Crown Media
我们可以拥有本质上讲无限的归档容量,使我们能够比以往更快地检索资产 — 以磁盘速度。我们省却了备份但却拥有了更好的保护 — 始终有至少两个资产副本,为我们提供了全面的站点数据丢失防护。

Roy Burns
Crown Media 的数字资产管理总监

Crown Media 选择 Lattus 对象存储来扩展在线存储以应对内容的爆炸式增长

当 Crown Media 为其 Hallmark Channel、Netflix、iTunes 或 Apple TV 打造电视剧集和影片时,其工作流是存储密集型的。内容被收录并“拖入”媒体资产管理,进行记录、编辑、转码并最终归档。编辑将资产从归档中“拖出”并准备重新发布,而这往往是在几年之后。

快速增长为工作流存储构成挑战

Burns 解释道:“我们的业务在过去几年上升显著。2013 年,我们制作了 29 部电影。2015 年,这一数字几乎翻番达到 56 部。2016 年计划达到 78 部。我们在两年前意识到,现有存储系统难以支持这种增长。”

以往的解决方案有 160TB 的在线 RAID、磁带归档、昆腾的 StorNext 协作工作流软件。

Burns 表示:“大约两年前,由于我们不得不实现在线存储翻倍并且如此多的数据难以被轻松管理,我们当时决定是时候寻找另一种解决方案了。如此多的新内容所造成的压力意味着我们必须不停购买新的在线磁盘存储,管理更大的、难以访问的磁带归档,而不是保护内容以及做我们应当做的事,这是不可接受的。”

借助对象存储扩展在线容量

根据 Integrated Media Technologies (IMT)的建议,Crown Media 选择了 StorNext 5 设备和 Lattus 对象存储。StorNext 5 提供协作式存储管理,Lattus 扩展了在线存储,提供更高速的磁带替代选择。

Lattus 存储库使用对象存储来保存高达数百 PB 的数据,将数据分散到大量磁盘资源并按地理位置分发。环境是自修复型的,比 RAID 具备更大的可扩展性和弹性。Crown Media Lattus 初始配置为 500TB 可用容量,在洛杉矶和丹佛之间分布,并经过配置以实现全面的站点数据丢失防护。

工作流将归档与保护相结合

在新系统中,收录的内容被立即复制到 Lattus,并从加利福尼亚复制到科罗拉多。

Burns 指出:“这一初始备份步骤对我们非常重要。它为我们立即提供了在不同位置的两个副本,因此,我们获得了比以往更高级别的保护。最重要的是,流程是自动的,减少了 IT 人员的负担 — 完全消除了单独备份流程的开销和延迟。”

非活动内容被从在线存储移走,仅留 Lattus 副本。不过,编辑人员可通过 StorNext 和 Reach Engine 看到所有资产,使文件检索更加透明。

“当文件存储在 Lattus 归档,编辑几乎可以即时地将它们取回,比以往速度更快。这对我们很重要,因为我们几乎每天都要从归档中提取内容。通过 Reach Engine 我们能够看到一切,因此,我们就拥有了对所有工作流资产的单一管理和控制点。”

更快、更高容量的简化管理

Burns 指出:“借助昆腾的 Lattus 对象存储,我们可以拥有本质上讲无限的归档容量,使我们能够比以往更快地检索资产 — 以磁盘速度。“我们省却了备份但却拥有了更好的保护 — 始终有至少两个资产副本,为我们提供了全面的站点数据丢失防护。我们利用 Reach Engine 和 StorNext 5 真正简化了运营和集中管理。”

“当我们开始这一项目时,许多人认为它看起来有点超前了 —我们需要几年的时间来逐渐适应它。不过,一年后,我们意识到,没有它,我们可能无法生存 — 我们将 Lattus 的容量翻了一番。它在提升我们工作流效率方面也极具价值 — 从收录、编辑到交付和复用。”

主要优势

  • 可扩展对象存储归档提供了 PB 级可扩展归档,具有快速和基于磁盘的检索时间
  • 对象存储自动创建内容副本,并在站点之间进行复制,为站点提供数据丢失防护,无需单独的备份,可提供比 RAID 更高的冗余
  • 存储管理软件的集成、归档以及磁盘资产管理提供了单一管理点,简化了工作流,提升了员工工作效率
  • StorNext 5 与 Active Storage 和 Xsan 解决方案相关联,提供高速在线存储网络,以保护公司的存储基础设施投资。
  • 设备方法简化了安装和后续管理

关于 Crown Media

Crown Media Holdings, Inc. 是负责 Crown Media Family Networks 旗下有线网络和相关业务组合的母公司。公司现在运营 Hallmark Channel,以高清 (HD) 和标清 (SD) 格式向全美 9000 万订户提供电视节目。Hallmark Channel 全天候提供适合一家人共赏的高质素电视电影,迷你影集、连续影集以及既益智有趣,又富教育意义的儿童节目,包括《雪松湾》(Cedar Cove)、《倾听心灵》(When Calls the Heart)、《好女巫》(Good Witch) 以及一些最受欢迎的情景喜剧和连续剧。Hallmark Channel 还每年主办假日专营和圣诞倒数等活动,全天候提供假日节目。Hallmark Channel 的“同门”网络 — Hallmark Movies & Mysteries 为 6200 万个家庭提供 HD 和 SD 电视节目,是美国增速最快的有线电视网之一。Hallmark Movies & Mysteries提供原创电影和购买的连续剧集,所提供内容侧重于轻松的悬疑和神秘风格。该网络每年也举行节目专营活动,例如,“最精彩的圣诞电影”(The Most Wonderful Movies of Christmas)以及来自获奖 Hallmark Hall 佳片库的作品。此外,Crown Media Family Networks 还包括网站:HallmarkChannel.comHallmarkMoviesandMysteries.com

Crown Media
We have an essentially unlimited archive capacity that lets us bring back assets much faster than before—at disk speed. We’ve eliminated backup but have much better protection—there are always least two copies of the assets, and we have full site loss protection.

Roy Burns
Crown Media's Director of Digital Asset Management

Crown Media Selects Lattus Object Storage to Extend Online Storage for Content Explosion

When Crown Media creates television episodes and motion pictures for its Hallmark Channel, Netflix, iTunes, or Apple TV, its workflow is storage intensive. Content is ingested, pulled into media asset management, logged, edited, transcoded, and, finally, archived. Editors pull assets out of the archive and prepare for re-distribution, often years later.


“Our work has seen a dramatic upswing in the last few years,” explains Burns. “In 2013 we produced 29 movies. By 2015 we almost doubled that to 56. The schedule for 2016 calls for 78. We realized nearly two years ago that our existing storage systems could not support that kind of growth.”

The previous solution had 160TB of online RAID, a tape archive, and Quantum’s StorNext collaborative workflow software.

“About two years ago, because we had to double our online storage and had so much data that couldn’t be managed easily, we decided then it was time to look for another kind of solution,” says Burns. “The strain created by so much more new content meant that we were continually buying new online disk storage, managing larger tape archives that were hard to access, and not protecting content as well as we should. It was unacceptable.”


With advice from Integrated Media Technologies (IMT), Crown Media moved to Quantum’s StorNext 5 appliances and Lattus object storage. StorNext 5 provides collaborative storage management, while Lattus extends online storage, providing a higher-speed alternative to tape.

Lattus repositories use object storage to hold up to hundreds of petabytes, spreading the data across a large number of disk resources and distributing it geographically. The environment is self-healing and more scalable and resilient than RAID. The Crown Media Lattus configuration began with 500TB of usable capacity, spread between Los Angeles and Denver and configured for full site loss protection.


In the new system, ingested content is immediately copied to Lattus and replicated from California to Colorado.

“This initial backup step is very important for us,” says Burns. “It gives us two copies in different sites immediately, so we get much higher levels of protection than we had before. Best of all, the process is automatic, which reduces the load on our IT guys—it completely eliminates the overhead and delays of a separate backup process.”

Inactive content is removed from the online storage, leaving only the Lattus copies. The editors, however, see all the assets through StorNext and Reach Engine, making retrieving files transparent.

“When files are stored in the Lattus archive, editors get them back almost instantaneously, much faster than before. That’s important for us, because we pull content out of the archive literally every day. And we see everything through Reach Engine so we have a single point of management and control for all workflow assets.”


“With Quantum’s Lattus object storage, we have an essentially unlimited archive capacity that lets us bring back assets much faster than before—at disk speed.” says Burns. “We’ve eliminated backup but have much better protection—there are always least two copies of the assets, giving us full site loss protection. We've truly simplified operation and centralized administration using Reach Engine and StorNext 5.”

“When we started this project, many of us thought that it looked like overkill—that we’d need a couple of years to grow into it. But a year later, we realize that we’d be dead without it—we wouldn’t be able to function—and we’re in the process of doubling the Lattus capacity. It’s been invaluable in increasing the efficiency of our workflow, from ingest to edit to delivery and re-use.”

Key Benefits

  • Scalable object storage archive provides petabytes of scalable archive with fast, disk-based retrieval times
  • Object storage automatically creates copies of content, replicates it between sites, and provides site loss protection, eliminating the need for separate backup and providing higher resiliency than RAID
  • Integration of storage management software, archive, and media asset management provides a single point of management, simplifying the workflow and increasing staff efficiency
  • StorNext 5 continuity with Active Storage and Xsan solutions provides high-speed online storage network, protecting the company’s investment in storage infrastructure
  • Appliance approach simplifies installation and ongoing management

About Crown Media

Crown Media Holdings, Inc. is the corporate parent for the portfolio of cable networks and related businesses under Crown Media Family Networks. The company currently operates and distributes Hallmark Channel in both high definition (HD) and standard definition (SD) to 90 million subscribers in the U.S. Hallmark Channel is the nation’s leading destination for quality family programming with an ambitious slate of TV movies and specials; original scripted series, including Cedar Cove, When Calls the Heart, and Good Witch; as well as some of television’s most beloved sitcoms and series. Hallmark Channel is also home to the annual holiday franchise, Countdown to Christmas, featuring a lineup of 24/7 holiday programming. Hallmark Channel’s sibling network, Hallmark Movies & Mysteries, is available in 62 million homes in HD and SD and is one of America’s fastest-growing cable networks. Hallmark Movies & Mysteries features a unique mix of original movies and acquired series focusing on the lighter side of the suspense and mystery genres. The network is also home to the annual holiday franchise, The Most Wonderful Movies of Christmas, as well as presentations from the award-winning Hallmark Hall of Fame library. In addition, Crown Media Family Networks includes the online offerings of and