防范勒索软件
Lattus 采用对象存储技术提供高度可扩展的归档,此外,通过将其传播至多个位置的众多不同磁盘,可有效保护数据。

借助多层备份策略防范勒索软件

勒索软件是增长最快的一类网络犯罪,具有巨大的财务影响。据 FBI 预计,2016 年报告的勒索付款达 10 亿美元,还有许多付款从未报告。勒索软件攻击将恶意软件引入计算机系统,对存储的文件进行系统性加密,犯罪分子会据此勒索受害者付款以换取解密密钥。建议不要支付赎金:这会助长攻击,许多企业或机构在支付赎金后并不能够完全恢复其数据。更好的解决方案是创建一个有弹性的数据保护系统。

知名大学遭受勒索软件攻击

由最近遭受网络犯罪攻击的一所知名美国大学提供的示例。攻击经过精心策划。在全面攻击开始前一周,利用欺诈电子邮件和其他伎俩植入木马恶意软件。恶意软件攻击了 NTFS(默认 Windows 格式)中的文件,并在物理和虚拟服务器、笔记本电脑以及 U 盘之类的设备之间进行传播。攻击在周六晚上开始,最初是备份服务器,然后扩展至其他设备。一旦攻击到磁盘,恶意软件会对文件“下手”,对其进行加密使之不再可读。

快速发现解决方法以最大限度降低损失

攻击可能较早即被发现,但新的备份管理员并不充分知晓如何检测恶意软件并第一时间关闭系统。在管理员注意到不可读文件并且找到 IT 主管由其关闭所有系统之前,恶意软件已经对文件进行加密达八个小时。当时,120 个服务器中的 20000 个文件已被锁定,包括该大学的所有虚拟机 (VM)。赎金金额巨大 — 达六位数。不过,该大学决定不支付赎金,因为 IT 团队拥有数据保护方法,使其能够安全地恢复数据。

磁带备份层 — 数据恢复的关键组成部分

该大学的备份始于磁盘目标 — 但由于备份被存储在 NTFS,它们已被破坏。幸运的是,IT 团队还将备份写入了 LTO 磁带库

尽管磁盘中的备份副本被加密,磁带层未受影响,因为在攻击开始之前文件已被写入磁带。即使受影响的副本到达磁带,恶意软件也无法传播。IT 团队决定全面清理系统并从磁带备份重建一切。整个流程耗时约两周。

归档策略能够发挥作用

并非在受影响的磁盘直接重新构建系统,该大学利用了其归档 — 昆腾 StorNext 系统 — 使用昆腾 Lattus 解决方案,在基于对象存储的私有云创建一些数据的副本。团队发现恶意软件未传播至 StorNext Lattus 归档。

Lattus 采用对象存储技术提供高度可扩展的归档,此外,通过将其传播至多个位置的众多不同磁盘,可有效保护数据。在将其安装到现已清理过的原服务器基础设施之前,团队使用 Lattus 作为安全存放区域以恢复系统。

利用恢复方案最大限度减少损失

磁带和 Lattus 工作区中的副本为 IT 团队提供了恢复所有已备份数据并重构系统所需的一切。唯一未重新创建的数据是存储在备份系统之外(一些笔记本电脑和 USB 驱动器)的文件,大约 600GB。

底线是什么?勒索软件式的网络攻击可能很常见并且难以完全阻止,但最佳实践备份策略(在包括磁带在内的不同类型的介质中保存数据的多个副本)能够消除或最大限度减少数据损失。

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 确保所有管理员(包括那些管理备份的管理员)能够识别勒索软件网络攻击并且了解如何在发现攻击时及时关闭系统。
  • 不要长时间以管理员身份保持登录状态(超出必要的时间)。
  • 避免在使用管理员权限的同时浏览、打开文档或进行其他类似活动。
  • 制定包含磁带层的多层备份策略以确保能够在发生攻击的情况下安全地进行数据重构。
  • 备份最佳实践包括在两种不同类型的介质中保存三个数据副本,包括以离线和异地方式安全存储一个副本。
  • 考虑实施多层归档策略,使用磁带或对象存储,以提供安全位置来存储主数据的副本并重构系统。
  • 执行将所有重要数据放在依据机构的磁盘和磁带备份协议进行保护的资源中。

关于这所大学

本成功案例中的这所大学是全球知名的高等学府之一,提供全面的本科和研究生课程,涵盖从艺术到科学等多种学科,学生来源广泛。此外,它也是该国领先的研究机构,在自然科学、社会和行为科学、工程、信息技术以及人文领域拥有众多全球性的重大发现。

Fighting Ransomware
Lattus provides a highly scalable archive repository using object storage technology to provide very high-capacity storage while protecting data by spreading it across many different disk spindles and, optionally, multiple locations.

Fighting Ransomware with a Multi-Tier Backup Strategy

Ransomware is one of the fastest-growing kinds of cybercrimes, and the financial impact is enormous. The FBI estimates that reported payments in 2016 reached $1 billion, and many are never reported. Ransomware attacks introduce malware into a computer system, which systematically encrypts stored files, and the criminals demand payment in exchange for the decryption key. Ransom payments are not recommended: they encourage attacks and many organizations have not been able to recover all their data even after paying. A much better solution is creating a resilient data protection system.

Ransomware Attacks a Major University

An example is provided by a major U.S. university recently attacked by cybercriminals. The attack was carefully planned. Trojan-horse malware was introduced using fraudulent emails and other tactics a week before the full attack was carried out. The malware attacked files in NTFS, the default Windows format, and it spread between physical and virtual servers, laptops, and devices like thumb drives. The attack began on Saturday night, starting with the backup servers and then spreading to other devices. Once on the disk, the malware worked through files, encrypting them so they could no longer be read.

Rapid Discovery a Key to Minimizing Damage

The attack might have been discovered earlier, but there was a new backup administrator who was not fully aware of how to detect malware and shut down the system at the first signs. The malware was able to encrypt files for a full eight hours before an administrator noticed unreadable files and tracked down the head of IT, who shut down all the systems. By that time, 20,000 files had been locked on 120 servers, including all of the university’s virtual machines (VMs). The ransom demand was huge—in six figures. But, the university decided against paying because the IT team had a data protection methodology that would allow it to recover the data safely.

Tape Backup Layer a Critical Component for Recovery

The university’s backup started with disk targets—but because the backups were stored in NTFS, they were compromised. Fortunately, the IT team also had been writing backups to an LTO tape library.

Although backup copies on disk were encrypted, the tape layer was unaffected because the files were written to tape before the attack began. And even if contaminated copies had reached tape, the malware would not have been able to spread. The IT team decided to completely scrub the system and rebuild everything from the tape backups. The entire process took approximately two weeks.

Archive Strategy Can Play a Role

Instead of rebuilding the system directly onto the disk that had been infected, the university used its archive—a Quantum StorNext system that created duplicate copies of some data in an object-storage-based private cloud using Quantum’s Lattus solution. The team discovered that the malware did not spread to the StorNext Lattus archive.

Lattus provides a highly scalable archive using object storage technology that also protects data by spreading it across many different disk spindles and, optionally, multiple locations. The team used Lattus as a safe staging area to restore the systems before installing them on the now-clean original server infrastructure.

Recovery Plans Minimize Loss

The copies on tape and the Lattus working area provided the IT team with everything it needed to recover all the backed up data and rebuild the system. The only data that had to be recreated were files stored outside the backup system on some laptops and USB drives, about 600GB.

The bottom line? Ransomware-style cyberattacks may be common and difficult to completely stop, but a best practice backup strategy that includes multiple copies of data on different kinds of media, including tape, can eliminate or minimize data loss.

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Make sure all administrators, including those managing backups, can recognize a ransomware cyberattack and know how to shut down systems immediately when an attack is discovered.
  • Do not stay logged in as an administrator any longer than strictly needed.
  • Avoid browsing, opening documents, or other like activities while having administrator rights.
  • Create a multi-tiered backup strategy that includes a tape layer to ensure that data can be rebuilt safely in the event of an attack.
  • Backup best practice includes having three copies of data on two different media types, with one stored safely offline and off-site.
  • Consider implementing a multi-tier archive strategy, using tape or object storage, to provide a safe place to store copies of primary data and rebuild systems.
  • Enforce policies that place all critical data on resources that are protected by the institution’s disk and tape backup protocols.

About the University

The university in this case study is one of the premier institutions of higher learning in the world, offering a complete curriculum of undergraduate and graduate programs across the arts and sciences to an engaged and diversified student body. It is also one of the nation’s leading research institutions, generating globally significant discoveries in the natural sciences, social and behavioral sciences, engineering, information technology, and humanities.