Crawford Media Services
Lattus 使我们能够提供从行业中其他厂商的解决方案无法获得归档服务 — 100% 的数据完整性、通过无干扰可扩展性未来可迁移至更新的技术,并且可选择将数据的重复副本存储在不同位置,以实现更进一步的 DR 保护。

Steve Davis
执行副总裁兼首席技术官,Crawford Media Services

Crawford Media Services 借助 Lattus 对象存储实现媒体归档转型

作为美国知名的媒体服务公司之一,Crawford Media Services 可提供与媒体服务相关的一切 — 从后期制作到资产管理与归档。其项目涵盖广泛:从热门剧集(例如,《行尸走肉》)到电影(例如,《林肯》 以及 隐藏任务》),其客户包括一些行业领先企业,例如,Coca-Cola、PBS 和 Viacom。

Crawford 执行副总裁兼首席技术官 Steve Davis 指出:“过去 30 年,我们保持成功并且维持增长的‘秘诀’在于不断了解行业的发展方向并且确保我们能够为客户提供使他们长期保持竞争优势的服务。”该公司的归档方法就是最好佐证。

随着公司旧的线性媒体日益老化超过使用年限,Crawford 意识到,需要对成千上万小时的内容进行数字化和归档,以实现长期存储。

容量要求考验 RAID 极限

Crawford 使用 RAID 阵列、数字磁带以及自己的数字资产管理器 — Engage 来为客户提供归档。不过,随着来自保留级媒体文件的数据激增,每小时内容所耗费的容量高达 100GB 甚至更高,这会很快超过 RAID 的极限。

“RAID 在磁盘级别为您提供了冗余。随着您的磁盘越来越多、越来越大 — 现在,4TB 磁盘很常见 — 发生故障的可能性也在增加。一旦发生问题,后果相当严重,磁盘重建可能耗时数天。在此期间,数据可能遭到破坏,系统性能会下降。”

考察对象存储技术

Crawford 花了大约两年时间来考察这项技术以支持其称为 AMBER 的第二代归档,并且最终确信采用纠删码(对象存储背后所蕴含的技术)是解决问题的有效方法。它可以将数据分为许多离散单元,然后将其分布到许多存储节点(具有奇偶校验和冗余)。如果发生错误或磁盘故障,自动从其他位置读取数据。磁盘可被广泛的选择所代替,在重建过程中几乎不会发生中断,比使用 RAID 数据完整性更高。

充分利用 Lattus 实现可扩展的弹性归档

在评估了一些备选方案后,Crawford 的团队认为昆腾的 Lattus 对象存储解决方案是 AMBER 的理想之选。

Davis 表示:“我们知道 Lattus 背后所蕴含的技术,其成熟度、灵活性和可扩展性给我们留下非常深刻的印象。昆腾还提供基于设备的实施,Artico,可将 Lattus 与昆腾的 StorNext 数据管理平台相集成。昆腾的 StorNext 文件系统使归档的使用更加简便,其 API 可支持与 Engage 集成。此外,它还为依靠移动介质进行内容传输的客户提供磁带支持。”

出色的可扩展性,可有效保留数据并降低成本

Lattus 让用户可以选择使用 SSD 或者常规的磁盘作为缓存。它以小的增量进行扩展,易于添加新技术并且可与现有存储池集成。因此,Crawford 能够以比常规云服务更低的成本提供 AMBER 服务。

新的归档系统初始规模可容纳公司的 1.2PB 客户端归档,并为增长提供了空间。客户端使用 Engage 查看代理,它会将全分辨率副本发送至 FTP 服务器或磁带。Davis 解释道:“这一系统的优势之一是我们的客户端不必受制于恢复所有文件。StorNext 支持部分文件恢复,因此,用户能够通过将文件恢复到特定的时间码范围来最大限度减少数据移动。

Lattus 使我们能够提供从行业中其他厂商的解决方案无法获得归档服务 — 100% 的数据完整性、通过无干扰可扩展性未来可迁移至更新的技术,并且可选择将数据的重复副本存储在不同位置,以实现更进一步的 DR 保护。”

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 昆腾基于纠删码 (erasure code) 的 Lattus 对象存储可提供比 RAID 更高的数据完整性,消除了因系统扩展所导致的中断。
  • 系统可提供无限的可扩展性以支持按照保留率决策进行大规模存储。
  • 归档提供了以小增量进行扩展的选项,以最大限度降低资本成本。
  • 通过直接将新的磁带机集成到现有存储池 — 无需进行叉车式升级,系统可充分利用下一代技术。
  • StorNext 文件系统与现有 Metaforce 媒体管理协作,使客户端能够轻松查看内容。此外,它还能够管理数据向其他位置(包括磁带)的移动。
  • 作为一家在媒体和归档应用领域拥有数十年经验的存储公司,昆腾可提供快速、有效的支持。

关于 Crawford Media

Crawford Media Services, Inc. 是一家位于亚特兰大的私人公司,是经实践验证的电子媒体服务行业的领导者。其使命是为电视、电影和档案客户提供富有创意的一站式电子媒体解决方案。35 年来,Crawford 为国内外的重要客户提供了出色的媒体服务。Crawford 致力于技术进步,不断提供最全面的数字化、数字归档、描述性元数据和资产管理解决方案。

Crawford Media Services
Lattus gives us the ability to provide a level of archiving service that we have not seen from anyone else in the industry—100% data integrity, migration to newer technology in the future through non-disruptive scalability, and the option of storing duplicate copies of data in different locations for an additional level of DR protection.

Steve Davis
Executive vice president and chief technology officer, Crawford Media Services

Crawford Media Services Revolutionizes Media Archiving with Lattus Object Storage

One of the country’s preeminent media service companies, Crawford Media Services provides everything from post-production to asset management and archiving. Its projects cover the gamut: from episodic television stalwarts like The Walking Dead to major motion pictures like Lincoln and Hidden Figures, and its customer list includes industry leaders, such as Coca-Cola, PBS, and Viacom.

“One of the ways that we have stayed successful and kept growing over the last 30 years,” explains Steve Davis, Crawford executive vice president and chief technology officer, “is by constantly being aware of where the industry is moving and making sure that we offer our clients the level and kind of services that will keep them competitive over the long term.” A perfect example is the company’s approach to archiving.

As the company’s old, linear media was aging past its useful life, Crawford realized that thousands and thousands of hours of content would need to be digitized and archived for long-term storage.

Capacity Requirement Tests the Limits of RAID

Crawford already offered archiving for its clients using RAID arrays, digital tape, and their own digital asset manager, Engage. But the massive data influx from preservation-grade media files, ones consuming 100GB or more for every hour of content, was quickly outpacing RAID.

“RAID gives you redundancy at the level of the disk. As you get more disks and they get larger— now 4TB disks are common—the odds of a failure go up. The consequences are massive, and disk rebuilds can last for days. During that time data is vulnerable, and the system’s performance is degraded.”

Investigating Object Storage

Crawford spent almost two years investigating the technology to support its second-generation archive, called AMBER, and were convinced that erasure coding, one technology behind object storage, was the answer. It breaks data into many discrete units, and then spreads it, with parity and redundancy, over many storage nodes. If errors occur or a disk fails, the data is automatically read from the other locations. Disks can be replaced with a broad range of choices, there is virtually no downtime during rebuild, and the integrity of the data is much higher than with RAID.

Leveraging Lattus for a Scalable, Resilient Archive

After looking at the alternatives, the Crawford team decided that Quantum’s Lattus object storage solution was the ideal choice for AMBER.

“We knew the technology behind Lattus and had been very impressed with its maturity, resilience, and scalability,” says Davis. “Quantum also offers an appliance-based implementation, Artico, that integrates Lattus with Quantum’s StorNext data management platform. Quantum’s StorNext File System makes it easy to use the archive, and its API enables integration with Engage. It also supports tape for clients who rely on removable media for content transfer.”

Scalability to Preserve Data and Reduce Costs

Lattus gives users a choice of using SSDs or conventional hard disks as a cache. It scales in small increments and makes it easy to add new technology, integrating it into the existing storage pool. The result is that Crawford can offer AMBER services at substantially lower rates than conventional cloud services.

The new archive was initially sized to accommodate the company’s 1.2PB client archive and provide room for growth. Clients view proxies using Engage, and it sends full-resolution copies to an FTP server or tape. “One of the strengths of the system is that our clients are not limited to recovering whole files,” Davis explains. “StorNext supports partial file recovery, so users can minimize data movement by bringing back specific timecode ranges.”

“Lattus gives us the ability to provide a level of archiving service that we have not seen from anyone else in the industry—100% data integrity, migration to newer technology in the future through non-disruptive scalability, and the option of storing duplicate copies of data in different locations for an additional level of DR protection.”

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Quantum’s Lattus erasure code–based object storage provides higher data integrity than RAID and eliminates downtime for system expansion.
  • System offers unlimited scalability to support very large-scale storage at preservation rate resolutions.
  • Archive offers options for growth in small increments to minimize capital costs.
  • System can take advantage of next-generation technology by directly integrating new drives into the existing storage pool—no need for forklift upgrades.
  • StorNext File System works with existing Metaforce media management to make it easy for clients to view content. It also manages the movement of data to other locations, including tape.
  • Quantum, a storage company with decades of experience in media and archive applications, provides fast, effective support.

About Crawford Media

Crawford Media Services, Inc. is an Atlanta-based, privately held company and proven leader in the electronic media services industry. Its mission is to provide creative, turnkey electronic media solutions for television, film, and archival clients. For over 35 years, Crawford has offered premium media services to domestic and international clients. Through its ongoing commitment to evolve technologies, Crawford continues to deliver the best in comprehensive digitization, digital archive, descriptive metadata, and asset management solutions.