杜克大学
观看视频
杜克大学 (Duke University)的 Blue Devil Network 部署了昆腾的 StorNext 存储解决方案以获得应对其快速增长的内容的容量、性能和可访问性。

昆腾 STORNEXT 帮助杜克大学 BLUE DEVIL NETWORK 应对管理日益增多的视频内容的挑战

从季前备战到 NCAA 冠军赛,Blue Devil Network 在 GoDuke.com 上提供直播和点播视频,同时还为教练和运动员提供运动素材。

杜克大学篮球技术指导 Kevin Cullen 指出:“30 年来,杜克大学的男子篮球项目一直是全国最成功的篮球计划之一,该校男篮曾先后获得过五次全国冠军,并且连续多年在全美排名第一。”

广泛使用视频体现了杜克致力于充分发挥技术的作用。“从视频到分析,我们为选手和教练提供尽可能多的信息,以帮助他们优化比赛,并制定最佳、最具指导性的决策。”Cullen 如是说。

采集日益增多的高清视频内容

Blue Devil Network 董事总经理 Chad Lampman 坦言:“过去五年视频素材量激增。

我们不断增加对高清视频的采集,同时从我们的网络合作伙伴接收未压缩的高分辨率视频 — 文件巨大。我们需要能够始终可以扩展以满足我们容量和性能需求的存储环境。”

耗尽在线存储容量

与归档至磁带不同,杜克希望将尽可能多的内容在线保存以供编辑和制作者使用。

具有讽刺意味的是,杜克的成功让这一目标难以实现。随着球队参加越来越多的季后联赛,制作团队采集和存储了越来越多的内容。最终,只能耗尽在线存储容量。Lampman 表示:“在去年赛季进行到约三分之二的时候,我们不得不开始将内容离线存储,例如,移至磁带并将磁带存放到资料架上 — 因为我们根本没有足够的空间。”

明确首要的存储要求:可靠性和轻松文件共享

在选择新的存储平台时,可靠性是优先要务。Cullen 坦言:“我们在一个不间断环境中工作。我们的教练要在比赛后通宵观看视频。我们需要一个能够始终满足我们需求的系统。”

在视频制作团队之间共享内容的能力是另一大需求。在杜克篮球队 2015 年夺得 NCAA 全国冠军后,制作团队发现难以将来自不同存储“孤岛”的素材整合在一起。Lampman 表示:“它变成了素材共享的噩梦。我们要等待一两个小时才能彼此复制不同的文件。”

“某些情况下,我们要将相同的素材存储两次。我们意识到,需要将许多此类视频进行整合和共享,只有这样,才能让同一服务器系统得以‘喘息’。”Cullen 如是说。

选择 Stornext 平台

杜克团队向 LH Computer Services — 专长于媒体、娱乐和体育行业的集成商寻求帮助,以寻找能够使杜克拓展在线容量和改进共享的可靠存储解决方案。

在考虑了不同的选项后,杜克团队选择了昆腾的 StorNext M440 元数据设备。它使用 StorNext 5 平台来管理大型工作流环境并且能够与 StorNext Q 系列磁盘相结合,以提供经济高效且易于管理的可扩展、高性能容量。

Cullen 表示:“在广播行业,你沟通交流的人越多,就越会意识到昆腾是最终的理想之选。每个人都希望拥有昆腾的解决方案。因此,昆腾是我们显而易见的选择。”

简化部署与集成

在部署 StorNext 时,制作团队继续使用来自两个现有 SAN 的内容。一个 — Apple Xsan — 被转换为 StorNext,数据仍原封不动。然后,团队部署了 StorNext QXS-1200 系统以添加更多所需的容量。

整个流程轻松简便。Lampman 表示:“昆腾 StorNext 解决方案使我们能够将现有内容整合到 StorNext 并且无缝重复使用存储硬件。这是完美的过渡 — 我们根本没有遇到任何问题。”

获得面向未来的可扩展性

杜克的制作团队现在有了一个灵活、可扩展的平台,能够满足不断变化的需求,并且可应对未来数据量增长的趋势。正如 Lampman 所言:“没有人知道视频的界限在哪里 — 视频格式在不断变化。我们看到 HD、3-D、4K,现在是 8K 超高清视频,层出不穷。我们并不完全确信未来会怎样,但借助昆腾 StorNext 平台,我们知道我们有了坚实的基础。”

主要优势

  • 可扩展以支持大量视频内容,同时控制成本
  • 借助汇总数据和快速同步访问简化视频共享工作流
  • 通过保持视频在线和可用,加快对请求的响应
  • 为需要全天候访问内容的用户提供可靠、响应迅速的体验
  • 为未来提供存储基础,即使在视频格式不断变化的情况下。
  • 使所有视频内容可供转码为多种格式(官方网站、电视网络合作伙伴、教练视频、社交媒体)

关于杜克大学

位于北卡罗来纳州达勒姆的杜克大学一直是全美顶尖的研究型大学。近 15000 名杜克学生在修读广泛的学科。凭借 27 支 NCAA 一级校运动队,该学获得过男子篮球、长曲棍球、足球和女装高尔夫球及网球全国冠军。通过为 GoDuke.com(大学体育运动系官方网站)、电视网络以及教练员和运动员提供直播和按需点播多媒体内容,Blue Devil Network 为杜克大学体育运动系提供支持。

Duke University
Watch the video
Duke University’s Blue Devil Network deployed a Quantum StorNext storage solution to gain capacity, performance, and accessibility for its fast-growing volume of content.


From pre-season practices to NCAA championship games, the Blue Devil Network presents live and on-demand video on GoDuke.com, shares content with TV networks, and provides footage to coaches and players.

“Over the past 30 years, Duke men’s basketball has been one of the most successful basketball programs in the country, winning five national championships, achieving a number of conference championships, and earning a number-one ranking in the country for multiple years,” says Kevin Cullen, director of technology for Duke basketball.

The extensive use of video reflects Duke’s deep commitment to capitalizing on technology. “From video to analytics, we provide players and coaches with as much information as possible so they can optimize their game and make the best, most-educated decisions,” says Cullen.

Collecting Growing Volumes of High-Res Video Content

“The amount of footage has grown exponentially over the past five years,” says Chad Lampman, executive director of the Blue Devil Network.

“We are increasingly capturing high-resolution video and receiving uncompressed high-definition video from our network partners—the file sizes are gigantic,” says Lampman. “We need a storage environment that can continue to scale to meet our capacity and performance needs.”

Running out of Online Storage Capacity

Rather than archiving to tape, Duke wanted to keep as much content as possible on-line for editors and producers.

Ironically, the Duke’s success made that goal difficult to achieve. As teams competed in more post-season tournaments, the production team captured and stored more and more content. Eventually, it simply ran out of online storage capacity. “About two-thirds of the way through our season last year, we had to start taking content offline, moving it to tape, and storing tapes on shelves—we just didn’t have enough space,” says Lampman.

Identifying Top Storage Requirements: Reliability and Easy File Sharing

In selecting a new storage platform, reliability was one top priority. “We work in an always-on environment,” says Cullen. “Our coaches are up all night watching film after games. We needed a system that would be there with us the whole time.”

The ability to share content among video production teams was another. After Duke Basketball won the NCAA National Championship in 2015, production teams found it difficult to bring together footage from different storage silos. “It became a nightmare to share footage,” says Lampman. “We would sit around for an hour or two just copying different files to each other.”

“In some cases, we had stored the same footage twice,” says Cullen. “We realized there was a need to combine and share a lot of that video so we could all work off the same server system.”

Selecting the Stornext Platform

The Duke team called on LH Computer Services, an integrator specializing in media, entertainment, and sports, to help find a dependable storage solution that would enable Duke to expand online capacity and improve sharing.

After considering different options, the Duke team selected a Quantum StorNext M440 Metadata Appliance. It uses the StorNext 5 platform to manage large workflow environments, and can be combined with StorNext Q-Series disk to provide scalable, high-performance capacity that is cost-effective and easy to manage.

“The more people you talk to in the broadcast industry, the more you realize that it begins and ends with Quantum,” says Cullen. “Everybody wants to have it. It was the obvious choice for us.”

Streamlining Deployment & Integration

In deploying StorNext, the production team continued to use content from two existing SANs. One—an Apple Xsan—was converted to StorNext, leaving the data in place. Then the team deployed a StorNext QXS-1200 system to add much-needed capacity.

The process was painless. “The Quantum StorNext solution allowed us to integrate the existing content into StorNext as well as reuse the storage hardware seamlessly,” says Lampman. “It was a perfect transition—we had no issues at all.”

Gaining Scalability for the Future

The Duke production team now has a flexible, scalable platform that can accommodate changing requirements and growing data volumes well into the future. “Nobody knows what’s on the horizon for video—video formats continue to evolve and change. We have seen the introduction of HD, 3-D, 4K, and now 8K Ultra-HD video,” says Lampman. “We’re not entirely sure what the future holds, but with the Quantum StorNext platform, we know we have a foundation that we can build on.”

Key Benefits

  • Scales to support large volumes of video while controlling costs
  • Simplifies video sharing workflows with pooled data and fast concurrent access
  • Speeds responses to last-minute requests by keeping video online and available
  • Delivers a reliable, responsive experience for users who need round-the-clock access
  • Provides a storage foundation for the future even as video formats continue to evolve
  • Makes all video content available to transcode into multiple formats (university’s network, official web site, TV network partners, coaching videos, social media)

About Duke University

Located in Durham, North Carolina, Duke University consistently ranks among the top research universities in the United States. Nearly 15,000 Duke students study in a wide range of academic disciplines. With 27 NCAA Division I varsity sports teams, the university has won national championships in men’s basketball, lacrosse, and soccer, and women’s golf and tennis. The Blue Devil Network supports the Duke Department of Athletics by producing live and on-demand multimedia content for GoDuke.com (the University’s official web site for the Department of Athletics), TV networks, as well as coaches and players.