空中客车集团防务与航天公司
空中客车

图片由空中客车集团防务与航天公司提供

StorNext 使我们能够轻松地对归档进行扩展,今后,我们能够支持新的卫星任务并采集更多数据。

 

Mark Curtis
技术设计权威,空中客车集团防务与航天公司

空中客车集团防务与航天公司借助 StorNext 横向扩展存储实现 PB 级卫星数据归档

归档 PB 级卫星数据

欧洲航天局在计划开始后的几年时间里为每个 Sentinel 任务发射了两颗卫星 — ESA 将有四颗在轨 Sentinel 卫星。每颗卫星每年会生成超过 1PB 的数据,时间最长达 15 年。保留所有此类数据需要新的归档。空中客车集团防务与航天公司技术设计权威 Mark Curtis 指出:“我们不仅归档第零级的原始仪器数据,而且还有经 ESA 有效荷载数据地面管理系统处理的数据,这会生成第一级和第二级数据。为了提供对所有此类数据的长期归档,我们需要能够扩展至数十 PB 的存储解决方案。”

管理数以百万计的文件,充分发挥磁带的经济性

Curtis 表示:“当有四颗卫星在轨时,我们每天将需要归档 40000 个文件。我们需要抢强大的文件系统以支持数千万的文件。”并且需要支持广泛的文件大小和类型。

Curtis 坦言:“因为我们需要为 Sentinel 任务存储数十 PB 的数据,因此控制成本至关重要。磁带非常经济:每个磁带盒能够以较低的成本存储大量数据,与高速存储系统相比,磁带库只需要较少的电能和冷却。”磁带非常适合会生成大量数据的应用。

借助 StorNext 构建可扩展的多层归档

空中客车团队选择了多层 StorNext 解决方案,包括 StorNext AEL6000 磁带归档、元数据设备以及磁盘缓存 — 一切均由 StorNext 支持。StorNext 被选作解决方案的组成部分,部分原因在于 Infoterra 与昆腾的以往合作经历,前者是 Google Earth 图像的提供者,现在也为空中客车集团防务与航天公司服务。

Curtis 指出:“昆腾一直倾听我们在改进其解决方案方面的需求。对于 StorNext 5,昆腾融入了我们以及其他企业的意见和建议,这帮助打造了更强大的存储解决方案。”

归档最初支持 18PB 的数据,并且能够扩展至 37PB。“StorNext 使我们能够轻松地对归档进行扩展,今后,我们能够支持新的卫星任务并采集更多数据。”Curtis 如是说。

支持不间断的高速数据采集与访问

Curtis 指出:“采用 StorNext 文件系统,我们现有配置可支持 1.1GB/s 的性能。因此,我们能够快速采集所有收到的原始和处理后的数据,并且在需要时快速检索。”多数情况下,空中客车团队只需不到一分钟即可从归档中检索单个文件,光纤通道连接意味着可快速提供大数据传输。系统支持所有操作系统,包括 Linux 和 Windows。

保护数据,同时维持低人员配置

系统的扩展数据生命周期管理 (EDLM) 功能可帮助保护数据。Curtis 解释道:“StorNext 磁带归档基于策略的 EDLM 功能可帮助前瞻性地维护磁带中的长期数据的完整性。如果一个磁带出现问题,StorNext 会自动将数据迁移至更好的磁带,无需管理员介入。EDLM 提供了巨大的优势。”

Curtis 指出:“StorNext 的管理成本非常低。借助昆腾解决方案,只需两个人就能轻松管理不断增长的 PB 级卫星数据归档。”

灵活应对难以预计的数据增长

StorNext 还可帮助满足不断变化的需求。例如,新规划的中继卫星系统预期将提高存储需求,新的需求超出原有预测。“幸运的是,StorNext 使我们能够轻松地对环境进行扩展。我们能够添加新的归档系统 — 迁移至 LTO-7 — 以满足这些新的数据采集需求,且无需对系统进行大的改变。”Curtis 如是说。

Curtis 坦言:“随着 ESA 发射下一系列 Sentinel 卫星,存储需求会再次改变。凭借 StorNext 解决方案,我们会做到有备无患。”

主要优势

  • 扩展以支持通过地球观测卫星采集的数十 PB 的数据
  • 服务于数百万潜在用户,提供对卫星数据的访问
  • 使用具有策略驱动型分层归档的高速共享文件系统,管理数以百万计的文件(各种大小)
  • 借助内置的数据保护功能保护归档的卫星数据
  • 借助可简化管理的功能,只需少量的人员即可管理大量归档数据

关于空中客车集团防务与航天公司

作为 空中客车集团的一个分支, 空中客车集团防务与航天公司是欧洲领先的防务与航空业解决方案和服务提供商。它是全球第二大的航空企业以及全球前十位的防务企业。空中客车集团防务与航天公司负责归档不断从 欧洲航天局 (ESA) Sentinel 卫星采集的大量数据。

空中客车集团防务与航天公司对采集自 ESA Sentinel 地球观测卫星的数据进行归档以供商用。正如空中客车集团防务与航天公司技术设计权威 Mark Curtis 所言:“企业可能要使用卫星图像来确定某一区域是否易于发生洪水或者识别适合建造手机基站的位置。许多情况下,用户要通过对比某一阶段和另一阶段的图像来跟踪一段时间的变化情况。卫星图像为他们提供了制定准确的数据驱动型决策所需的信息。”

Airbus Defence and Space
Airbus

Image courtesy of Airbus Defence and Space

StorNext allows us to easily scale our archive so we can support new satellite missions and collect additional data well into the future.

 

Mark Curtis
Technical Design Authority, Airbus Defence and Space

Airbus Defence and Space Launches a Petascale Archive for Satellite Data with StorNext Scale-out Storage

Archiving Petabytes of Satellite Data

European Space Agency (ESA) is launching two satellites for each Sentinel mission—within a few years of the program’s start, ESA will have four Sentinel satellites in orbit. Each satellite streams more than 1PB per year, for up to 15 years. Retaining all this data required a new archive. “We archive not only the raw, level 0, instrument data but also data processed by ESA’s Payload Data Ground Segment, which generates level 1 and level 2 products,” says Mark Curtis, technical design authority for Airbus Defence and Space. “To provide a long-term archive for all that data, we needed a storage solution that could scale to tens of petabytes.”

Managing Millions of Files, Leveraging the Economics of Tape

“When there are four satellites in orbit, we’ll need to archive 40,000 files per day,” says Curtis. “We needed a robust file system to support tens of millions of files.” And it needed to support a wide variety of sizes and types.

“Controlling costs is critical since we need to store tens of petabytes of data for the Sentinel missions,” says Curtis. “Tape is very economical: Each tape cartridge can store a huge amount of data inexpensively, and tape libraries require less power and cooling than higher speed storage systems.” And tape is well suited for applications where large volumes of data are streamed.

Building a Scalable Multi-tier Archive with StorNext

The Airbus team selected a multi-tier StorNext solution, including StorNext AEL6000 tape archives, metadata appliances, and disk cache—all powered by StorNext. StorNext was chosen in part because of previous experiences with Quantum at Infoterra, a supplier of images for Google Earth that is now part of Airbus Defence and Space.

“Quantum has always listened to our requests in improving their solutions,” says Curtis. “In the case of StorNext 5, Quantum incorporated input from us and other organizations, which helped produce a stronger storage solution.”

The archive initially supports 18PB of data, but can scale up to 37PB. “StorNext allows us to easily scale our archive," Curtis explains, "so we can support new satellite missions and collect additional data well into the future.”

Enabling Continuous High-speed Data Ingest and Access

“Our current configuration supports 1.1GB/s performance with the StorNext file system,” says Curtis. “As a result, we can rapidly ingest all the raw and processed data we receive, and quickly retrieve it when necessary.” In most cases, the Airbus team can retrieve individual files from the archive in under a minute, and Fibre Channel connections mean that large transfers are also delivered rapidly. The system supports a full range of operating systems, including both Linux and Windows.

Safeguarding Data While Keeping Staff Levels Low

The system’s extended data life management (EDLM) features help safeguard data. “The policy-based EDLM features of the StorNext tape archive help proactively maintain the integrity of data on the tapes over the long term,” explains Curtis. “If a problem develops with a tape, StorNext automatically migrates data to better tape, without our administrators having to lift a finger. EDLM provides a huge advantage.”

“Administration costs with StorNext are quite low,” says Curtis. “With the Quantum solution, two of us can easily manage this growing petascale archive of satellite data.”

Gaining Flexibility for Unexpected Data Growth

StorNext also helps meet changing requirements. A newly planned relay satellite system, for example, is expected to increase storage needs beyond original estimates. “Fortunately, StorNext enables us to easily scale our environment. We can add new archive systems—and move to LTO-7—to meet these new data collection requirements without a major overhaul,” says Curtis.

“As ESA launches the next series of Sentinel satellites, storage requirements could change again,” says Curtis. “With the StorNext solution, we’re prepared.”

Key Benefits

  • Scales to support tens of petabytes of data streaming in from Earth observation satellites
  • Serves millions of potential users, providing access to satellite data
  • Manages millions of files, of all sizes, using a high-speed shared file system with a policy-driven tiered archive
  • Safeguards archived satellite data with built-in data protection capabilities
  • Enables a small staff to manage a big archive, with features that streamline administration

About Airbus Defence and Space

A division of Airbus Group, Airbus Defence and Space is Europe’s leading provider of solutions and services for the defense and space industries. It is the second-largest space business worldwide and among the top ten global defense enterprises. Airbus Defence and Space is responsible for archiving a tremendous amount of data continuously streaming in from the European Space Agency’s (ESA’s) Sentinel satellites.

Airbus Defence and Space archives data from ESA’s Sentinel Earth observation satellites for commercial use. “A company might use satellite imagery to determine whether an area is prone to flooding or identify locations for building a cell phone tower,” says Mark Curtis, technical design authority for Airbus Defence and Space. “In many cases, users want to track changes over time by comparing sets of images from one period to another. The satellite imagery gives them the information they need to make precise, data-driven decisions.”