Craftsy
StorNext 提供了出色的性能,使我们能够高效地进行多机位编辑。制作团队可以始终专注于制作,我们能够更灵活地进行编辑,整个工作流更加快速。

Justin Lang
开发工程师,Craftsy

借助昆腾 StorNext 打造可扩展的视频工作流

仅仅 6 年的时间,Craftsy 已发展成为一个数以千计的创意专业人员和数百万手工制作者的重要聚会场所,超过 1200 个针对各类主题的视频课程 — 从缝纫和烘焙到摄影和珠宝制作。这些课程以入门教学为特色,支持与讲师和其他学员的直接在线互动,同时提供可下载的模板、耗材和完整工具包。

Craftsy 拥有强大的制造团队,可满足不断增长的需求,使用五个视频工作室和十多位视频编辑来持续制作有吸引力的内容。

增长超出了其现有环境

Craftsy 最初将一个基于 iSCSI 的存储区域网 (SAN) 用于视频文件,但在两年的时间里便超出了其承受能力。Craftsy 开发工程师 Justin Lang 指出:“我不得不持续将文件四处移动以释放容量 — 这是一大痛点。”

此外,它还缺乏支持多机位编辑所需的性能。Lang 解释道:“多机位编辑需要强大的存储性能,因为进行编辑时,编辑人员需要同步播放这些多角度视频流。我们需要一个能够提供更好的性能,从而使我们可以更快制作高质量视频的系统。”

可靠性也是一大关注问题。“每天晚上,我们要导出大约 15 个视频。利用 SAN,我们每晚都会遇到一两次失败。SAN 缺乏可靠导出文件所需的性能。”Lang 如是说。经常发生停机。

采用 StorNext 文件系统

Craftsy 部署了使用昆腾 StorNext 的新的光纤通道 SAN,简化了管理,提高了可扩展性,可提供对文件的快速访问。StorNext 提供一个高性能共享文件系统,可跨多层存储环境实现对文件和内容快速、低延迟的访问。

最初,Craftsy 选择了一种“自己动手”的方法,将 StorNext 软件与第三方存储以及来自 Levels Beyond 的 Reach Engine 媒体资产管理系统相集成。

新的系统简化了文件访问。Lang 指出:“编辑能够轻松地从 Adobe Premiere Pro 提取项目文件 — 利用 MAM 和单一 StorNext 文件系统,无论原始文件位于何处。编辑不必管理素材,管理员避免了尝试查找文件的繁琐。”

升级至 StorNext 设备

升级的时候,Craftsy 选择了昆腾 StorNext M440 元数据设备 (英语),该设备使用 StorNext 5 平台来管理数据,为其 SAN 添加这一设备以及 StorNext Q 系列存储 (英语)。昆腾和其一家集成商帮助实现了顺利部署。Lang 坦言“我们白天对环境进行准备,晚上便实现了切换。停机不超过一天。”

建立简化的工作流

StorNext 简化了制作工作流。Lang 指出:“当编辑启动收录流程,数据被传送至 SAN,MAM 提取数据进行收录。最终,所有原始内容驻留在 StorNext 环境 — 我们整个资产库所在位置,直至内容被归档。借助 StorNext,多位用户可同步访问所需资产。”

加快工作流,提升可靠性

Lang 指出:“StorNext SAN 可提供比我们的 iSCSI SAN 更出色的性能。视频导出更快速。因此,制作人能够比以往更迅速地开始审查素材并为编辑提供反馈。”

StorNext 还支持多机位编辑。Lang 表示:“StorNext 提供了出色的性能,使我们能够高效地进行多机位编辑吗。制作团队可以始终专注于制作,我们能够更灵活地进行编辑,整个工作流更加快速。”

StorNext 还从根本上消除了导出故障。“借助 StorNext 解决方案,导出故障已从每晚一至两次降为零。我们的编辑能够集中精力于创造性的流程而不是技术问题。”Lang 如是说。IT 部门对于系统的稳定性也印象深刻。

正如 Lang 所言:“现在,我们已实施了 StorNext 解决方案,我不必担心扩展问题。无论我们何时需要提高制作量,只需添加磁盘容量,系统就能无缝扩展。作为一家公司,Craftsy 能够不断提供更多的视频和更多的课程,支持不断扩展的手工制作者社区,而无需对我们的存储环境进行大的改变。”

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 有助于通过单一 StorNext 文件系统提供快速同步文件访问
  • 可无缝扩展以满足视频内容和课程持续增长的需求
  • 凭借出色的性能,支持高效的多机位视频编辑
  • 加快晚间视频导出 — 简化审查流程
  • 消除视频导出错误,避免影响生产率的停机故障

关于 Craftsy

Craftsy 于 2010 年由几位技术型创业者创立,是一个面向爱动手的“制作者”的网上手工艺教学基地。每周有超过一百万充满好奇心和创造性的会员访问 Craftsy 以获得创意和灵感 — 从编织、缝纫到摄影和蛋糕装饰,无所不包。Craftsy 社区还包括数以千计的创意专业人士,他们作为讲师、图案设计师和特约编辑来分享专业知识。

Craftsy
StorNext gives us the performance to do multi-cam editing efficiently. Production teams can stay focused on set, we have greater flexibility for editing, and the entire workflow is faster.

Justin Lang
Development engineer, Craftsy

Crafting a Scalable Video Workflow with Quantum StorNext

In only six years, Craftsy has become a premier meeting place for thousands of creative pros and millions of makers, producing more than 1,200 video classes on topics ranging from sewing and baking to photography and jewelry making. The classes feature how-to lessons, enable direct online interaction with instructors and other students, and are supported by downloadable templates, supplies, and complete kits.

Craftsy has a substantial production team to meet the growing demand, using five video studios and more than 10 video editors to continuously generate compelling content.

Outgrowing its Existing Environment

Craftsy initially used an iSCSI-based storage area network (SAN) for video files, but outgrew it within two years. “I had to continuously move files around to free capacity—it was a huge pain,” says Justin Lang, development engineer at Craftsy.

It also didn’t have the performance to support multi-camera editing. “Multi-cam editing requires strong storage performance because editors need to play those multi-angle video streams simultaneously when editing,” explains Lang. “We needed a system that could deliver better performance, so we could produce high-quality videos, faster.”

Reliability was also a concern. “Every night, we export about 15 videos,” says Lang. “With the SAN, we had one or two failures per night, which slowed our workflow. The SAN just didn’t have the performance needed to export files reliably.” And there was often down-time.

Adopting the StorNext File System

Craftsy deployed a new Fibre Channel SAN using Quantum StorNext to streamline management, increase scalability, and provide fast access to files. StorNext offers a high-performance shared file system that provides rapid, low-latency access to content across a multi-tier storage environment.

Initially, Craftsy opted for a “roll-your-own” approach, integrating StorNext software with third-party storage and a Reach Engine media asset management system from Levels Beyond.

The new system streamlined file access. “Editors can easily grab a project file from within Adobe Premiere Pro,” says Lang. “With the MAM and a single StorNext file system, it doesn’t matter where the original files reside. Editors don’t have to manage footage, and administrators avoid the headaches of trying to find files.”

Upgrading to StorNext Appliances

When it was time to upgrade, Craftsy selected a Quantum StorNext M440 Metadata Appliance, which uses the StorNext 5 platform to manage data, adding it and StorNext Q-Series Storage to its SAN. Quantum and one of its integrators helped create a smooth deployment. “We prepared the environment during the day and did the cutover at night,” says Lang. “Downtime was less than a day.”

Establishing a Streamlined Workflow

StorNext has streamlined the production workflow. “Once editors begin the ingest process, data is transferred to the SAN, then the MAM picks it up for ingest,” says Lang. “Ultimately, all of the raw content resides in the StorNext environment—that’s where our entire repository of assets lives until it’s time for archiving. With StorNext, multiple users can simultaneously access the assets they need.”

Accelerating Workflow, Improving Reliability

“The StorNext SAN delivers significantly better performance than our iSCSI SAN,” says Lang. “Video exports are much faster. As a result, producers can start reviewing footage and providing feedback to editors more rapidly than before.”

StorNext also enables multi-camera editing. “StorNext gives us the performance to do multi-cam editing efficiently,” says Lang. “Production teams can stay focused on set, we have greater flexibility for editing, and the entire workflow is faster.”

StorNext has also essentially eliminated export failures. “With the StorNext solution, export failures have gone from one or two per night to zero,” says Lang. “Our editors can concentrate on the creative process instead of technical issues.” And the IT group has also been impressed with the system’s stability.

“Now that we’ve implemented our StorNext solution, I don’t have to worry about scaling,” says Lang. “Whenever we need to increase our production output, I can just add disk capacity, and the system scales seamlessly. As a company, Craftsy can continue to produce more videos, offer more classes, and support an expanding community of makers without requiring a major overhaul of our storage environment.”

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Helps provide fast, simultaneous file access through the single StorNext file system
  • Scales seamlessly for continuous growth of video content and course offerings
  • Enables efficient multi-camera video editing with exceptional storage performance
  • Accelerates nightly video exports—streamlining the review process
  • Eliminates video export errors and avoids productivity-killing downtime

About Craftsy

Founded by technical entrepreneurs in 2010, Craftsy is an online destination for “makers” who love what they do. More than a million curious and creative members visit Craftsy every week for ideas and inspiration in everything from knitting and quilting to photography and cake decorating. The Craftsy community also includes thousands of creative professionals who share their expertise as instructors, pattern designers, and contributing editors.