堪萨斯州立大学
利用我们新的摄像机,我们现在能够将多个 4K 视频流传入 StorNext 并同时进行制作,系统速度不会减缓。  
Matthew Heinrich
KSU Catalyst 媒体中心网络管理员

堪萨斯州立大学教育学院使用 StorNext 升级媒体运营

与本州的其他机构相比,堪萨斯州立大学教育学院培养更多的课堂教师,在使用媒体技术方面,它一直是开拓者。所有学校学生被教授如何使用数字资源以及学员自己的媒体中心 Catalyst 来做一切 — 从刻录 DVD 到创建大型纪录片。


视频是关键所在

Catalyst 的网络管理员 Matthew Heinrich 解释道:“教育学院多年来一直有一位全职录像师。该录像师与高级媒体专业的学生合作创建非常广泛的各类资料。由于这些资料包含指导性的体育内容和面向公众的纪录片,因此,我们优先确保制作工具和技术始终保持最新。”

最初,IT 团队基于 Mac 平台实现了标准化,引入了专业级制作工具并开始创建 4K 格式的内容。“我们意识到,不仅要创建现在可用的内容,而且要能扩展以满足未来需求。当我们为了最新的纪录片项目将一个团队派往坦桑尼亚或厄瓜多尔时,我们要让内容几十年甚至更长时间始终可以重复使用。”

从 Xsan 向新的工作流解决方案转型

Heinrich 指出:“工作流效率对于我们至关重要,因为我们通常有多位编辑同时进行同一项目。Apple Xsan 最初提供了共享的环境,但当 Apple 将其侧重点从 Xsan 移开时,我们决定转向新的可满足未来需求的工作流平台。”

在寻找新的解决方案时,团队的优先级很明确:适用于高分辨制作的高性能共享工作流,尽可能降低成本。致力于长期合作的供应商以及现有工具、流程和资源的可持续性。Heinrich 指出:“我们曾经考虑过几家供应商,但必须对我们现有的整个存储系统进行更换,这会导致成本攀升。”

StorNext 能够满足我们的所有需求

最终,团队决定升级至昆腾 StorNext。Heinrich 解释道:“StorNext 支持最高性能的光纤通道连接以及基于 LAN 的 NAS 存储。它使我们能够保留已安装的现有存储系统,为我们带来显著的成本节省并且完全兼容 Xsan。”StorNext 系统作为涵盖媒体制作公司、电视网络以及电影制作机构的全球标准的优势地位增强了团队对于昆腾长期致力于这一市场的信心。“StorNext 是我们看到的唯一能够满足我们所有需求的解决方案。”Heinrich 如是说。

顺利过渡保留了内容、工具和流程

通过利用昆腾所提供的资料以及与公司的服务人员进行沟通,Heinrich 自行完成了安装。他在周四安装了 StorNext Xcellis 存储设备,系统在周末即实现了上线。Heinrich 指出:“从 Xsan 向 StorNext 过渡令人难以置信地顺利。我们在周一早上即实现了系统正常运转,所有内容均可供编辑人员使用,所有工具和流程几乎没有任何变化。唯一的变化是卷名。”

StorNext 能够处理 Catalyst 团队“交给它”的任何任务。Heinrich 坦言:“利用我们新的摄像机,我们现在能够将多个 4K 视频流传入 StorNext 并同时进行制作,系统速度不会减缓。此外,系统可靠性堪称完美。自从安装后,我们尚未遇到过一次服务电话求助的情况 — 这真是太棒了。”

实现保护

除了提供高性能工作流,StorNext 还支持 Windows 以及 Apple 平台,这使团队能够利用 Commvault 备份其完成的内容和在制项目。Heinrich 表示:“它真正实现了流程自动化并且为我们提供了另外一层的保护。

StorNext 的灵活性也令我们非常满意。我们计划未来增加一个 SSD 层,创建一个单独磁盘归档,并且可以使用云 — 一切均由 StorNext 支持。”

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 通过允许多个工作站针对高分辨率项目展开协作,StorNext 高性能共享工作流可节省时间和加快项目实施。
  • 对 Xsan 的兼容性能够有效保护客户对现有内容、工具和流程的投资。
  • 对多种存储平台的支持使客户能够充分利用
    现有存储资源,从而降低成本。
  • 从 Xsan 无缝过渡至 StorNext 可最大限度提升编辑和制作团队的生产率。
  • 通过提供对商用、自动备份和恢复工具的支持,异构服务器平台
    可支持更好的数据保护。
  • 昆腾长期致力于媒体和娱乐市场,这为客户提供了未来确定性。

关于堪萨斯州立大学教育学院

堪萨斯州立大学教育学院是堪萨斯州领先的教师培养机构,致力于为多样化和不断变化的世界培养具备丰富知识、讲道德、有爱心的决策者。学院的使命是提供典范性的本科和研究生教育;培养、解读和传播有用的研究和学术知识;在专业内部提供指引、协作和服务;促进并倡导多样性。

Kansas State University
With our new cameras, we are now streaming multiple 4K streams into StorNext and doing production work at the same time, and the system doesn’t ever slow down.  
Matthew Heinrich
Network administrator, Catalyst media center, KSU

Kansas State University’s College of Education Uses StorNext to Upgrade Media Operations

Kansas State University’s College of Education prepares more classroom teachers than any other institution in the state, and it has been a trailblazer in using media technology. All of the school’s students are taught how to use digital resources, and the institution’s own media center, the Catalyst, does everything from burning DVDs to creating full-length documentaries.


Video is Key

“The College of Education has had a full-time videographer for years,” explains Matthew Heinrich, the Catalyst’s network administrator. “That person works with advanced media students to create a remarkably wide range of materials, and because they include both instructional support content and public-facing documentaries, we have made it a priority to stay current with production tools and techniques.”

Early on, the IT team standardized on the Mac platform, brought in professional-grade production tools, and began creating content in 4K. “We recognize that we are creating content not just for use today, but for extended future use. When we send a team to Tanzania or Ecuador, as we did for recent documentary projects, we want that content to remain available for reuse for decades and beyond.”

Transitioning from Xsan to New Workflow Solution

“Workflow efficiency is very important to us because we normally have multiple editors working on the same project at once,” says Heinrich. “Apple Xsan provided that shared environment initially, but when Apple changed its emphasis away from Xsan, we decided to move to a new future-proof workflow platform.”

In the search for a new solution, the team’s priorities were clear: high-performance shared workflow for high-resolution work, keeping costs as low as possible, a supplier committed for the long haul, and continuity with existing tools, processes, and resources. “With several vendors that we considered, we would have had to replace all of our existing storage, something that would have driven costs way up,” says Heinrich.

StorNext Meets Full Range of Needs

Ultimately, the team decided to upgrade to Quantum StorNext. As Heinrich explains, “StorNext supports the highest performance Fibre Channel connectivity as well as LAN-based NAS storage. It allowed us to keep our existing storage that we already had installed, which gave it a substantial cost advantage, and is completely compatible with Xsan.” The StorNext system’s status as a worldwide standard across media production companies, television networks, and motion picture studios gave the team confidence in Quantum’s long-term commitment to the market. “StorNext was the only solution we saw that could meet all of our needs,” says Heinrich.

Smooth Transition Preserves Content, Tools, and Processes

Heinrich did the installation himself, using materials that Quantum provided and talking to the company’s service staff. He installed StorNext Xcellis storage appliances on a Thursday, and went live over the weekend. “The transition from Xsan to StorNext was incredibly smooth,” says Heinrich. “We were up and running on Monday morning, all the content was there for the editors, and all the tools and processes looked just the same. The only changes were the volume names.”

StorNext handles whatever jobs the Catalyst team throws at it. “With our new cameras, we are now streaming multiple 4K streams into StorNext and doing production work at the same time, and the system doesn’t ever slow down,” says Heinrich. In addition, the system reliability has been perfect. “We haven’t needed a single service call since we did the installation—it is great.”

Enabling Protection

In addition to providing high-performance workflow, StorNext supports Windows as well as Apple platforms, which allows the team to use Commvault to back up its completed content and work in progress. Heinrich says, “It has really automated the process and given us an additional level of protection.”

“We are also pleased at the flexibility of StorNext,” adds Heinrich. “We’re talking about adding a layer of SSD in the future, creating a separate disk archive, and potentially using the cloud—all of which StorNext supports.”

Key Benefits

  • The StorNext high-performance shared workflow saves time and accelerates projects by allowing multiple workstations to collaborate on high-resolution projects.
  • Compatibility with Xsan preserves customers’ investment in existing content, tools, and processes.
  • Support for multiple storage platforms reduces costs by allowing the customer to use existing,
    storage resources.
  • Seamless transition from Xsan to StorNext maximizes productivity for editors and the production team.
  • Heterogeneous server platform support enables better protection by providing support for commercial, automated backup, and
    recovery tools.
  • Quantum’s long-term commitment to the media and entertainment market provides certainty for the future.

ABOUT KANSAS STATE UNIVERSITY COLLEGE OF EDUCATION

The College of Education at Kansas State University is the leading preparer of teachers in the state of Kansas, with a dedication to preparing educators to be knowledgeable, ethical, caring decision-makers for a diverse and changing world. The college’s mission is to deliver exemplary graduate and undergraduate education; to produce, interpret, and disseminate useful research and scholarship; to provide leadership, collaboration, and service within the profession; and to promote and celebrate diversity.