马克斯普朗克化学研究所
利用 StorNext 平台,我们能够快速而透明地保留数据,数据在整个数据生命周期对众多研究小组都始终是可访问的。

Thomas Disper
CISO 兼 IT 主管,马克斯普朗克化学研究所,马克斯普朗克协会

马克斯普朗克化学研究所借助 StorNext 提取气候数据,促进科学研究

马克斯普朗克学会 (Max Planck Society) 利用尖端技术支持广泛的科学研究。马克斯普朗克化学研究所需要更好地管理研究数据 — 使研究人员能够集中精力于科研而非科研所需的支持技术。

支持世界领先的研究机构进行新发现。

马克斯普朗克学会下属 83 家研究机构中的研究人员从事多种科研课题的研究,从蛋白质的作用方式、大脑对语言功能的支持方式到臭氧层对气候的影响等。马克斯普朗克研究机构吸引了世界一流的研究人员,专注于最能激发创新研究的领域。

通过马克斯普朗克研究机构进行的许多研究项目需要大规模的数据管理。马克斯普朗克化学研究所的首席信息安全官兼 IT 主管 Thomas Disper 表示:“科研项目会生成大量数据。除了采集原始数据,我们还要处理数据并保存结果 — 且不能影响科研。”

面对数据快速增长和同步访问的需求

研究项目可能迅速达到现有存储环境的容量上限。例如,一个通过测量温室气体、气溶胶颗粒等来研究巴西雨林气候变化的项目每天产生的数据量高达 80GB。IT 部门不仅需要保护和归档快速增长的数据,还要为众多研究小组提供对数据的同步访问。

在 microstaxx 帮助下部署昆腾 StorNext

IT 部门从专门与研究机构合作的德国 IT 服务提供商 microstaxx 处了解到昆腾 StorNext 平台。在经过严格评估后,StorNext 平台被证明是适用于普朗克化学研究所的明智之选。Disper 指出:“基于 StorNext 的新解决方案为我们提供了支持多种并行数据流所需的性能 — 可确保研究不会受到瓶颈制约。”

有效应对激增的数据

StorNext 平台与 Fujitsu 主存储协同工作,使 IT 部门能够快速扩展存储。Disper 坦言:“StorNext 使我们能够快速而简便地提供更多容量。我们无需为研究团队设置数据限制,针对新项目的存储可以在一个下午就搞定。”

支持灵活地访问数据

StorNext 平台提供了一个共享文件系统,支持众多研究团队同步访问数据。Disper 解释道:“利用 StorNext 平台,我们能够快速而透明地保留数据,数据在整个数据生命周期对众多研究小组都始终是可访问的。”通过提供强大的性能和可扩展容量,StorNext 平台有助于让研究小组减少部署和维护其自己存储环境的需求。

为研究提供长期保护

借助多层 StorNext 数据管理平台和昆腾 Scalar i6000 磁带库,部门能够在后台自动和不间断地保护研究数据。

昆腾策略驱动型扩展数据生命周期管理 (EDLM) 功能有助于防止磁带发生数据丢失。Disper 指出:“当磁带被存放在架上时,有可能受损,从而无法读取。EDLM 软件会定期检查数据,如果出现问题,可将数据复制到新的磁带。我们确保研究人员能够长期访问数据。”

消除研究障碍

借助 StorNext 平台,马克斯普朗克化学研究所能够为未来的一切做好准备。“我们现在能够敏捷地应对研究要求的突然变化。能够在需要的时候增加容量或数据吞吐能力。”Disper 如是说。

研究人员能够专注于研究而不必在意为研究提供支持的技术。Disper 坦言:“借助 StorNext 平台,我们消除了研究障碍。与 microstaxx 提供的解决方案设计、项目管理与实施服务相结合,昆腾解决方案成为能够满足我们需求的完美之选。”

主要优势

  • 扩展以支持不断增长的研究数据,消除对研究项目的制约
  • 为并行开展工作的大量研究人员提供对数据的同步访问
  • 无需单独的系统,使研究人员能够专注于科研
  • 保护和归档重要的研究数据以提供不间断的数据访问

关于马克斯普朗克化学研究所

马克斯·普朗克化学研究所 (Max Planck Institute for Chemistry) 于 1912 年作为凯撒化学研究所在柏林创立,1949 年起迁址至美因茨。目前 MPIC 拥有约 300 名员工,分为五个部门和多个小组。它还有个别名是“Otto Hahn 研究所”,以纪念其前主任兼马克斯·普朗克学会 (Max Planck Society) 会长。马克斯·普朗克化学研究所从事地球系统、大气环境的化学变化以及空气、水、土壤和人之间的相互作用的研究。科学家既在实验室进行实验,也会利用飞机、船舶和车辆等进行现场样本和数据采集。实际工作与模拟化学、物理和生物过程(从分子到全球规模)的数据模型相互补充。目的在于发现空气污染是否以及如何影响大气环境、气候和健康。该研究所特别知名的科学家包括诺贝尔奖得主 Richard Willstätter、Otto Hahn 和 Paul Crutzen。

Max Planck Institute for Chemistry
With the StorNext platform, we can keep data readily and transparently accessible to multiple groups throughout the entire data lifecycle.

Thomas Disper
CISO & Head of IT, Max Planck Institute for Chemistry, Max Planck Society


The Max Planck Society harnesses cutting-edge technology to support a wide range of scientific research. The Max Planck Institute for Chemistry needed to better manage research data—keeping researchers focused on science instead of the underlying technology.

Enabling the World’s Leading Researchers to Make New Discoveries

Researchers within the 83 research institutes of the Max Planck Society explore a diverse array of scientific questions, ranging from how proteins function and how the brain supports speech to how the ozone affects the climate. Attracting the world’s leading researchers, the Max Planck Institutes focus on fields that can spur the most innovative research.

Many of the research projects conducted through the Max Planck Institutes require large-scale data management. “Scientific projects can generate tremendous amounts of data,” says Thomas Disper, chief information security officer and head of IT for the Max Planck Institute for Chemistry. “In addition to collecting raw data, we process data and keep the results—without impacting the science.”

Facing Demands of Fast Data Growth and Simultaneous Access

Research projects can quickly push the capacity limits of current storage environments. For example, a project that studies climate change in the Brazilian rainforest by measuring greenhouse gases, aerosol particles, and more, collects up to 80GB of data per day. IT groups need to not only protect and archive that rapidly growing collection of data but also provide simultaneous access for multiple research groups.

Deploying Quantum StorNext with Help from microstaxx

The IT group learned about the Quantum StorNext platform from German IT service provider microstaxx, which specializes in working with research institutions. After an intensive evaluation phase, the StorNext platform proved to be the right choice for the Max Planck Institute for Chemistry. “Our new solution based on StorNext gives us the performance to support multiple parallel streams of data—which keeps research far away from bottlenecks,” says Disper.

Overcoming Skyrocketing Data Growth

The StorNext platform, in concert with Fujitsu primary storage, enables the IT group to rapidly scale storage. “StorNext allows us to provide a lot more capacity quickly and easily,” says Disper. “We don’t need to give research teams data limits, and storage for new projects can be ready in an afternoon.”

Enabling Flexible Access to Data

The StorNext platform provides a shared file system that enables numerous research teams to simultaneously access data. “With the StorNext platform, we can keep data readily and transparently accessible to multiple groups throughout the entire data lifecycle,” explains Disper. By providing robust performance and sizable capacity, the StorNext platform has helped reduce the need for research groups to acquire and maintain their own storage environments.

Protecting Research for the Long Term

With the multi-tier StorNext data management platform and the Quantum Scalar i6000 tape library, the IT group can protect research data automatically and continuously in the background.

Quantum’s policy-driven Extended Data Life Management (EDLM) capabilities help prevent data loss on the tapes. “When tapes are stored on a shelf, they can potentially deteriorate and become impossible to read,” says Disper. “The EDLM software periodically checks the data and copies data to new tapes if something is wrong. We can make sure researchers can continue to access data for years to come.”

Removing Barriers to Research

With the StorNext platform in place, the Max Planck Institute for Chemistry is better prepared for whatever lies ahead. “We now have the agility to handle sudden changes in research requirements,” says Disper. “We can increase capacity or data throughput when needed.”

Researchers can move forward with less concern about the underlying technology. “With the StorNext platform, we have removed barriers to research,” says Disper. “Paired with solution design, project management and implementation services from microstaxx, the Quantum solution is the perfect match for us.”

Key Benefits

  • Scales to support growing research data, removing limitations on research projects
  • Provides simultaneous access to data for numerous researchers working in parallel
  • Eliminates the need for disparate systems and allows researchers to focus on science
  • Protects and archives vital research data to provide continuous data access

About Max Planck Institute for Chemistry

The Max Planck Institute for Chemistry was founded in 1912 as the Kaiser Wilhelm Institute for Chemistry in Berlin and is located in Mainz since 1949. About 300 people are currently employed at the MPIC divided into five divisions and additional groups. It carries the epithet Otto Hahn Institute in honor of its former director and president of the Max Planck Society. The MPI for Chemistry investigates the Earth system and chemical processes in the atmosphere as well as the interactions between air, water, earth and mankind. Scientists conduct experiments in laboratories, and also collect samples and data during field campaigns utilizing aircraft, ships and vehicles. The practical work is complemented with mathematical models that simulate chemical, physical and biological processes from molecular to global scales. The goal is to find out, for example, if and how air pollution affects the atmosphere, climate and health. Particularly well-known scientists of the Institute are the Nobel laureates Richard Willstätter, Otto Hahn and Paul Crutzen.