EMIS Electrics
对于 EMIS 而言,这是三赢。我们从 SEP sesam 和昆腾的技术获益 — 协同使用也为两个系统带来了益处。它是完美的解决方案!”

Karsten Hollop
EMIS Electrics IT 主管

昆腾和 SEP sesam 为 EMIS Electrics 的备份战略提供支持

EMIS Electrics 是一家小型的创新企业,由二十年前的一个 27 人公司发展成为在八个地区拥有 460 多名员工的国际化公司。EMIS 意识到缺乏简化的备份系统,它将无法延续成功 — 数据分布在多个位置所带来的艰巨挑战。

选择正确的重复数据删除设备

发现适用于公司基于 Linux 和 Novell 的服务器环境以及高度虚拟化的基础设施的重复数据删除设备绝非易事。MIS Electrics IT 主管 Karsten Hollop 解释道:“我们测试了来自不同供应商的一系列解决方案 — 没有一款解决方案能够提供我们所期待的重复数据删除和压缩性能。我们面临巨大压力,因为无法维持最少 90 天的数据保留要求。”

昆腾的免费试用服务允许在购买前进行测试

当系统集成商 Bechtle 推荐了免费试用版的昆腾 DXi V1000(专为远程分支机构设计的虚拟重复数据删除设备)后,我们迎来了转机。

DXi V1000 提供基于 VM 的重复数据删除,可在本地保存备份副本,然后将它们存储在云端或复制到第二个 DXi 设备。Hollop 在 ESX 服务器中安装了试用版 DXi,并通过网络文件系统 (NFS) 将其与备份服务器相连。

Hollop 表示:“以往,我们面临的状况是灾难式的 — 缺乏有效的方法来保留备份数据。DXi 试用证明努力是值得的。我们以往的解决方案不能处理可变长度数据块,因此,根本无法进行重复数据删除。借助 DXi,我们能快速实现高达 9:1 的数据压缩率 — 不必对我们的备份策略进行变更。”

成功试用 DXi V1000 后,Hollop 充分利用昆腾的“试用-购买” 计划来对实际的 DXi 设备进行测试。这次试用成功后,EMIS 不仅永久性地部署了 DXi,而且还购买了昆腾 Scalar i40 磁带库以提供长期灾难恢复 (DR) 保护。

DXi 简化了备份

借助新的系统,公司的 SEP sesam 备份软件每周可以完成一次向 DXi 和磁带库的完全备份,每周可以将增量备份发送至 DXi。对于完全备份,Novell 备份服务器可以使用 Linux rsync 将其存储库传送至位于 Lübbenau 的数据中心,从而确保数据完整性。在初始阶段,EMIS 将备份保留 90 天,未来计划将磁带移至异地以进行更长期的保留。

“没有 DXi 所带来的数据压缩率,我们可能需要 41.36TB 来存储备份数据。现在,我们只需要 5.2TB 的磁盘空间。差异真的非常显著。”Hollop 如是说。集成重复数据删除设备还将备份时间窗减少了 30%,从而显著节省了时间。

SEP Sesam 和昆腾 DXi 带来了多种优势

“对于我们的环境而言,昆腾设备是理想之选。NFS 始终被用于备份服务器,信道绑定将有效带宽提升至 20Gbps — 对于带宽为 4Gbps 的 LAN 这可能充满挑战性。与来自其他厂商的产品相比,DXi 设备的一个重要优势是可变长度数据块重复数据删除。对于 EMIS 而言,这不是双赢 — 而是三赢。我们从 SEP sesam 和昆腾的技术获益 — 协同使用也为两个系统带来了益处。它是完美的解决方案!”

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 通过可变长度重复数据删除提高数据压缩率
  • 将备份时间窗缩减 30%
  • 降低存储、物理空间和电能费用
  • 提供有效的数据保留(包括异地存储),管理开销更低
  • 提供跨所有位置的备份数据冗余保留,以提供更多一层的安全性

关于 EMIS ELECTRICS

EMIS Electrics GmbH 是一家中等规模的服务提供商,过去二十年保持持续增长态势。该公司创立于 1991 年,最初作为 Vetschau/Lübbenau 发电厂分拆出来的一家公司,拥有 27 名员工,主要涉足两个业务领域:电厂服务和设施工程。该公司发展历史上的一个里程碑是 1995 年承担的 Schwarze Pumpe 电站大型项目。最终,在区域电厂附近建立了其他一些新的站点,其中包括 2005 年在 Waldkirch和汉堡 (Hamburg) 设置的分支。1997 年,EMIS 进入国际市场。由于需求的增长,公司在 2007 年新增了自动化和发电机服务。2010 年,EMIS 参与了一些变电站和高架线路的施工和现代化建设。如今,Siemens AG(能源行业、化石能源发电;仪表控制与电气)在 EMIS 的成功业务中拥有少量股份。EMIS Electrics 与 Siemens 以及其他合作伙伴(例如,ABB Group)共同期待未来的发展。

EMIS Electrics
It’s a triple win for EMIS. We benefit from both SEP sesam and Quantum technology— and the two systems benefit from being used together. It’s the perfect solution!

Karsten Hollop
Head of IT, EMIS Electrics

Quantum and SEP Sesam Provide Backbone for EMIS Electrics’ Backup Strategy

EMIS Electrics is a small, innovative business that has grown from a 27-person firm two decades ago into an international business with more than 460 employees at eight locations. EMIS realized that it could not succeed without a streamlined backup system—a difficult challenge with data distributed across several locations.

Selecting the Right Deduplication Appliance

Finding a deduplication appliance that would work with the company’s Linux- and Novell based server environment and its heavily virtualized infrastructure was not an easy task. “We tested a number of solutions from various providers—none of them offered the deduplication and compression performance that we were looking for. We were under serious pressure because we could no longer maintain our minimum retention periods of 90 days,” explains Karsten Hollop, head of IT at EMIS Electrics.

Quantum’s Free Trial Allows Testing Before Buying

The turning point came when system integrator Bechtle recommended testing a free trial version of Quantum’s DXi V1000, a virtual deduplication appliance designed for remote offices.

The DXi V1000 offers deduplication on a VM, and it keeps backup copies locally, but can also store them in the cloud or replicate to a second DXi appliance. Hollop installed a trial DXi V1000 on an ESX server, and connected it via Network File System (NFS) to the backup server.

“Before, our situation was catastrophic—we didn’t have a way of retaining backups anymore. The DXi trial was well worth the effort. Our previous solution couldn’t handle variable block lengths, so we had no deduplication at all. With the DXi, we rapidly achieved a reduction rate of up to 9:1—without making any changes to our backup strategy,” says Hollop.

After having success with the DXi V1000, Hollop took advantage of Quantum’s try-and-buy program to test a physical DXi appliance. After this trial was successful, EMIS not only implemented the DXi permanently, but also purchased a Quantum Scalar i40 tape library to provide long-term disaster recovery (DR) protection.

DXi Simplifies Backups

With the new system, the company’s SEP sesam backup software completes a full backup each weekend to the DXi and the tape library, and it sends incremental backups to the DXi on each week day. For the full backups, the Novell backup servers transmit their repositories to the data center at Lübbenau using Linux rsync, so that data is also included. In this initial stage, EMIS retains backups for 90 days, but in future plans to move tapes off-site for longer term retention.

“Without the DXi reduction rate, we would need 41.36TB to store the backup volume. Now, we use only 5.2TB of disk space. That’s quite a remarkable difference,” says Hollop. Integrating the deduplication appliances also reduced the backup window by 30 percent with significant cost savings.

SEP Sesam and Quantum DXi Deliver Multiple Benefits

“Quantum appliances are an ideal fit for our environment. NFS is used continuously all the way to the backup server, and channel bonding increases the effective bandwidth to 20Gbps—which can be challenging for a LAN with a bandwidth of 4Gbps. A crucial advantage of DXi appliances over products from other manufacturers is variable-length block deduplication. It’s not a win-win —it’s a triple win for EMIS. We benefit from both SEP sesam and Quantum technology—and the two systems benefit from being used together. It’s the perfect solution!”

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Improves data reduction rate through variable-length deduplication
  • Reduces backup window by 30 percent
  • Reduces storage, physical space, and power expenses
  • Provides effective data retention, including off-site storage, with low management overhead
  • Delivers redundant retention of backup data across all locations to provide an additional level of security


EMIS Electrics GmbH is a medium-sized service provider that has grown continuously over the past two decades. It started out in 1991 as a spin-off of the Vetschau/Lübbenau power plant with 27 employees and two main business areas: power-plant services and facilities engineering. The next milestone in the company’s history was a large-scale project for the Schwarze Pumpe power station in 1995. Eventually, other new sites were established in the vicinity of regional power plants, including Waldkirch and Hamburg in 2005. In 1997, EMIS entered the international market. Due to increasing demand, the company added automation and generator services to its portfolio in 2007. In 2010, EMIS was involved in the construction and modernization of substations and overhead lines. Today, Siemens AG (energy sector, fossil-power generation; instrumentation controls and electrics) has a minority stake in EMIS’ successful business. Together with Siemens, and other partners such as the ABB Group, EMIS Electrics is looking forward to future endeavors.