BBC Sport
我们建议采用的架构基于对他们工作流要求的深入分析,因此我们能够满足他们的真正需求 — 作为真正的制作数据库而不是简单的归档。  

 

Warren Peel
Trams 董事总经理

分层存储让媒体巨头轻松访问所有内容归档

BBC Sport 需要充分利用其丰富的、超过 75 年历史的体育内容库 —它的“制作归档”,因为需要其所有员工能够随时使用这些内容。它是日常制作的重要组成部分并且对于充分发挥其历史和品牌优势也至关重要。

发挥整合优势

当 BBC Sport 在 2014 年决定向新的基于数字的归档转型时,执行了一个竞争性招标流程,昆腾合作伙伴 Trams 与广播和制作工作流专业机构 Media Manor 共同中标。

除了性价比组合赢得青睐,解决方案还将制作与归档存储相融合。

Trams 董事总经理 Warren Peel 表示:“他们制定了一些目标性能指标,我们轻松地满足了这些指标要求。我们建议采用的架构基于对他们工作流要求的深入分析,因此我们能够满足他们的真正需求 — 作为真正的制作数据库而不是简单的归档。”

架构

在设计阶段,思路逐渐清晰:基于 StorNext 5 的四层解决方案是最适合的。StorNext 5 是一个全面的端到端解决方案,提供内容制作、发布和归档,具备实况节目制作所必需的性能。

第一层存储是高性能 QD6000 磁盘,提供 173TB 可用容量,用户主要通过资产管理系统访问内容,在此维护所有代理存储以提供对整个归档的访问。转码引擎间的转换增加了整体所需的带宽,因此,所实施的第一层架构具有 2.4GB/秒的带宽。

第二层存储是第一层后的 336TB 缓存存储。StorNext QD6000 磁盘提供存储,不过磁带机容量更大,速度更低(7200rpm,与第一层的 10000rpm 形成对比)。为了确保无瓶颈,整个系统的数据传输容量为 6.4GB/秒。

第三层是 StorNext AEL6000 Archive,采用双机械臂和 18 个双路径 LTO-6 磁带机,外加两个扩展数据生命周期管理 (EDLM) 磁带机,可对磁带进行不间断检测以确保数据完整性。在归档方面,所有文件被存储到两个单独的磁带以确保弹性,系统经过精心设计,通过集成下一代 LTO-7 磁带机,可将有效容量扩展至超过 10 PB。

当被写入归档时,在磁带上创建第三个副本,该副本被从设备中“弹出”。异地保存的数据构成了第四层存储。

性能

“Media Manor 的董事总经理 Declan Wood 表示:“我们实现了一个具有更高性能的系统。磁盘中的内容真正被非常快速地提供,我们在内部能够迅速而安全地添加和拆除磁盘,因为磁带中的一切都是安全且经过重复数据删除的。”

2015 年 1 月,系统上线,并且一直不间断地使用。Wood 坦言:“BBC Sport 将系统整合为一个统一的环境,以确保性能和形成单一管理点。

系统运作良好,几乎不需要任何支持。从经销商的角度,我很自信,从最终用户的角度,我同样如此,这是非常好的事情。通过系统设计,我们证明昆腾解决方案是最适当的技术解决方案,这一点已经经过实践证明。”

主要优势

  • 高达 6.4GB/秒的高速数据传输带宽确保轻松转码功能并消除了内容流瓶颈
  • 向基于 LTO 的归档进行自动的基于策略的内容迁移
  • 磁带归档自动创建更多副本以供异地存储
  • EDLM 磁带机确保数据始终可以自修复
  • 所设计的架构可轻松扩展至 10 PB 以上的存储

关于 BBC Sport

BBC Sport 每年负责为广播、电视和网络提供 20000 小时全球体育赛事节目,包括体育比赛实况转播、花絮、体育新闻以及杂志节目。其预计,每周有 40% 的英国公众收听或收看 BBC Sport 的节目。BBC Sport 总部位于英国索尔福德,其归档的深度极其广泛、重要性极高,存储的内容涵盖了英国体育史中一些最重要的时刻。

要了解有关 BBC Sport 所制作的体育节目和内容的更多信息,请访问 BBC Commissioning。

关于 Trams

Trams 总部位于伦敦中心,业务遍及整个英国,它是一家知名的 B2B IT 系统与服务提供商,拥有在存储与创意工作流、新媒体、商业 IT 以及教育等领域具备丰富经验的专业咨询团队。Trams 与 50 多家全球知名供应商保持着长期合作伙伴关系,是 Apple 授权经销商和服务提供商、昆腾存储增值经销商以及 Xerox 托管打印合作伙伴。

要了解更多信息,请访问 http://www.trams.co.uk/home

关于 Media Manor

Media Manor 是一家媒体和广播工作流咨询机构,专长于提供实践方法来解决与引入融合媒体技术和新的广播及制作工作流相关的问题。创新和理念先导是其客户服务的关键要素,在提供广播和 IT 转型计划方面的多年经验是其成功的基础。Media Manor 主要从事与数字采集和制作、后期制作、归档与存储解决方案以及任何成功实施所需要的技术、业务和最终用户工作流相关的规格制定、设计、构建和培训。http://www.media-manor.com

BBC Sport
Our proposed architecture dug deep into their workflow requirements so that we could meet their real needs as a true production library, not a simple archive.  


Warren Peel
Managing Director, Trams

Tiered storage gives broadcaster easy access to full content archive

BBC Sport calls its rich library of sports content, dating back more than 75 years, its “production archive”, because it needs to be available to all its staff for use at a moment’s notice. It is a vital part of everyday production and critical to leveraging their history and brand.

Bringing it Together

When BBC Sport decided to move to a new digital-based archive in 2014, a competitive tendering process followed, which was won by Quantum partner Trams in collaboration with Media Manor, a specialist in broadcast and production workflows.

In addition to a winning price-performance combination, the solution blended production and archive storage.

“They had set some target performance metrics, and we comfortably met them,” says Warren Peel, Managing Director of Trams. “Our proposed architecture dug deep into their workflow requirements so that we could meet their real needs as a true production library, not a simple archive.”


During the design phase, it became clear that a four-tier solution based on StorNext 5 was most appropriate. StorNext 5 is a complete end-to-end solution providing content production, distribution, and archiving with the performance necessary for live production.

The tier 1 storage is high-performance QD6000 disk, delivering 173TB of usable capacity, where users access content primarily through the asset management system, and where all of the proxy storage is maintained to provide access to the whole of the archive. Transfer between transcoding engines adds to the overall needed bandwidth, so the tier 1 architecture was implemented with a bandwidth of 2.4GB/s.

The tier 2 storage is buffer store of 336TB behind tier 1. StorNext QD6000 disk provides the storage, but with larger capacity and lower speed drives (7200rpm, as opposed to tier 1’s 10,000rpm). To ensure that there are no bottlenecks, the entire system has a data transfer capacity of 6.4GB/s.

Tier 3 is a StorNext AEL6000 Archive with dual robotics and 18 dual-pathed LTO-6 drives, plus two Extended Data Life Management (EDLM) drives which continuously inspect media to ensure data integrity. In the archive, all files are stored on two separate tapes for resilience, and the system is designed to expand its effective capacity to over 10 petabytes by integrating the next-generation, LTO-7 drives.

Whenever content is written into the archive, a third copy is made on tape, which is ejected from the device. This off-site, vaulted data forms the tier 4 storage.


“The result is a system with a lot of horsepower,” explains Declan Wood, Managing Director of Media Manor. “Content on disk is delivered really very quickly indeed, and internally we can build and unbuild the disks swiftly and securely because everything is secured and duplicated on tape.”

The system went live in January 2015, and is in constant use. “BBC Sport went from its mix of systems to a unified environment with a guaranteed performance and a single point of administration,” Wood says.

“The system works well, and requires zero touch for support,” he concludes. “From the reseller point of view, and I am sure from an end user point of view, too, that is a very good thing. We demonstrated through our system design that the Quantum solution was the most appropriate technical solution, and so it has been proved in practice.”

Key Benefits

  • High data transfer bandwidth of 6.4GB/s ensures easy transcoding functions and stops content flow bottlenecks
  • Automated policy-based content migration to LTO-based archive
  • Tape archive automatically creates additional copies for off-site vault storage
  • EDLM drives ensure data is self-healing over time
  • Architecture designed to easily expand to over ten petabytes of storage

About BBC Sport

BBC Sport is responsible for 20,000 hours of global sports coverage across radio, TV and online each year, including live sporting events, highlights, sports news and magazine programs. It’s estimated to reach 40% of the British public every week. Based in Salford, UK, the depth and importance of its archive is expansive, storing content that covers some of the biggest moments in British sporting history.

For more information on the sports and content BBC Sports produces, visit BBC Commissioning.

About Trams

Based in central London and operating throughout the UK, Trams is a leading business-to-business IT systems and services provider, with experienced specialist consultants in Storage & Creative Workflows, New Media, Commercial IT, and Education. Trams maintains accreditations with over 50 leading suppliers which include a long-standing partnership as an Apple Authorized Reseller and Service Provider, Quantum Storage Value Added Reseller, and Xerox Managed Print Partner.

For more information visit

About Media Manor

Media Manor is a Media and Broadcast workflow consultancy, which specializes in providing a practical approach to solving the problems associated with introducing convergent media technology and new broadcast & production workflows. Innovation and thought leadership are key components to any of their customer engagements, backed by years of experience in delivering Broadcast and IT transformation programs. Media Manor specializes in the specification, design, build, and education associated with digital acquisition & production, post-production, archive and storage solutions, as well as the technical, business, and end-user workflows required for any successful implementation.