to StorNext, but Quantum made it easy.

“Quantum really stepped up and made the move to StorNext easy,” Plum notes. “It was up and running without impacting research, doctors, or patients.”

RIS and MedData have also been impressed with Quantum support.

“Twice…the Quantum service team looked at data sent from the drives, told MedData that they were headed for problems before we saw any symptoms, and overnighted us replacements,” says Plum.

Deploying Storage Built For The Future Of Medical Imaging Data

The StorNext platform gives RIS the scalability it needs to support imaging technologies as they evolve.

“Quantum also gives us a path to a next-generation object storage technology tier when MedData is ready for it,” says Plum. “Object storage is a great fit for the long-term preservation of scientific data.”


*Picture Archiving and Communication System ** Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine


Key Benefits

  • Keeps up with the growth of imaging data, with support for petabytes of data and hundreds of millions of files
  • Provides high-speed shared access that enables hundreds of imaging scientists to share data and do complex analysis over both SAN and LAN— increasing productivity
  • Integrates seamlessly with applications such as PACS and enhanced DICOM apps, regardless of whether running on Windows, Mac, Linux, or Unix
  • Provides an economic petascale archive to enable long-term preservation of critical research data with best-in-class data integrity
  • Compatible with next-gen object storage and cloud storage tiers from Quantum, making it easy to scale
  • Includes proactive support from experts at Quantum, to keep research and imaging data available and protected

About the National Institutes of Health and the Department of Radiology and Imaging Sciences

The National Institutes of Health, a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives. The Clinical Center's Department of Radiology and Imaging Sciences provides clinical care and research support in the areas of Body Imaging, Interventional Radiology, Neuroradiology, Nuclear Medicine, and Clinical Image Processing Services.