Hogarth World Wide
我们是一家真正的基于工作流的公司 — StorNext 为我们提供了最灵活、最强大的工作流系统。没有这个系统,我们无法完成我们已做的一切。

Nick Wood
制作系统经理,Hogarth

Hogarth Worldwide 依靠 StorNext 来确保跟上业务快速扩张的步伐

Hogarth Worldwide 是一家营销实施企业,具有令人赞叹的发展史。该公司于 2008 年在伦敦的一间阁楼上创立,当时只有 14 名员工,如今,已发展成为一家拥有数百名员工并且在全球有 20 多个分支机构的企业。作为媒体制作专家,Hogarth 与大型企业的广告部门和创意机构密切合作,跨广泛的平台经济高效地提供广告服务。

业务以存储技术和工作流为基础

Hogarth 专注于尽可能高效地提供最高质量的内容。Hogarth 制作系统经理 Nick Wood 解释道:“我认为 Hogarth 是第一家真正围绕创建高质量的广告和营销资料所需的应用及基础设施专业知识而打造的企业。它的成功证明了一个有效的战略的重要性。我们与其他公司中的许多不同创意团队合作,这使我们必须集中精力于制作和实施 — 我们真正对此有深刻的理解。”

Hogarth 的基础设施可支持有效的工作流、协作和资产管理,使其在高度竞争的市场中具备独特的业务优势。Hogarth 不断发展以跟上技术变化的步伐。

使技术始终能够满足不断变化的需求

Wood 指出:“在这一行业的早期,许多高端作品是用胶片拍摄的,然后进行冲印、扫描,我们还要进行后台处理。这势必导致显而易见的高成本。如今,情况完全不同 — 所拍摄的素材都直接存储在磁盘。能够以令人难以置信的更低成本添加更多内容 — 现在,一个 TB 的数据的成本仅为 100 英镑左右。因此,摄录设备能够保持更长时间的运转以采集更多的原始素材。如今,仅在我们的伦敦办公室就有约 1.5 PB 的数据,我们预计,随着分辨率和帧速率的提高,数据还会更多。与胶片相比,数字内容看起来更‘自由’。但是,实际上我们是将成本和复杂性转到了存储管理端。”

StorNext 为增长奠定了基础

Wood 指出:“从 Hogarth 早期一直延续至今的一样东西是昆腾 StorNext。我们很早便开始将 Xsan 环境转换至 StorNext 以充分利用其灵活性、性能和可扩展性优势。它使我们的团队能够进行项目协作,无论使用哪种平台 — Mac、Linux 还是 Windows。如今,我们的 12 个分支机构均已安装了全面的 StorNext 环境 — 随着数据量的增长,我们还将添加更多。”

StorNext 还为这家快速增长的公司提供了快速扩展能力。“借助 StorNext,我们知道,如果工作量攀升,我们可以为分支机构快速添加磁盘容量,并且几乎能够即刻添加更多工作站。我们曾经为一个大项目将五六个工作站拓展至 40 个 — StorNext 让扩展简便易行。”

透明升级至 Xcellis Workflow Director

随着 Hogarth 需求的变化,昆腾提供了灵活性,而公司的集成商合作伙伴 Trams 则提供了安装服务的建议和支持。最初基于昆腾 M330 控制器创建,最近系统被升级至 Xcellis Workflow Director。Xcellis 使 Hogarth 能够单独对性能和容量进行扩展,并可选择将网络附加存储 (NAS) 用作存储池的组成部分。

Wood 坦言:“从 M330 转至 Xcellis Workflow Director 非常简便。我们在周末便完成了所有工作。实际的转换只花了几个小时,一切准备就绪,然后完美同步。制作团队没有注意到一件事。在整个流程 — 实际上是拥有 StorNext 的整个时间里— 昆腾的支持始终非常出色。系统通常能够保持正常工作。但当我们有需求时,能够立刻获得来自昆腾和 Trams 的专业帮助。”

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 高性能光纤通道环境打造了协作工作流,有助于加快设计
  • 与现有 Xsan 兼容,易于从 Mac 向全功能 StorNext 解决方案转型
  • 能够单独对性能和容量进行扩展,提供对未来需求的最大支持
  • 支持 Mac、Linux 和 Windows 平台,可有效保护企业的现有投资并且能够最大限度满足未来需求
  • 针对多种存储层经济高效的选项 — 包括磁盘、磁带和云 — 为 IT 提供最大的灵活性
  • 高可靠性解决方案与响应及时的支持团队可最大限度确保正常运转并降低管理支出

关于 Hogarth Worldwide

作为广告和公关业巨头 WPP 的附属公司,Hogarth Worldwide是一家快速增长的跨国营销实施企业,在全球拥有 20 多家分支机构。Hogarth 专长于广告业务的制作端,与具备多种能力的第三方创意机构和企业保持合作关系,其中包括广播、平面和数字制作、后期制作、计算机生成图像 (CGI) 以及语言本地化服务或创译 (transcreation)。通过将其制作专业知识与强大的工作流和资产管理技术相结合,Hogarth 能够跨所有媒体和所有语言为客户制作广告和其他营销传播内容。

关于 Trams

Trams 总部位于伦敦市中心,业务运营遍及整个英国,是领先的 B2B IT 系统和服务提供商,在存储与创意工作流、新媒体、商用 IT 以及教育领域可提供经验丰富的专业咨询服务。Trams 拥有 50 多家领先提供商的认证并维持长期合作伙伴关系,例如,Apple 授权经销商和服务提供商、昆腾存储增值经销商以及 Xerox 托管打印服务合作伙伴。

Hogarth Worldwide
We are a real workflow company—and StorNext provides the most flexible, powerful end-to-end workflow system available anywhere. There is no way we could have done what we have without it.

Nick Wood
Production systems manager, Hogarth

Hogarth Worldwide Relies on StorNext to Keep Up with Rapid Business Expansion

Hogarth Worldwide is a marketing implementation company with a dazzling history of growth. It started with 14 people in a London attic in 2008, but today has hundreds of employees in more than 20 offices worldwide. Experts in media production, Hogarth works with ad departments in major corporations and creative agencies to deliver advertising efficiently and cost-effectively across a wide range of platforms.

Business Built on Storage Technology and Workflow

Hogarth focuses on delivering the highest quality content as efficiently as possible. “I think that Hogarth was really the first organization built around the application and infrastructure expertise required to implement high-quality advertising and marketing materials,” explains Nick Wood, production systems manager at Hogarth, “and its success shows how effective a strategy it has been. We work with lots of different creative teams in other companies, which allows us to focus all our energy on production and implementation—and we really understand that well.”

Hogarth’s infrastructure enables effective workflow, collaboration, and asset management, giving it a business advantage in a highly competitive market. As technologies change, Hogarth evolves to keep pace.

Keeping Technology Current with Changing Needs

“In the early days of this industry, lots of high-end work was shot on film, then developed, scanned, and we did back-end processing,” explains Wood. “The costs were largely up front and pretty obvious. Today, it is very different—everything is shot directly onto disk. It is incredibly inexpensive to add more—a terabyte now costs only £100 or so. So cameras keep running longer, and they keep more raw footage. Today, we’ve got about 1.5 PB of data just in the London offices, and we expect more as resolution and frame rates increase. Compared to film, digital content looks free. But, we’ve really just shifted the cost and complexity to the storage management side.”

StorNext Provides Foundation for Growth

“One constant since Hogarth’s early days has been Quantum StorNext,” Wood notes. “We started converting Xsan environments to StorNext very early to take advantage of its flexibility, performance, and scale. And it gave us the capability to let our teams collaborate on projects no matter what platform they were using—Macs, Linux, or Windows. Today, 12 of our offices already have full StorNext environments installed—and we’ll add more as data volumes increase.”

StorNext also gives the fast-growing company the ability to scale rapidly. “With StorNext, we know we can quickly add disk capacity for an office if the workload sees a surge, and we can expand the system almost instantaneously to add more workstations. We’ve had to do that— expand from five or six workstations to 40 for a big project—and StorNext makes it easy.”

Transparent Upgrade to Xcellis Workflow Director

As Hogarth’s needs changed, Quantum provided flexibility, and the company’s integrator partner Trams provided advice and support for installation services. Initially built on Quantum M330 controllers, the system was recently upgraded to Xcellis Workflow Director. Xcellis gives Hogarth the ability to scale performance and capacity independently, and provides the option of using network-attached storage (NAS) as part of the storage pool.

“The switch from the M330s to Xcellis Workflow Directors was easy,” Wood explains. “We did it over the weekend. The actual switch-over only took a couple of hours, and everything came over and synched up perfectly. The production teams didn’t notice a thing. Throughout the whole process—and actually for the whole time we’ve had StorNext—Quantum support has been great. The system usually just works. But when we do need something, we get immediate expert help both from Quantum and from Trams.”

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • High-performance Fibre Channel environment creates collaborative workflow for shorter design cycles
  • Compatibility with Xsan makes it easy to transition from Mac to full-featured StorNext solution
  • Ability to independently scale performance and capacity provides maximum support for future needs
  • Support for Mac, Linux, and Windows platforms preserves the company’s existing investments and provides maximum flexibility for future needs
  • Cost-effective options for multiple storage tiers—including disk, tape, and cloud—gives IT maximum flexibility
  • High-reliability solutions plus a responsive support team maximize uptime and minimize administrative overhead

About Hogarth Worldwide

Hogarth Worldwide, part of advertising and public relations giant WPP, is a fast-growing, multi-national marketing implementation company with more than 20 offices around the world. Hogarth specializes in the production side of the advertising business, working with third-party creative agencies and global corporations with capabilities that include broadcast, print and digital production, post-production, computer-generated imagery (CGI), and language localization services or “transcreation.” Hogarth produces advertising and other marketing communications for clients across all media and all languages by combining its production expertise with powerful workflow and asset management technology.

About Trams

Based in central London and operating throughout the UK, Trams is a leading business-to-business IT systems and services provider, with experienced specialist consultants in Storage & Creative Workflows, New Media, Commercial IT, and Education. Trams maintains accreditations with over 50 leading suppliers which include a longstanding partnership as an Apple Authorized Reseller and Service Provider, Quantum Storage Value Added Reseller, and Xerox Managed Print Services Partner.