Amazing Facts
我们考察了可以找到的每一家存储系统供应商,但没有找到任何一家能够为我们提供高性能协作工作流同时集成归档功能。

Goce Shamakoski
媒体系统工程师,Amazing Facts

StorNext 为 Amazing Facts 解决工作流瓶颈

自 1965 开始播出 15 分钟广播节目起,Amazing Facts 已发展成为全美最大的宗教广播机构之一,通过 150 多家电台以及多种不同的广播、有线和卫星电视平台播出内容。该机构面临的持续挑战是不断更新基础设施以跟上技术变化的步伐,进而充分利用技术的优势。

通过存储支持基于文件的媒体制作

Amazing Facts 的媒体系统工程师 Goce Shamakoski 解释道:“自从我们实现了向基于文件的工作流的转型,便纠结于如何存储、保护和重复使用我们所创建的内容。” 最初,团队安装了 Xsan 存储网络和共享磁盘,但最终意识到了其局限性。

一个问题是数据量。Shamakoski 指出:“当我们录制一场福音传播活动时,要使用五部摄像机以实现最大的灵活性和获得所需的效果,这导致了通常一个一小时时长的节目要使用大约 0.5 TB 的磁盘空间。”存储很快被耗尽,而增加更多的磁盘资源则成本不菲。

另一个难题是从人工创建的 LTO 磁带访问旧的内容。Shamakoski 指出:“我们指派了全职管理员来管理归档操作。每周耗时 20 至 30 小时,有时甚至要耗费数天时间来检索内容以供复用。”

考虑选项

团队与媒体专业企业 Advanced Systems Group (ASG) 合作以寻找能够提供更好的可靠性、归档和灵活性的解决方案。Shamakoski 解释道:“我们还希望寻求一个长期合作伙伴,一个致力于这一行业并且能够提供我们所需支持的合作伙伴 — 无论是在安装阶段和未来运营中。”

ASG 推荐了 StorNext, 但 Amazing Facts 需要确信这是否是一个正确选择。“我们考察了能够找到的每一家存储系统供应商,但没有任何一家能够为我们提供高性能协作工作流同时集成归档功能。”Shamakoski 如是说。

实现顺利转型

Amazing Facts 围绕 StorNext 元数据控制器、150TB 高性能 QXS RAID 以及 StorNext AEL500 Archive LTO 磁带库构建其新的系统。Shamakoski 表示:“转型非常顺利。升级团队在周五晚上开始工作,到周一上午,当编辑开始工作时,StorNext 已经能够正常运转,来自我们 Xsan 的所有素材已经就位并且位于相同的文件夹之下以供使用。唯一的不同之处在于他们能够以不同名称访问内容。”

借助 StorNext,归档完全自动化。Shamakoski 解释道:“只要我们采集了任何内容,系统能够即刻在 AEL Archive 的磁带中创建两个副本。”一个副本被保存以用于 DR 保护,另一个则位于磁带库中。通过删除旧的文件但在磁带中保留一个副本,团队可以收回磁盘空间。编辑可以通过 Mac 文件系统查看所有文件,磁带中的文件可根据需要被自动恢复至磁盘。

更好的保护

StorNext 归档还增强了数据保护,因为在磁带中自动创建了一个副本,并且磁带库包含扩展数据生命周期管理 (EDLM) 功能,通过将磁带加载到磁带机以检查错误并自动将文件复制到新的磁带,可验证磁带中的数据的完整性。

随着其规划向新的更大的设施搬迁,Amazing Facts 开始寻求拓展 StorNext 环境,包括添加对云和混合存储的支持。

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 基于光纤通道 SAN 的协作工作流使编辑和内容创建者能够共享文件,从而加快制作。
  • 集成的归档可为所有采集的文件提供保护,确保写入磁带的数据的完整性,对媒体存储进行有效管理,以实现长期灾难恢复 (DR) 保护。
  • 通过最大限度减少对活动磁盘的需求,近线归档有效降低了成本。
  • 将归档集成到工作流能够把恢复数据以供复用的时间窗由数天缩短至数分钟或数小时,从而使管理支出降低 10 倍。
  • 对 Xsan 的兼容性可确保顺利转型,不会导致内容创建者工作中断。
  • 对替代存储选项(包括云和混合存储)的灵活支持可确保系统能够不断扩展以满足您的未来需求。
  • 昆腾致力于媒体工作流市场,承诺为这一市场提供长期支持。

关于 Amazing Facts

于 1965 年由 Joe Crews 创立以支持创新的 15 分钟广播节目,节目涵盖科学、历史和福音传播,如今 Amazing Facts 已成为充分发挥媒体作用以提供教育和启发性内容的领先机构。在总裁/主讲者 Doug Batchelor 的领导下,这家位于萨克拉门托 (Sacramento) 的机构制作广播、电视和 Web 节目,提供培训、生活方式和健康咨询、预言研讨以及在线圣经研究。该机构还运营 Amazing Facts 福音传播中心 (AFCOE),为全球的神职人员提供支持和帮助并向全球的信众传播福音。

Amazing Facts
We looked at every supplier of storage systems we could find, but didn’t find anybody else who could give us high-performance collaborative workflow and integrate archiving, too.

Goce Shamakoski
Media Systems Engineer, Amazing Facts

StorNext Solves Workflow Bottlenecks for Amazing Facts

Begun in 1965 to air 15-minute radio segments, Amazing Facts has grown into one of the nation’s largest religious broadcast ministries, airing content over more than 150 radio stations and a variety of over-the-air, cable, and satellite television platforms. A constant challenge has been updating infrastructure to keep up with, and take advantage of, changing technology.

Storage to Support File-based Media

“Ever since we moved to a file-based workflow, we have constantly wrestled with the problem of how to store, protect, and reuse the content we create,” explains Goce Shamakoski, Media Systems Engineer at Amazing Facts. Initially, the team installed an Xsan storage network and shared disk, but eventually saw its limitations.

One issue was data volume. “When we record a service, we use five cameras to give us maximum flexibility and impact,” says Shamakoski, “and the result is that a typical hour-long program uses about half a terabyte of disk space.” The storage filled up quickly and additional disk resources were expensive.

Also difficult was accessing older content from manually created LTO tapes. Shamakoski remembers, “we dedicated a part-time admin just to manage the archiving operation. It consumed 20 to 30 hours a week, and even then, it took us days to retrieve content to repurpose.”

Considering Options

The team worked with media specialist Advanced Systems Group (ASG) to find a solution that would provide better scalability, archiving, and flexibility. “We also wanted to find a long-term partner,” explains Shamakoski, “one who was committed to this industry and could provide the support that we needed both at the installation phase and through future operations.”

ASG recommended StorNext, but Amazing Facts needed to be sure it was the right choice. “We looked at every supplier of storage systems we could find, but didn’t find anybody else who could give us high-performance collaborative workflow and integrate archiving, too,” notes Shamakoski.

Making the Transition Smooth

Amazing Facts built its new system around a StorNext metadata controller, 150TB of high-performance QXS RAID, and a StorNext AEL500 Archive LTO library. The switchover was perfectly smooth, says Shamakoski. “The upgrade team started working on Friday evening, and by Monday morning when the editors came into work, StorNext was up and running, and all the material from our Xsan was there and ready to work on in the same folders. The only thing they had to do differently was access the volume under a different name.”

With StorNext, archiving is fully automated. “As soon as we ingest any content, the system automatically creates two copies on tape in the AEL Archive,” Shamakoski explains. One is vaulted for DR protection while the other stays in the library. The team reclaims disk space by removing older files, but leaves a copy on tape. Editors see all the files through the Mac file system, and files on tape are restored to disk automatically on demand.

Better Protection

The StorNext archive also enhances data protection, since a copy of everything is automatically created on tape, and the library includes an Extended Data Life Management (EDLM) feature that validates the integrity of data on tape by loading media into drives, checking for errors, and automatically copying files to new media.

Amazing Facts is starting to look at expanding the StorNext environment, including adding support for the cloud and hybrid storage, as it plans moving to a new, larger facility.

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Collaborative workflow over Fibre Channel SAN allows editors and content creators to share files, accelerating production.
  • Integrated archive protects all files at ingest, ensures the integrity of data written to tape, and manages vaulting of media for long-term disaster recovery (DR) protection.
  • Nearline archive reduces costs by minimizing the need for an active disk.
  • Integrating the archive into the workflow shortens the window for restoring data for reuse from days to minutes or hours, and reduces administrative overhead by a factor of 10.
  • Compatibility with Xsan provides a smooth transition without downtime for content creators.
  • Flexible support for alternative storage options, including the cloud and hybrid storage, ensures the system will grow to meet future needs.
  • Quantum’s commitment to the media workflow market ensures long-term support.

About Amazing Facts

Founded in 1965 by Joe Crews to support innovative, 15-minute radio programs that combined science, history, and biblical messages, today Amazing Facts is a leader in leveraging the power of media to offer education and inspiration. Led by president/speaker Doug Batchelor, the Sacramento-based organization produces radio, television, and web programming that provides training, lifestyle and health advice, prophecy seminars, and online Bible studies. The organization also operates the Amazing Facts Center of Evangelism (AFCOE), which trains and equips clergy and lay people around the world in all aspects of evangelistic ministry.