ACRI-ST
利用 StorNext,我们知道我们能够满足存储 400TB 卫星数据的紧迫需求,同时能够在未来十年进一步拓展至数 PB。

 

- Gilbert Barrot
CIO, ACRI-ST

ACRI-ST 借助卫星数据和 Stornext 加深对地球的了解

ACRI-ST 与欧洲航天局 (European Space Agency) 和其他机构合作超过 25 年,帮助这些机构归档和处理宝贵的卫星数据。ACRI-ST 需要新的存储解决方案来保留不断增长的卫星数据,同时帮助科学家加快研究。

为尖端科学研究提供支持

全球的科学家、大学研究人员、政府机构以及其他组织依靠 ACRI-ST 所维护的 20 多年的数据来开展各种项目。Barrot 指出“从事海洋学和全球变暖研究的研究人员可能需要跟踪不断变化的叶绿素水平以及测量地中海的盐度,或者记录大气中不断升高的臭氧量,以评估气候变化的速度。由卫星多年采集的数据可帮助研究人员识别方式和趋势以帮助我们更好地了解我们所处的世界。”

ACRI-ST 提供对海量数据的访问以及对数据的进一步处理,以帮助简化研究。研究人员不必再整理数以万计的海洋图片,而是可以要求 ACRI-ST 来计算每月的平均叶绿素水平 — 研究人员完成其工作所需的产品。

借助智能多层存储为 PB 级数据增长做好准备

为了准备新的 ESA 卫星的发射,ACRI-ST 团队需要新的存储环境 — 能够处理 PB 级的数据。Barrot 指出:“每一代卫星都会比上一代采集更多数据。随着我们采集的卫星数据越来愈多,我们亟需能够满足紧迫需求并且可以扩展的解决方案 — 既经济又高效。

同时,ACRI-ST 团队必须确保数据能够随时供内部科学家和外部研究人员访问。只有在研究人员能够使用时,数据才能发挥价值。我们必须确保研究人员可以随时根据需要使用数据。”

部署 StorNext 以实现出色的速度、可扩展性和兼容性

ACRI-ST 团队选择昆腾的 StorNext 多层存储解决方案来归档卫星数据,为外部研究人员提供数据访问,支持 ACRI-ST 的增值数据处理工作流。StorNext 提供分层的环境,实现了规模和高速访问的完美结合。Barrot 表示:“在单一环境中将磁带和磁盘相结合使我们能够兼具二者的最佳优势。我们可以在磁盘中维持一个即刻可用的数据缓存,同时将大部分数据存储到更加经济的磁带中。”

通过支持广泛的操作系统,StorNext 使 ACRI-ST 研究人员能够灵活地访问和分析数据,无需修改系统或软件。“借助 StorNext,无论研究人员所使用的服务器类型如何,都能操作数据。”Barrot 如是说。

利用智能归档保护重要卫星数据

智能的策略驱动分层功能有助于保护卫星数据。Barrot 指出:“如果我们丢失了原始卫星数据,它就一去不复返了。StorNext 策略驱动的分层功能使我们能够生成数据的副本,因此可有效保护不可替代的信息。”

ACRI-ST 的团队还会存储由内部科学家创建的数据。“利用 StorNext,我们有容量来将处理过的数据保存在系统中以供随时访问。”

强大的系统可靠性有助于确保数据在研究人员需要时随时可用。Barrot 坦言:“StorNext 解决方案真的非常有效。我们不必进行维护,几乎没有遇到过需要昆腾协助处理的问题。”

提供对 ACRI-ST 归档中的数据的自助访问

由于 ACRI-ST 的内部研究人员团队经常需要大量的图像,他们希望能够快速访问数据。通过对整个分层环境使用单一命名空间,StorNext 文件系统加快了对归档数据的访问。

Barrot 指出:“使用其他基于磁带的存储解决方案,IT 人员可能要花几天的时间来人工查找正确数据、检索磁带并为研究人员提供所要求的数据。而 StorNext 解决方案支持自助服务。我们的内部研究人员可以自行根据需要访问文件,即使数据驻留在磁带中依然如此。我们的科学家对更快的响应时间非常满意。”

获得面向未来的可扩展性和灵活性

从一开始,ACRI-ST 的团队就计划充分发挥 StorNext 解决方案的可扩展优势。Barrot 表示:“利用 StorNext,我们知道我们能够满足存储 400TB 卫星数据的紧迫需求,同时能够在未来十年进一步拓展至数 PB。我们能够轻松而经济高效地添加磁盘容量和磁带机 — 同时维持更少的数据中心空间占用。”

主要优势

  • 通过基于策略的智能分层以归档不可替代的卫星数据
  • 扩展以支持数 PB 的数据,同时节省数据中心的空间占用
  • 通过提供快速数据访问加快科学工作流
  • 借助针对所有存储层的单一命名空间提供对数据的快速自助访问
  • 支持所有操作系统,适用于广泛的用户

关于 ACRI-ST

ACRI-ST 专长于遥感和物理及环境现象建模。该公司提供适用于卫星任务模拟和环境预测原型的解决方案,以支持公共机构和地方政府部门的决策,同时还运营环境数据中心。

With StorNext, we knew we could meet our immediate need to store 400TB of satellite data while gaining the ability to expand to several petabytes over the next decade.


- Gilbert Barrot

ACRI-ST Advances The Understanding Of Earth With Satellite Data And Stornext

For more than 25 years, ACRI-ST has worked with the European Space Agency and other organizations to archive and process valuable satellite data. ACRI-ST needed a new storage solution to preserve growing satellite data while helping scientists accelerate research.

Enabling Cutting-Edge Scientific Research

Scientists, university researchers, government agencies, and other organizations worldwide draw on the more than 20 years of data maintained by ACRI-ST for a broad array of projects. “Researchers studying oceanography and global warming might want to track changing chlorophyll levels and measure salinity in the Mediterranean, or chart rising ozone levels in the atmosphere to assess the velocity of climate change,” says Barrot. “Data collected by satellites over several years helps researchers identify patterns and trends that enable us to better understand our world.”

ACRI-ST offers access to a large repository of data and offers additional processing to help streamline research. Instead of sorting through tens of thousands of ocean images, researchers can ask ACRI-ST to compute the monthly averages of chlorophyll levels—the products that those researchers need for their work.

Preparing for Petascale Data Growth with Intelligent Multi-tier Storage

To prepare for the launch of a new ESA satellite, the ACRI-ST team needed a new storage environment—one that could handle petabytes of data. “Each generation of satellite captures more data than the last,” says Barrot. “We needed a solution that would accommodate our immediate needs and would scale—cost-effectively—as we collected more and more satellite data.”

At the same time, the ACRI-ST team had to ensure that data was readily accessible for in-house scientists as well as external researchers. “The data is only valuable if researchers can use it,” says Barrot. “We have to make sure that they can access the data they need, when they need it.”

Deploying StorNext for Speed, Scale, and Compatibility

The ACRI-ST team selected a Quantum StorNext multi-tier storage solution to archive satellite data, provide data access for external researchers, and support the ACRI-ST value-added data processing workflows. StorNext offers a tiered environment that provides the right combination of scale and high-speed access. “The mix of tape and disk in a single environment gives us the best of both worlds,” says Barrot. “We can keep a cache of data immediately available on disk while storing most of the repository on more economic tape.”

By supporting a broad array of operating systems, StorNext enables ACRI-ST researchers to flexibly access and analyze data, without requiring them to modify their systems or software. “With StorNext, researchers can work with data no matter what type of server they are using,” says Barrot.

Protecting Critical Satellite Data with an Intelligent Archive

Intelligent, policy-driven tiering capabilities help protect satellite data. “If we lose the raw satellite data, it’s gone,” says Barrot. “StorNext policy-driven tiering enables us to generate copies of data so we can protect irreplaceable information.”

The ACRI-ST team also stores the data created by in-house scientists. “With StorNext, we have the capacity to keep the processed data on the system so it’s readily accessible.”

Strong system reliability helps ensure that data remains available whenever researchers need it. “The StorNext solution just works,” says Barrot. “We have had to do no maintenance, and we’ve experienced very few issues that required assistance from Quantum.”

Providing Self-Service Access to Data in the ACRI-ST Archive

Even though the ACRI-ST team of in-house researchers often needs a huge number of images, they expect fast access to their data. The StorNext file system accelerates data access in the archive by using a single namespace for the entire tiered environment.

“With other tape-based storage solutions, it could take several days for the IT staff to manually locate the correct data, retrieve a tape, and deliver the data requested by researchers,” says Barrot. “The StorNext solution enables self service. Our in-house researchers can access the files they need on their own, even when data resides on tape. Our scientists are very happy with the faster response time.”

Gaining Scale and Flexibility for the Future

From the outset, the ACRI-ST team planned to capitalize on the StorNext solution’s expandability. “With StorNext, we knew we could meet our immediate need to store 400TB of satellite data while gaining the ability to expand to several petabytes over the next decade,” says Barrot. “We can add disk capacity and tape drives—easily and inexpensively—while still maintaining a small data center footprint.”

Key Benefits

  • Archives irreplaceable satellite data with intelligent, policy-based tiering
  • Scales to support petabytes of data while retaining a small data center footprint
  • Accelerates scientific workflows by providing rapid access to data
  • Provides fast, self-service access to data with a single namespace for all storage tiers
  • Supports a full range of operating systems to accommodate a broad user base


ACRI-ST specializes in remote sensing and modeling of physical and environmental phenomena. The organization offers solutions for satellite mission simulations and environmental forecast prototyping, provides decision-making support to public agencies and local authorities, and operates environmental data centers.