MTI Film
我们部署了昆腾 QXS SSD 存储。它能应对最多 8 个实时 4K 数据流,这意味着在为艺术家提供实时 4k 数据方面,我们的设施可能是全球最高效的设施。
Larry Chernoff
CEO, MTI Film

昆腾 StorNext 5 和扩展在线工作流存储支持知名好莱坞后制机构 100% 的 4K 运营

作为一家提供从样片管理和后期制作编辑到转码与最终内容交付服务的机构,MTI 没有时间应对潜在的错误、性能缓慢或设备故障。

MTI Film CTO John Stevens 解释道:“针对电视剧集的后期制作和样片服务带来了非同寻常的工作流和存储挑战。我们在系统中存储了大量的数据。一个典型的项目每项目每天会生成 6 至 8 TB 的数据 — 我们通常会有超过 6 部连续剧在同步进行。我们所面临的挑战是让制作人员能够立即查看所有内容,并将其存储到后制团队能够按需访问的位置。速度至关重要,对文件的共享访问也同样关键。原始容量也不容忽视。当我们要处理更多的项目时,所有的问题都变得错综复杂,分辨率向全 4K 转化,我们不得不支持不同格式和平台。”

协作工作流平台需要延展在线存储

自从公司在 2009 年启动其数字后制服务以来,MTI Film 已经将昆腾的 StorNext 平台用于其共享工作流。不过,随着现有存储系统达到极限,越来越显而易见的是,考虑到维护超过 PB 级可靠 RAID 数据量的难度,不断添加更多的 RAID 已经不现实。他们真正需要的是能够扩展至许多 PB 且无 RAID 限制同时仍能提供对轻松共享存储的内容快速访问的解决方案。在对比几个替代方案后,MTI 选择部署基于对象存储技术的昆腾 Lattus Extended Online。

对象存储基本知识

Lattus Extended Online 采用经实践验证的对象存储方法,具备比 RAID 更大的优势。它能从100TB 扩展至数百 PB,借助自修复技术和在多个系统及站点分布数据来有效保护数据免受设备故障或站点损失干扰。与 PAID 相比,这种分布方式灵活性更高,能够比磁带或公共云更快地访问内容。可以快速、无缝地扩展 Lattus 容量。

MTI Film 利用 StorNext Storage Manager 将 Lattus 延展在线存储集成到工作流,根据团队设置的策略可自动将内容由在线存储移至对象存储。

更大的容量,更强的增收潜力

Stevens 表示:“利用 Lattus 对象存储对我们的在线存储进行扩展并且使用 StorNext Storage Manager 对其加以管理,对我们而言这是再合理不过的选择。我们获得了更大的存储容量。不过,仍能非常快地访问文件 — 通过我们的标准 StorNext 文件系统界面可以看到性能始终保持在每秒 350MB 至 370MB。最好的一点是,我们能够快速而简便地为特定工作增加容量并直接将成本与项目相关联。这如同让我们有了自己的私有云,另外,访问时间也更快。”

因为 Lattus 是对 MTI 在线存储的扩展,MTI 能够利用所有 StorNext API 和管理技术来为客户开发更多服务,包括让客户直接访问存储的文件。

StorNext 5 — 升级至下一代工作流存储平台

作为项目的一部分,MTI Film 还升级到了使用双冗余 StorNext 元数据设备的下一代 StorNext 5 平台。StorNext 5 能够支持高达 50 亿个文件的容量,将性能提升高达 10 倍,增强了大数据量的系统稳定性。

Stevens 坦言:“升级到 StorNext 5 使我们显著增强了性能,尤其是当我们沿着目录查找数据时。显著,我们可以“看到”贯穿整个数据集的相同速度。我们在周末实施了过渡,当团队在周一早上开始工作时,他们不必更改任何事情 — 对所有应用都是透明的。”

在线存储升级

MTI 团队选择其他昆腾解决方案来增强其他工作流阶段。带基于 SSD 的闪存的 QXS 提供了面向全高清 4K 工作流的高性能。昆腾 NetApp E-Series Storage 还为每日在制品提供最经济高效和最可靠的 RDIA。具备 StorNext Storage Manager 的 StorNext 5 可确保内容流无缝贯穿制作流程的所有阶段。

“昆腾 StorNext 及其分层存储管理方法已经在 M&E 工作流使用多年。我们很骄傲参与了 MTI Film 全套昆腾产品系列(包括 StorNext 5、多层磁盘和 Lattus 对象存储)的设计和集成工作。”Integrated Media Technologies (IMT) 销售副总裁 Jason Kranitz 如是说。

主要优势

  • 非常大规模的扩展在线对象存储提供了可扩展的容量、无缝的运营以及比 RAID 更好的可靠性,以实现可靠的内容存储,支持对高清工作流大量内容的快速访问。
  • 高性能共享协作工作空间环境是所有用户能够以任何分辨率快速访问所有内容,且不会导致系统变慢或耗费时间等待。
  • 在高性能在线磁盘和扩展在线对象存储间自动迁移资产和内容简化了工作流,使制作团队能够在工作流的任何阶段直接访问所有内容 — 无论内容存储在何处。
  • 对容量的即时配置使系统能够针对特定任务快速进行扩展,将存储容量收费与项目相关联。
  • 多平台和多协议支持使客户能够在光纤通道和 IP 网络中灵活使用 Windows、Linux 和 Mac 工作站,从而确保最大的环境灵活性。
  • StorNext 开放系统技术和大规模的合作伙伴生态系统使用户能够选择最佳的软件工具和开发者来轻松集成以满足不断变化的工作流需求。

关于 MTI Film

自 1997 年起,凭借对数字影片恢复和数字样片管理的专注,MTI Film 一直致力于为后期制作行业提供屡获殊荣的软件应用程序。MTI Film 提供市场中最先进、最高效且最用户友好的应用程序 — 包括公司的 CORTEX 软件,这款软件提供了针对完整样片工作流的下一代解决方案,包括针对所有常见媒体格式进行复制、着色、同步和转码的工具。MTI Film 的内部服务团队与其客户保持着密切联系,以提供真实世界的实时开发专业技术优势。公司的客户项目包括“行尸走肉”(The Walking Dead)、“重案组”(Major Crimes)、“罪案终结者”(The Closer)、“妙女神探”(Rizzoli & Isles)以及西镇警魂”(Longmire)等剧集。

关于 IMT

Integrated Media Technologies, Inc. (IMT) 是一家咨询、设计和系统集成公司,在洛杉矶、硅谷和达拉斯设有分支机构,专长于针对私有、混合和公共云工作流解决方案提供业务咨询和 TCO 模型。客户依靠 IMT 提供侧重于媒体技术、存储、资产管理、高性能计算、网络和全天候支持的任务关键型解决方案与服务。

MTI Film
We have deployed Quantum QXS SSD storage. It is capable of sustaining up to eight real-time 4K streams. That means that my facility is probably the most efficient facility in the world in terms of feeding artists real-time 4K.  
Larry Chernoff

Quantum StorNext 5 and Extended Online Workflow Storage Enable 100% 4K Operation at Leading Hollywood Post-Production Facility

As an organization offering services that range from managing dailies and post-production editing to transcoding and final content delivery, MTI has no time for mistakes, slowdowns, or equipment failure.

“Post-production and dailies services for episodic television create unusual workflow and storage challenges,” explains John Stevens, MTI Film CTO. “We bring enormous amounts of data into our system. A typical project generates six to eight terabytes per day per project—and we normally have more than half a dozen series going at once. Our challenge is making all of that content available immediately for producers to view, and storing it in a location that allows the post-production team to access it as needed. Speed is critical. So is shared access to the files. So is raw capacity. And all the problems are becoming compounded as we do more projects, as resolution moves toward full 4K, and as we have to support different formats and platforms.”

Collaborative Workflow Platform Needs to Extend Online Storage

MTI Film has used Quantum’s StorNext platform for its shared workflow since the company launched its digital post-production services in 2009. But as MTI Film began to hit the limits of its existing storage system, it became increasingly apparent that constantly adding more RAID was not practical, especially considering the difficultly of maintaining reliable RAID volumes over a petabyte. What they really needed was storage that could scale into many petabytes without the limitations of RAID, but that still offered fast access to easily shared stored content. After looking at alternatives, MTI chose to deploy Quantum Lattus Extended Online based on object storage technology.

Object Storage Basics

Lattus Extended Online uses a proven object storage approach with major advantages over RAID. It scales from 100TB to hundreds of petabytes, and protects data from equipment failure or site loss using self-healing technology and spreading data across multiple systems and sites. That distribution creates reliability levels much higher than RAID, and makes access to content much faster than tape or public clouds. And, growing Lattus capacity is quick and seamless.

At MTI Film, Lattus extended online storage is integrated into the workflow by StorNext Storage Manager, which automatically moves content from online storage to object storage based on policies that the team sets.

Greater Capacity and Greater Revenue Potential

“Extending our online storage with Lattus object storage and using StorNext Storage Manager to manage it makes perfect sense for us," says Stevens. "We get massive storage capacity that is off our SAN, but that [still] gives us very fast access to the files—we’ve been seeing performance of 350MB to 370MB a second—through our standard StorNext file system interface. Best of all, we can add capacity quickly and easily for a specific job and tie the costs directly to the project. It’s like having our own private cloud, except that the access times are much faster.”

Because Lattus is an extension of MTI’s online storage, MTI can employ all of the StorNext APIs and management techniques to develop additional services for its clients, including giving clients direct access to stored files.

StorNext 5—Upgrade to the Next-Generation Workflow Storage Platform

As part of the project, MTI Film also upgraded to the next-generation StorNext 5 platform using dual, redundant StorNext Metadata Appliances. StorNext 5 can archive up to 5 billion files per volume, increases performance up to 10 times, and enhances stability for large volumes.

“The upgrade to StorNext 5 gave us a substantial performance boost, especially when we moved down the directory tree," says Stevens. "Now, we see the same speed throughout the entire data set. We made the transition over a weekend, and when the team came in Monday morning, they didn’t have to change anything—it was transparent to all the applications.”

Online Storage Upgrade

The MTI team selected other Quantum solutions to enhance other workflow stages. QXS storage with SSD-based flash provides performance for full-resolution 4K workflow. Quantum also supplied NetApp E-Series Storage for the best price-performance and highest reliability RAID for daily work-in-process. StorNext 5 with StorNext Storage Manager ensures that content flows through all stages of the production pipeline seamlessly.

“Quantum StorNext and its tiered approach to storage management have been working in M&E workflows for years,” says Jason Kranitz, VP of Sales, Integrated Media Technologies (IMT). “We are proud to have participated in the design and integration effort for MTI Film’s deployment of the complete Quantum portfolio of offerings, including StorNext 5, multiple tiers of disk, and Lattus Object Storage.”

Key Benefits

  • Very large-scale extended online object storage provides scalable capacity, seamless operation, and better-than-RAID reliability for secure content storage with fast access to massive content for high-resolution workflows.
  • High-performance shared collaborative workspace environment allows all users fast access to all content at any resolution with no slowdowns or waiting time.
  • Automated migration of assets and content between high-performance online disk and extended online object storage streamlines workflow, allowing the production team to access to all content at any stage of the workflow directly—no matter where it is stored.
  • Instant provisioning of capacity allows the system to scale rapidly for specific jobs and tie storage capacity charges to a project.
  • Multiplatform and multiprotocol support provides the flexibility to use Windows, Linux, and Mac workstations on Fibre Channel and IP networks for maximum environmental flexibility.
  • StorNext open systems technology and massive partner ecosystem allows users to choose best-of-breed software toolsets and developers to integrate easily to meet changing workflow needs.

About MTI Film

Since 1997 MTI Film has provided award-winning software applications and services to the post-production industry with a focus on technology for digital film restoration and digital dailies management. MTI Film offers the most advanced, efficient, and user-friendly applications on the market—including the Company’s CORTEX software, which offers next-generation solutions for a complete dailies workflow, including tools to Copy, Color, Sync, and Transcode all popular media formats. MTI Film’s in-house services arm fosters strong ties with its customers to provide the benefits of real-world, real-time development expertise. The company’s long list of client projects includes The Walking Dead, Major Crimes, The Closer, Rizzoli & Isles, and Longmire.

About IMT

Integrated Media Technologies, Inc. (IMT) is a consulting, design, and systems integration company, with offices in Los Angeles, Silicon Valley, and Dallas, that specializes in providing business consulting and TCO models for private, hybrid, and public cloud workflow solutions. Customers rely on IMT to deliver mission-critical solutions and services focused on media technologies, storage, asset management, high-performance computing, networking, and 24/7 support.