澳大利亚基因组研究机构 (AGRF)
以往,我们不能在合理的时间窗来备份数据。通过使用昆腾解决方案持续归档数据,我们能够更好地保留和保护数据。

Rowan Gronlund
ICT 主管,AGRF

将归档“植入”澳大利亚基因组研究机构的 DNA

澳大利亚基因组研究机构 (AGRF) 拥有大量的基因组测序数据,可为学术、行业和政府客户提供支持。AGRF 的团队需要存储解决方案来应对数据的快速增长并更好地保护宝贵的数据。

面对基因数据的快速增长

AGRF 为广泛的客户提供基因组测序服务,其中包括学术研究人员、医疗保健机构、商业企业、政府机构等。 AGRF 信息和通信技术 (ICT) 主管 Rowan Gronlund 表示:“我们的目标是处理大量数据并且在合理的快速时限内将其提供给客户。

存储此类测序数据带来一系列严峻挑战。Gronlund 指出:“过去两年半的时间里,我们所存储的数据量翻了三倍。

数据增长制约了 AGRF 能够保留数据的时间。以往,我们只能将数据保留 200 至 300 天,然后必须将其从我们的系统中移出以便为下一批数据腾出空间。”

认识到保护测序数据的重要性

AGRF IT 部门还缺乏有效的方法来保护由研究人员生成的宝贵的基因组数据。如果数据丢失,IT 部门不得不对生物样本进行重新测序。重新测序可能要耗时四到六周,这会严重拖延现有项目。数据丢失还可能严重影响 AGRF 的信誉。

实施昆腾多层解决方案以存储和归档数据

ICT 部门决定实施来自昆腾的多层存储解决方案。Gronlund 坦言:“我们听到了来自其他昆腾客户非常正面的反馈。”

ICT 部门选择了昆腾 Artico NAS 设备,该设备由 StorNext 数据管理软件支持。Artico 提供超过 30TB 的高性能、基于磁盘的存储作为多层存储和归档环境的前沿。除了 Artico 设备,ICT 部门还实施了一个昆腾 Scalar 磁带库

提供更长期的测序数据存储

借助新的解决方案,AGRF 能够为由测序仪器生成的数据提供更长期的存储。Gronlund 指出:“不必在 300 天内将数据移出以便为新的数据腾出存储空间,现在,我们能够将数据保留长达三年。客户现在可以申请查询旧的数据,我们则能够快速且简便地为其提供数据。”

借助 Active Vault 降低成本

AGRF ICT 部门使用 Active Vault — 可以将不常用的磁带存储到磁带库的单独分区 — 避免过度购买硬件。Gronlund 指出:“通过使用 Artico 解决方案,外加带有 Active Vault 的 Scalar 磁带库,我们能够将总成本降低至竞争对手解决方案的一半。”

简化 IT 管理

ICT 部门选择了昆腾解决方案,因为它提供了一种比使用来自多厂商的解决方案更加简便的存储管理方法。Gronlund 表示:“昆腾解决方案无需较高的管理专业知识,完全适合我们。自从完成了初始设施和策略配置,除了购买更多磁带,我们真的再也没有触及过存储环境。”

保护测序数据,促进快速恢复

通过支持更强大的备份和灾难恢复 (DR) 战略,昆腾解决方案帮助 ICT 部门更好地保护宝贵的测序数据。“通过使用昆腾解决方案持续归档数据,我们能够更好地保留和保护数据。”Gronlund 如是说。

昆腾解决方案还便于灾难恢复。Gronlund 表示:“Artico 使我们能够完好无损地保留由测序仪器生成的数据。如果通过测序后分析发现问题,我们可以轻松恢复原始数据。”

磁带归档提供了更多层的 DR 保护。Gronlund 坦言:“我们在磁带中保留了两个数据副本 — 一个在本地,一个在异地。借助昆腾的解决方案,我们能够避免不得不进行重新测序数据 — 更重要的是 — 我们能够最大限度降低可能影响我们机构声誉的数据丢失风险。”

所使用的产品

主要优势

  • 可扩展以支持大量基因排序数据,同时控制成本
  • 使 AGRF 能够将数据保留最多三年而不是不到一年
  • 与竞争对手的解决方案相比,可将成本降低一半
  • 通过易用的界面简化管理
  • 帮助确保测序数据能够被轻松恢复

关于 AGRF

非盈利组织澳大利亚基因组研究机构 (AGRF)致力于通过卓越的生命科学技术来提升生命质量。AGRF 为全澳大利亚提供可轻松访问的基因组测序服务和专业知识。

Australian Genome Research Facility
Previously, we couldn’t back up our data in a reasonable window. By continuously archiving data using the Quantum solution, we can better preserve and protect data.

Rowan Gronlund
Head of ICT, AGRF


The Australian Genome Research Facility (AGRF) amasses large amounts of genome sequencing data to support academic, industry, and government customers. The team at AGRF needed a storage solution to accommodate rapid data growth and better protect valuable data.

Facing Rapid Growth of Genomic Data

AGRF provides genomic sequencing for a broad range of customers, including academic researchers, healthcare organizations, commercial businesses, government agencies, and more. “Our goal is to process a large amount of data and hand it back to customers within a reasonably fast timeframe,” says Rowan Gronlund, head of information and communications technology (ICT) at AGRF.

Storing that sequencing data presents serious challenges. “The amount of data we store has tripled in the last two and a half years,” says Gronlund.

Data growth had limited the amount of time that AGRF could hold data. “In the past, we could only hold on to data for 200 to 300 days before we had to remove it from our systems to make room for the next data sets,” says Gronlund.

Recognizing the Critical Importance of Protecting Sequencing Data

The AGRF IT group also lacked a way to protect the valuable genomics data produced by researchers. If data was lost, the IT group would have to re-sequence the biological sample. Re-sequencing could take four to six weeks, which could seriously delay existing projects. Data loss could also significantly affect AGRF’s reputation.

Implementing a Quantum Multi-Tier Solution to Store and Archive Data

The ICT group decided to implement a multi-tier storage solution from Quantum. “We had heard very positive feedback from other Quantum customers,” says Gronlund.

The ICT group selected a Quantum Artico NAS appliance, which is powered by StorNext data management software. Artico provides more than 30TB of high-performance disk-based storage as the front end for a multi-tier storage and archive environment. The ICT group also implemented a Quantum Scalar tape library behind the Artico appliance.

Providing Longer-Term Storage for Sequencing Data

With the new solution, AGRF can provide longer-term storage for data produced by sequencers. “Instead of having to remove data within 300 days to make room for new data sets, we can now hold on to it for up to three years,” says Gronlund. “Customers can now request older data, and we can produce it quickly and easily.”

Reducing Costs with Active Vault

The AGRF ICT group uses Active Vault—a feature that allows infrequently used tapes to be stored in a separate partition of the library—to avoid excessive hardware purchases. “By using the Artico solution plus the Scalar tape library with Active Vault, we are able to bring the total cost down to half the cost of a competing solution,” says Gronlund.

Streamlining IT Administration

The ICT group selected the Quantum solution in part because it offered an easier way to manage storage than solutions from other vendors. “The Quantum solution doesn’t require a high level of expertise for management, and that’s perfect for us,” says Gronlund. “Since we completed the initial setup and policy configurations, we really haven’t touched the environment except for purchasing more tapes.”

Protecting Sequencing Data and Facilitating Rapid Recovery

The Quantum solution helps the ICT group better protect valuable sequencing data by enabling more robust backup and disaster recovery (DR) strategies. “By continuously archiving data using the Quantum solution, we can better preserve and protect data,” says Gronlund.

The Quantum solution also facilitates disaster recovery. “Artico allows us to keep an untainted version of the data produced by sequencers,” says Gronlund. “If anything goes wrong with post-sequencing analysis, we can recover original data easily.”

The tape archives provide additional layers of DR protection. “We keep two copies of data on tape—one onsite and another offsite,” says Gronlund. “With the Quantum solution, we can avoid having to re-sequence data and—more importantly—we can minimize the risk of losses that would affect our organization’s reputation.”

Products Used

Key Benefits

  • Scales to support large volumes of sequencing data while controlling costs
  • Enables AGRF to retain data for up to three years instead of less than one
  • Reduces costs by half compared with competing solutions
  • Streamlines administration with an easy-to-use interface
  • Helps ensure that sequencing data can be easily recovered

About AGRF

A not-for-profit organization, the Australian Genome Research Facility (AGRF) is dedicated to improving the quality of life through exceptional life science. AGRF provides genome sequencing services and expertise that are easily accessible throughout Australia.