夏威夷州卫生部
DXi 系统以及复制功能支持 Veeam,就如同对 Backup Exec 的支持一样,使我们能够轻松地将同一设备用于不同应用程序。  

 

- Steve Sakamoto
高级数据处理系统分析师,DOCD

借助 Veeam 和 DXi,夏威夷州卫生部“治愈”VM 备份和 DR“顽疾”

疾病爆发控制处 (DOCD) 监控夏威夷传染性疾病的爆发并努力防止其扩散。数据对于他们履行职责至关重要,因此保护数据成为优先要务。

DOCD 高级数据处理系统分析师 Steve Sakamoto 解释道:“多年前,我们只能使用磁带来保护我们的数据,但当我们的备份时间窗延伸到下一工作日时所添加的重复数据删除设备提升了磁盘备份速度。我们最初使用的是昆腾早期的 DXi 型号,它表现出色,因此我们已经升级到了其下一代产品。备份和恢复现在可以通过 DXi 完成,不过,我们仍然使用 Backup Exec 来创建要移至异地以备 DR 的磁带。我们将磁带创建移出备份时间窗,但要看看我们是否能够减少管理时间和降低管理所有介质的成本。”

寻求自动 DR

DOCD 团队向昆腾及其长期合作的本地经销商和集成商 — Technology Integration Group 寻求帮助,以了解复制大约 4.5TB 的日常备份数据是否可行,使用 DXi 磁盘是否能够满足其保留要求。对于这两点答案是肯定的。

Sakamoto 指出:“我们要处理重要数据 — 疾病监控和免疫数据库以及一些电子邮件和各种调查研究 — 不过,我们不存储患者病历,因此,我们的备份保留要求限制为 12 个月。重复数据删除带给我们的一大成果是 — 超过 95% 的数据缩减 — 这意味着我们能够在两个位置将数据保留到磁盘中以供长期保留,并且满足我们的预算要求。高重复数据删除率也意味着我们应当能够通过我们的 WAN 复制日常备份数据。”

第二个 DXi 提供了解决方案

团队添加了一个 DXi4700 作为在第二个远程位置的复制目标。

“Sakamoto 解释道:“部署令人难以置信的高效。最大的工作…是向新的 DXi 复制备份数据。一旦完成…我们既能开始通过 WAN 进行整个备份的日常复制。这一系统是如此高效,以至于对正常的网络流量没有任何影响。

同时,昆腾还为我们的团队提供了非常棒的培训以帮助他们了解系统的工作原理以及如何最充分地利用复制。这对我们真的大有帮助,使得过渡轻松简便。现在,我们能够有效管理在两个 DXi 系统中的备份和 DR。真的非常快捷,我们几乎无需任何时间来管理 DR,这两个系统还具有真正简便的可扩展性,我们知道随着未来数据的增长能够按需扩容。”

Veeam 和 DXi 让 VM 保护轻松简便

DOCD 灾难恢复 (DR) 的变化导致了更大的复杂性,因为 IT 团队大幅增加了 VMware 的使用并开始在备份软件中进行大规模过渡。

Sakamoto 表示:“在决定增加 DXi 设备的使用之前,我们大幅提升了虚拟化服务器的百分比。作为这一流程的一部分,我们还添加了新的备份软件 — Veeam — 以进行 VMware 备份。

回头看,我们的确在很短的时间里进行了几项重大改变,不过,一切都取得了完美结果。DXi 系统以及复制功能支持 Veeam,就如同对 Backup Exec 的支持一样,使我们能够轻松地将同一设备用于不同应用程序。DXi 分区功能尤为重要。这意味着我们能够将 DXi 作为需要查看磁带库的软件的 VTL 以及需要向接口写入数据的软件的 NAS 共享。使我们能够通过同一 DXi 来使用两种类型的应用 — 二者都可以利用复制以备 DR。”

为备份添加归档

将部分 DXi 容量作为 NAS 共享也开启了另一项系统应用。

Sakamoto 补充道:“我们面临的一个日益严峻的问题是在何处存储对于我们很重要但已不再被频繁使用的旧文件。它们被束之高阁 — 这是相当昂贵的存储 — 我们必须要对其进行备份。我们意识到能够借助 DXi 来解决这一问题。我们设置了一个 DXi 分区作为 NAS 共享,将旧文件移至此处作为归档。它们不再被束之高阁,我们不必对其进行管理 — 或者对其进行备份 — 但它们就在那儿,可供我们随时按需访问,使我们能够重新利用它们。如果我们需要,甚至可以有第二个异地备份。因此,我们的 DXi 备份系统还为我们提供了真正重要的归档功能。”

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 向 DXi 磁盘备份缩短了备份时间窗,可为不断增长的数据提供支持
  • 重复数据删除将磁盘和带宽需求降低 95% 以上,提供 12 个月的磁盘保留和通过 WAN 的复制
  • 自动复制实现日常数据保护和基于磁盘的 DR,无需管理移动介质
  • DXi 分区功能和多种接口使 IT 部门能够借助单一设备支持 Veeam 和 Backup Exec
  • DXi 提供按需扩容功能,可满足未来数据增长需求
  • DXi NAS 接口支持归档功能

关于疾病爆发控制处

夏威夷州卫生部的疾病爆发控制处 (DOCD)的工作是监控、调查、防范和控制夏威夷州的传染性疾病 — 通过免疫可预防的疾病以及通过与旅游者接触可传播的疾病,以确保夏威夷能够对威胁公众健康的疾病及时做出应急响应。DOCD 努力维持卫生部与其他合作伙伴(包括化验室、医院、学校、应急机构、私人组织以及军方)之间的强大关系。

Hawaii State Department Of Health
The DXi systems and their replication support Veeam just as well as they did Backup Exec and they make it easy to use the same appliance for different apps.  


- Steve Sakamoto
Sr. Data Processing Systems Analyst, DOCD

Hawaii Department of Health Cures VM Backup and DR Woes with Veeam and DXi

The Disease Outbreak Control Division (DOCD) monitors infectious diseases in Hawaii and works to prevent their spread. That makes its data extremely important, and protecting it a high priority.

“Years ago, we protected our data exclusively using tape,” explains Steve Sakamoto, DOCD Sr. Data Processing Systems Analyst, “but added deduplication appliances to get disk backup speeds when our backup window started to stretch into the next work day. We started with an early DXi model from Quantum and it worked so well that we moved to the next-generation product. Backup and recovery now came from the DXi, but we still used Backup Exec to create tapes that we moved off-site for DR. We moved tape creation out of the backup window, but we wanted to see if we could reduce the admin time and the cost of managing all that media.”

Looking for Alternative, Automated DR

The DOCD team went back to Quantum and their long-time local reseller and integrator, Technology Integration Group, to see if replication of roughly 4.5TB of daily backup data was feasible and whether they could meet their retention requirements using DXi disk alone. The answer was yes on both counts.

“We deal with important data—disease surveillance and immunization databases, some email, and various studies—but we don’t store any patient records, so our backup retention requirement is normally limited to twelve months,” Sakamoto says. “The great dedupe results that the DXi gave us—over a 95% reduction—meant that we ought to be able to keep data on disk in two locations for that long and stay within our budget. The high dedupe rate also meant that we should be able to replicate daily backups over our WAN.”

Second DXi Provides the Solution

The team added a DXi4700 as a replication target at a second, remote location.

“The roll-out was incredibly efficient,” Sakamoto explains. “The biggest job…was copying the backup data set to the new DXi. Once that was done… we started doing daily replication of the whole backup over the WAN. The system is so efficient that it doesn’t impact any of our normal network traffic.

"At the same time, Quantum did a great job in training our team to help them understand how the system worked and how to get the most out of replication. It really helped us, and it made the transition easy. Now, we can take care of all our backup and DR on these two DXi systems. It’s fast and we spend zero time managing DR. They both also give us really easy scalability so we know we’ll be able to add capacity when our data set gets bigger in the future.”

Veeam and DXi Make Protecting VMs Easy

The change of DR strategies at DOCD was made more complex because the IT team had dramatically increased its use of VMware and started a major transition in backup software.

“Just before we made the decision to increase our use of the DXi appliances, we went through a huge increase in the percentage of servers that we virtualized,” Sakamoto says. “And as part of the process, we also added a new backup software—Veeam—for VMware backup.

“Looking back on it, we did make several big changes within a short period of time, but it all worked out perfectly. The DXi systems and their replication support Veeam just as well as they did Backup Exec and they make it easy to use the same appliance for different apps. The DXi partition feature was especially important. It means we can present the DXi as a VTL to software that wants to see a tape library and as a NAS share to software that wants to write to that interface. It lets us use both types of applications as long as we want to with the same DXi—and both use the replication for DR.”

Adding Archive to Backup

Presenting part of the DXi capacity as a NAS share opened up another use for the system as well.

“We had a growing problem of where to store old files that were important to us but that were no longer being actively worked,” Sakamoto adds. “They were filling up our filers—which was pretty expensive storage— and we kept having to back them up. We realized that we could use the DXi to solve that problem. We set up one DXi partition as a NAS share and just moved the old files over to it as an archive. It got them off the filers, we didn’t have to manage them—or back them up anymore—but they were there for us to access whenever we needed to re-activate them and we could even have a second off-site if we wanted. So our DXi backup system also gives us a really important archive function.”

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Backup to DXi disk shortens backup window to support growing data sets
  • Deduplication reduces disk and bandwidth needs by more than 95%, providing 12-month retention on disk and replication over WAN
  • Automated replication provides daily data protection and extended DR on disk, eliminating need for managing removable media
  • DXi partition capability and multiple interfaces lets IT department support both Veeam and Backup Exec with a single appliance
  • DXi provides capacity-on-demand for scalability as data increases in the future
  • DXi NAS interface supports archive function

About the Disease Outbreak Control Division

The Hawaii State Department of Health’s Disease Outbreak Control Division (DOCD) works to monitor, investigate, prevent, and control infectious diseases in the State of Hawaii, both those preventable through immunizations and those spread by contact with travelers, and to ensure Hawaii’s ability to respond to emergencies that threaten the public’s health. DOCD works to sustain strong relationships between the Department of Health and other partners, including laboratories, hospitals, schools, emergency response agencies, private organizations, and the military.