生物制药
使用昆腾 vmPRO 可以轻松查找和获取所需的文件,即使没接受过太多培训也无妨,这样您的远程 IT 员工就可以在没有本地支持的情况下轻松处理恢复工作。

 

公司 IT 管理员

支持无限制数据保留的最佳方案

完美方案:适用于生物制药公司的 DXi 解决方案

全球化生物制药公司的快速扩张意味着,现有的可用容量已无法满足数据保护需求。公司针对物理和虚拟环境部署了以磁盘、磁带和软件为核心的纯昆腾解决方案。成效: 显著节省成本、加快备份和恢复速度并构建可扩展的基础设施,从而轻松满足发展需求。 

成本高昂的无限制数据保留

这家知名生物制药公司总部位于美国,在北美、欧洲和亚洲分别设有办事处。公司大幅增加的数据存储需求使有限的 IT 资源和老化的磁带基础设施难以应对。而更复杂的是,相关法律要求无限制的保留数据副本。

如此一来,公司需要在多个地点全天候运行备份。此外,由于磁带是运往异地且从不重复使用,因此成本不断攀升。公司一度每个月光是在磁带上的支出就达到了 1 万美元以上。而且恢复也是一个问题,往往要一周甚至更久才能完成。

公司一位 IT 管理员表示:“我每天要花六个小时来执行文件恢复、更换磁带以及处理失败的备份等。这样一来,我几乎没有时间去做别的事。”

利用昆腾解决方案克服所有难题

为了克服上述备份难题,公司决定寻求一款基于磁盘的解决方案。在评估了多家供应商后,公司选择了 Quantum DXi® 设备。

他表示:“DXi 设备将我们的备份时间缩短了一半,而恢复则几乎是即时完成。同时,我们购买了一款 Quantum Scalar® i500 磁带库来整合磁带存储。凭借这两款解决方案,我们显著减少了磁带成本和备份管理工作。”

不过,公司后来又尝试了一款价格更低的纯软件重复数据删除方案。但代价惨重。

IT 发言人报告说:“我感觉几乎一年中一直有待处理的支持申请单。我们遇到了大问题,并逐渐意识到,公司必须继续使用 DXi 解决方案 — 它是最适合我们的,而且很明显,它为我们提供了更大的价值。”

当公司再次找到昆腾时,充分利用了昆腾丰富的产品组合:为主生产中心购买了一台 50TB DXi8500,为执行灾难恢复购买了一台 56TB DXi 设备,为全球较小的远程站点的数据保护购买了多台 8TB 和 16TB DXi 设备。

DXi 系列的高性能和强大的重复数据删除为公司带来了显而易见的优势,即使当数据增长到 65TB 以上(三年中的增长率高达 400%),依然能保证备份时间窗口的可管理性。由于 DXi 的重复数据删除率高达 99.1%,因此 IT 员工还能在 DXi 系统上保留大量归档数据多年。如此一来,磁带的消耗可以减少 90%,每年将节省 10 万美元的成本。此外,恢复操作近乎瞬时完成。

使用的产品

主要优势

  • 将备份时间缩短一半
  • 只需几分钟(而非)数天即可恢复丢失的数据
  • 每年节省的 IT 管理实践超过四个月
  • 每年节省的磁带成本超过 10 万美元
  • 构建高效的分层存储战略

Quantum’s vmPRO makes it easy to find and grab needed files even when you don’t have much training, allowing our remote IT staff to handle restores without local support.

Company IT Administrator

The right prescription for infinite data retention

Perfect Prescription: DXi Solution for Biopharmaceutical Company

The rapid expansion of a global biopharmaceutical company meant data protection requirements were outstripping available capacity. The company moved to an all-Quantum solution featuring disk, tape, and software for both physical and virtual environments. The result: Dramatic cost savings, faster backup and restore, and a scalable infrastructure that keeps it ahead of growth. 

Costly Infinite Retention

Based in the U.S., this leading biopharmaceutical company has offices in North America, Europe, and Asia. The company’s dramatically increasing data storage requirements were stretching the organization’s limited IT resources and aging tape infrastructure to the breaking point. Complicating matters were legal requirements to retain copies of data indefinitely.

As a result, the company was running backups at multiple locations 24/7. In addition, because tapes were shipped offsite and never reused, costs were going through the roof. At one point, the company was spending more than $10,000 per month just on tapes. Also, restores were a problem, often taking at least a week to complete.

“Eventually I found myself spending six hours a day triaging file recoveries, swapping tapes, babysitting failed backups, etc.,” says a company IT administrator. “There was almost no time to do anything else.”

On, Off, On-Again with Quantum

To address these backup challenges, the company decided it needed a disk-based solution. After evaluating vendors, the company settled on a Quantum DXi® appliance.

“The DXi appliance cut our backup times in half, and restores were almost immediate,” he says. “At the same time, we bought a Quantum Scalar® i500 library to consolidate our tape storage, and between the two we drastically cut our tape costs and backup administration.”

However, the company at a later point tried what appeared to be a cheaper, software-only deduplication alternative. The results were disastrous.

“I think we had a support ticket open continuously for almost a year,” reports the IT spokesman. “We had major, major issues and realized that we should have stuck with the DXi solution—it just worked for us and clearly provided much greater value.”

When the company returned to Quantum, it took advantage of the breadth of Quantum’s portfolio, purchasing a 50TB DXi8500 for its main production center, a 56TB DXi appliance for disaster recovery, and multiple 8TB and 16TB DXi appliances for data protection at smaller remote sites worldwide.

The DXi-Series’ high performance and powerful deduplication have been a huge boon for the company, keeping backup windows manageable even as its data has grown to over 65TB—up more than 400 percent in three years. With DXi deduplication ratios as high as 99.1 percent, the IT staff has also been able to keep much of the data archived for years on the DXi systems. As a result, tape consumption is down by a factor of ten, saving $100,000 annually. In addition, restores are nearly instantaneous.

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Cuts backup times in half
  • Restores lost data in minutes rather than days
  • Saves more than four months per year in IT administration time
  • Captures more than $100,000 in annual tape savings
  • Enables efficient tiered storage strategy